Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iconic Cars

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,011 ✭✭✭standardg60

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭saabsaab

True. Wonderful car but other manufacturers didn't really follow, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,886 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Jesus, those alloys are vile. Ruin the whole look of the car.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Were they not fairly standard on the turbo?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Citroën pre PSA mad some interesting cars.

Traction Advant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,476 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

A truly dreadful car for everything bar reliability and build quality. Nothing Iconic about it except its reliability and build I suppose.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

In the real world, reliability and build quality are pretty important.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,055 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,176 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The car I learned to drive in. Fond memories. 🙂 In my humble that was a truly fantastic design and marketing niche too and had a very long production run with a few mostly cosmetic changes throughout. The bodyshell lasted a lot longer than the first Mustang body that it was a European rip off of. A "sporty" couple you could actually fit four adults into and had a decent boot, with a hatchback after the series 1 and could be fixed with a hammer and gaffa tape. Agricultural as feck under the skin, but still... Again in my humble if that had an Alfa Romeo badge and they only made a few thousand of them their values would be many multiples of what they are.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,176 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

An E eh? Dead fancy you were altogether. 👍️😁

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Look fantastic and were very successful in motorsport. They look lovely on the inside too. Until you drive one. The driving position is appalling, unless you're some lab escaped human mutant. The dials look great only they're kinda upside down and wobble like a bugger. They're also about as reliable as a baby's arse. Sooner or later it will shít itself and when it does working on them is a curse. Very chuckable though and makes you look like a better driver than you are. Real mile eaters. Until it shíts itself...

Cars like the Model T and the Beetle are icons. Citroen has had her fair share; the 1930's Traction Avant, the first mass market car with independent suspension all around, front wheel drive, monocoque chassis, even got a hatchback later on. The 2C another icon that was in production forever. And the Citroen DS. A space age car that still looks like the bloody Future(c) today.

Lotto win? Some of my choices would be:

Citroen DS. Obvs.

Though I might feck a leccy motor into it. For the greenness. And the engines were the least innovative part.

Renault 5 Turbo. Series 1 with the aluminium doors and roof and the wackiest interior ever. A car that will try to kill you. You hear guys say things like "my car went out of control". No sunshine, you did. However, park one of these up for the night and you're likely to wake up to find it upside down in your neighbour's hedge, a lit gauloises hanging out of it's radiator grill and your neighbour's wife looking disheveled and more satisfied than usual. Homologation specials are always a good bet. The companies cared not a jot for costs as a general rule.

Honda NSX series 2. Insane in the membrane. A stripped down racing snake for the road(barely). The base NSX being the car that proved you could build a thing like this, that was easy to live with, cheap to service and didn't fall apart like a clown car every 5000 miles, unlike the Italians at the time...

And sure I may as well throw a Fiat into the mix... Though one of the brand new ones made by that GTO crowd in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Alfa SZ

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,011 ✭✭✭standardg60

Always remember a quote I read about the Capri many moons ago, it wasn't steered, it was aimed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,473 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,435 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Yeah,much better.

You're going to tell me they're the same no doubt?

Ah yes there was an early ad for the Capri when the wife in the passenger seat disappears and is replaced by several 'dolly birds' 😮 can't find it on Youtube but it was definitely there before.

IIRC the Ford design brief was to produce a car that cost no more than £50 more than the Cortina it was based on - but they sold it at a bigger premium than that of course. About as sporty as a wet paper bag unless you bought the large engine options which were rare enough in the UK and all but unknown here due to punitive taxation. Style over substance. Even the Sierra had a totally outdated agricultural chassis under the modernist bodywork.

Whereas the New Avengers used BL and had breakdowns all the time!

@Wibbs I drag raced an NSX once, I was winning until 120MPH!

A Honda CBR600F3 with a tent on the back, didn't help the aeros 😉

Capri's used to roll like a fishing boat in choppy seas.

Some of the big engines ones sounded OK,but still...not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭MrCostington

I know this is not as exciting as many here, but since I have one (albeit a coupe) I'm going to say the Mercedes W123 with 2.7 million produced between '76 and '86 in saloon, estate, coupe and limousine versions, with a wide range of 4, 5 and 6 cylinder petrol and diesel engines.

For many of a certain age this is the archetypal Mercedes and is still in use as taxis is some parts of the world.

PS just noticed this is post 123 of this thread :)

By M 93, CC BY-SA 3.0 de, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=20974290

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Jag E-type

Mini

Beetle

Morris Minor

Except for the e-type that're all cars that were incredibly common. Here in Germany there's a car park near me where I see an old mini sometimes. It's amazing to stand next to it and marvel at how small it was. It was tiny.

I love the fact that beetles were made for about 60 years. I believe they were still making the original beetle in some parts of the world even after the new beetle came out. It's just amazing that any car could have a production run that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Iwastimthe

Lotus Esprit

One of those cars that could be fast, but only in a straight line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,742 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Did you never watch The Sweeney? Or the Professionals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

That said, they had pretty much the same chassis/underpinnings as the Escort Mk 2, so you could get a lot of go faster aftermarket bits that would bolt straight in. Bigger anti roll bars, beefed up shocks/springs and a single leaf spring setup in the back with an A frame to tie it down and they handled pretty well. Crappy brakes by modern standards or any standards at all really let them down(I was convinced the brake pedal's function was to turn on the brake lights and little else). IIRC you could get a kit that would allow "bigger" Austin Princess brakes to fit.

Fantastic car Mr C. In the dictionary under "solid" read down and you'll find a pic of one of those, along with a pic of granite. A few years ago a mechanic mate of mine had one in. The owner kindly let me drive it. The doors are like closing a bank vault. No sportscar of course, but it was very nice to drive indeed, a really easy car to drive, if you know what I mean and at speed[redacted for Garda purposes] as stable as the Great Pyramid. I asked him what weaknesses it had and he said rust(in the front sills IIRC?). I asked what about mechanicals. His reply was that if all cars were built like this he'd need to find another job. Bombproof according to him and you could still get parts, if you needed them, but you probably wouldn't.

And you have the coupe? Dead fancy altogether. Lord Muck here. 😁 Niiice and fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

RS2000 , a souped up mkii Escort with a spoiler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I remember being driven in these years ago. Quiet and smooth really comfortable.

The worse a car handles, the 'faster' it appears to be going on TV because unless it looks out of control it can't be going 'fast'

Same in every American TV show or film ever made

Hi thanks :)

You are dead right, really strong mechanically and the door closes with a reassuring thud, especially if the sunroof is open and not damped by the air. Mine has 156,000 mines and in 3.5 years it's never not started on the button, springs into life in less than a second of cranking. Yes it's very easy top drive, helped by the auto slush box, great turning circle, and fantastic visibility out of it unlike modern cars. I viewed 4 before getting mine including a 230E with over 250,000 miles on it, all drove fantastically. If it were not for the worries about rust you could easily daily it even today.

Yes they can go in the sills and the arches, just like any car of it's age, perhaps a bit better than average I'd say

This is mine:

Anyway, another iconic Merc:

Granada, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

LOL! I assume you're talking about the interior pic. Yes the hand brake. Pull to engage, and pull and twist to release. I beleive on LHD models it's operated by foot, like the C Class I had (W202) where you press with your foot to engage and release with a similar handle.