Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upgrade fuse board

Options
  • 30-05-2023 3:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭

I'm in the process of getting quotes to upgrade an old fuse board mid 1980's with ceramic fuses to a modern board. I've got 2 quotes that vary immensely, €600 and €2000. I'm not an electrician or don't know what's involved but what could be the reason for such a huge difference.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Risteard81

What works precisely have they quoted for? Without the information it's difficult to compare.

At a guess the €600 is simply for replacement of the existing DB (at a much cheaper price than I would expect), whereas the €2,000 may include an element of necessary remedial works given that this is obviously substantially dated wiring we are dealing with.

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭JamBur

600 to replace a fuseboard is VERY cheap in my opinion. A bit too cheap. Has he said anything about checking cabling condition? What part of the country?

2000 sounds a lot more in the ballpark

• Registered Users Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭meercat

I definitely think that €600 is too low.

as part of a dB upgrade new mains and earthing and supplementary bonding must be installed

the whole house has to be tested and certified to facilitate esbn connection into the new meter.

it’s possible your installation won’t pass the testing and certification procedures and a notice of potential hazard may be issued and a full Rewire recommended

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,532 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011