Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know anyone who has like a ton of money and will not spend it?

• 27-05-2023 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

When I say a ton of money I mean a wallet overflowing with cash.

So I know someone who is in no way related to me. But they Carry around a huge wod of cash they are over 70 and still work. They could be retired and loving life but they have no hobbies, do not smoke or drink, does not go to any events or any kind of entertainment or holidays. Its not because they can not afford it. They barely ever wash either. He would be going around with black hands for months from dirt. No kidding. The only time they will wash is if they have to go to Hospital.

Life is for living and money for spending. I think it's crazy.

He could be driving a nice car or even a nice new or nearly new Van or Pickup if he wanted to but no he drives an old clapped out Renault Master. He had a VW Crafter or it could have been an VW LT before that. I just remember it been a VW Van and filthy but he treats his vehicles like he treats himself. Drives them till they die.

You can not bring your money with you so might as well enjoy it while you have it is the way I see it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,697 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I know plenty like that. Some old, others young.

It's just a mentality thing.

I also know some who spend every penny they get, and have zero savings to fall back on.

There has to be a happy middle ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,097 ✭✭✭✭looksee

How is any of this any of your business or reason for you to be concerned? He's living his life the way he wants to live it and doing no harm to anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I know a few people in that age group who never spend their money but i think a reason might be they grew up in an Ireland where everyone was poor and had nothing an have a fear of going back to that again.

One old guy here died in the mid 1980s and his daughter found £60000 in the attic after he died, he saved it all his life living like a miser and she spend it in a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Savers and wealthy frugal people have money because they don't splurge. They are not going to alter their behaviour and mindset once they reach a certain age or level of wealth. They will often get more frugal with age as they lose interest in consuming and conforming and give less of a sh*t generally. I'm only in my 40s and see this happening already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭CoBo55

No better girl, nothing like a leech of a woman to spend someone else's money on fcuk all😡. There's always somebody in the family will piss it up against the wall for you when you're gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Hes probably spreading some diseases by the sound of it.

Throw a bucket of dettol water on the manky fuk next time op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No point being the richest man in the graveyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭windowcills

I do what i want, when i want, i am self employed, so dont have a boss or a schedule, and am never in a rush

god buying a newspaper, coffee, phone, car, tv or a holiday feels like a lot of hassel to me, i can just drive by those shops in my 12 year old car

Some people have very high pressure jobs and have to be very punctual, so they probably need to have modern and reliable stuff

Hopefully they are as happy as i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Well someone woke up with their knickers in a twist anyway. Maybe it's not but when someone opens a wallet in front of you and its overflowing with cash you notice it. No one says he has to go mad spending it but at least give some to a charity. As another poster said above tgere has a to be a happy medium and I agree. You only live once. Enjoy it, spend some and save some. That's what I do.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

How do you know he doesn't give money to charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,097 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Leave my knickers out of this discussion. Notice away, but its not that you are concerned about him being robbed, or he is miserable. You go on to comment on his holidays, his possessions, his charitable offerings, his habits, his form of transport, his personal hygiene - possibly this is of public concern, otherwise its his choice of how he lives his life. Does he owe you or the government money? Does he have a wife or kids bullied into living in poverty? Then you might be right to comment or even do something about it, otherwise its just nosy gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

I had an uncle who was a bachelor farmer , tight as tuppence and loved hardship, would sit on a hard chair every time instead of a soft one , a lot of farmers are incredibly tight with money and even they are rotten with money, play the poor mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

T

The bottom line on AMKC's first post says 'Live Long and Prosper'. I think this old guy has done just that, wouldn't you say? Ok so he's manky, his business. I wonder what that man thinks of you. Leave him to live his life as he wishes. Is he your dad, uncle, brother, cousin? Looksee is right, you're not worried about the state of his health, and indeed her underwear is definitely none of your business.

I live a very frugal life, we don't overspend on anything. Rarely eat out. Our bank manager says we're doing fine, no financial worries thankfully. Not rich but merely ticking over nicely. Now I look at our children, made some errors of judgement regarding careers, were never too good with looking to the future and here they are today with low incomes, no homes to call their own, rents sky high and is just money down the drain, no cars, no prospects. Now who were the clever clogs?

Ms

Does he have a wife or kids bullied into living in poverty? Then you might be right to comment or even do something about it, otherwise its just nosy gossip.

Actually he was married yes but she left him and took the kids with her as he was never there was not much of a family man and expected her to stay at home to keep the house clean and cook him dinners all the time. He gives them nothing now. Now if he wants to shave or have a shower he comes into his sisters house which is how I know him and destroys her place. She used to go out and tidy the family home for him along with her other two sisters but they just got sick of it because it does be absolutely filthy. The place would be black with dirt. He never washed any dishes and is to mean to butmy a dishwasher or a microwave. He reheats dinners that his sister cooks for him in the oven.He has no concept of cleanliness or tidiness at all.

Yes none of my business. I just cannot understand how someone would want to live like that. Its disgusting.

I certainly woukd not.

She is always going on about how he has tonnes of money but is to mean to pay for or buy anything. He sometimes gets her groceries but expects her to pay him even do she is on Dissability Alowance and struggling to pay her electricity bills.

I always helped and still do help my family out when I can.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,052 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jesus, the valley of the squinting windows is still alive and well and going strong.

This thread is making me feel slightly nauseous.

The man is free to live his life how he wants, his family is free to treat him (or not) how they want.

Who do you think you are to be gossiping about details of his life and lifestyle on a public internet forum? The amount of details you've provided, he could easily be identified by anyone who knows him.

Mind your own business and live your own life ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

King Charles III of Great Britain etc etc.

The entire Sinn Féin front bench by the sounds of it.

The Bush International crime syndicate.

• Pretty much all the neighbours on my road when I was growing up. That generation did not spend, they were ultra conservative with everything. My parents were poorer than them but I got mostly decent Christmas presents, when the other kids in the road got jumpers & coats from Santa! I used ask why Santa was so mean to them, my parents explained that their parents were “from the country” where things were always harder than Dublin, so they asked Santa to teach their children how to live well on little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Tavrin Callas

Sure, you can't take it with you, but I'd rather die with a wad of cash in my wallet, than have it spent and gone five years before I'm dead and be living on nothing for my last years.

There's a balance. A balance that would be much easier to figure out if you knew your date of death, but as you (probably) don't, then you just have to do the best you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭windowcills

If most farmers sold up they would have so much they would never have to work again,but owning land is like crack cocaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭tesla_newbie

Most farmers earn very modest sums but large dairy farmers have never had it so good this last five or six years yet you never hear it , it’s a golden age for dairy sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ya absolutely but I think you have to look at it from the point of view that most land is inherited and it really is very bad form to get your hands on a million quid farm then not keep it to pass down again.

Now a farmer that built up a farm from nothing should certainly be looking to flog the lot at about 55 and live off the proceeds.

Ms

I Doubt it. I did not say what his job is for instance and will not say either or what county he lives in or where he lives.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,052 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Your really don't get it, do you?

The man is entitled to live his life how he pleases, and it is absolutely none of your business in the first place, never mind to be discussing in public on an internet forum.

Would you like some group of randomers picking apart and critiquing and criticising your life choices on a public forum? I bet you would not.

• There are some people who live perpetually like that, and quite frankly I don’t understand it. Alcoholics will commonly live like that, but others do too. I have a relative like that but it’s evident there is an inborn mental health issue, Asperger’s complicated by something else I reckon. There’s laziness, hoarding, meanness at play somewhere. It would be interesting to see what kind of a childhood some of these cases have, but I’d say genetics play a role too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Tow

I know one lad who sold half the farm during the the mid 90's, got over 20m. He never spent a penny except for buying a new house, as the old farm house was on the land sold. However, it was years before he moved into the new house. For much of this time there was no water in the old house, as the heavy equipment building a shopping centre on the land destroyed the water mains. A few years ago he got clamped in the shopping centre parked at a gate leading into one his fields. You can guess that he thought of that...

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Had an uncle like that. Batchelor all his life, no doubt because he couldn't hack the idea of a woman spending his cash. When I was growing up he'd often get my mother to get him some shopping when she was in town. They're might be a few pence change out of whatever he gave her to buy the stuff for him and he'd insist on getting it and inspecting it on her return.

He died intestate and left nearly 100k in cash in the bank! A collection of nieces and nephews he never knew had a very good time on their cut of it.

Absolute madness but there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

I've known people so tight they'd **** piss, Money begats greed, families fall out bad blood drawn and the person who should get the family home is found dead lying on the floor of a stinking flat in a slum estate. Fake Booo-hoo-hoo's all around. I've seen it and all over a house that will soon be in another slum estate.

They're a rotten family, money by the bucketful and they're all about whats ours. More faces than Janus, never done a legit days work in their lives. I don't hate them I just want them out of my head but that won't happen until my mum passes and only then will I see the back of them for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

I grew up on a road with a lot of Protestant neighbours.

In general, they were careful with money and did not show off.

One family were tighter than 2 coats of paint...

The father had a good job in a bank.

The kettle was boiled once in the morning, excess water was put in a large flask.

They grew all their own vegetables, even on the garage roof in boxes... only holidays were camping in Ireland.

Christmas presents were bought in January sales, then stored away under lock and key.

They bought frozen breaded fish, because it was cheaper.. then hacked off all the breadcrumbs to have fish fillets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Dslatt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭JoChervil

A friend of mine always sit on a hard chair but it is because of her back not frugality...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

There is wasting money and then there is being unnecessarily miserable on yourself and your own household.

Boiling a kettle once a day constitutes the latter.

The two great truisms of this life are a) it's not a rehearsal and b) you can't take it with you.

I'm not saying be feckless or profligate, but apart from the upkeep of any material assets, businesses or other interests, covering your funeral expenses and leaving no avoidable debts for your heirs, then you may as well feckin enjoy yourself.

After all, how many people have been found dead in a bed weeks later, lying on a mattress of cash? I can't think of anything more pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,451 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m thinking I know nobody like that so at least that means the OP isn’t my neighbour, thank goodness! 😅

Ms

I certainly am not lol. I can be tight on some things so I can spend my money else where lol. I do not spend it on silly or stupid things anymore do. I did a lot of that when I was young. Some I regret wasting it on and others not so much.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,050 ✭✭✭✭zell12

They are to be applauded. Never thought to do that with breaded fish, must do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭deise toffee

Not true.If I sold all my land the government would take 33% of it off me in capital gains.I’d be left with about €1m.Would €1m last me for another 40 years of my life,absolutely not.Would it even buy me a decent house in Dublin.Absolutely not.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

When a neighbour of my mother's died they found £100,000 in a fertiliser bag in a hedge outside his house. I'd be afraid something would eat the cash or the elements woukd destroy it. He lived a very simple life by all accounts. No chance they'd find anything in my hedge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

I wonder if there were any money hoarders who were left holding a load of punts after the Euro conversion date expired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

I actually grew up in a disadvantaged area in a council estate. I don't know many people like that but i do find myself saving a lot since i was 18. Nothing to do with being frugal or stingy but i grew up in a big family household, Going to primary school in the 90's we'd mostly get 20P each morning but somedays more, Somedays nothing. I also grew up in a household that rarely used flavourings/spices etc when cooking so the only flavouring in the food was the food itself or a bit of salt or ketchup that you put in yourself(Hence why food other people find disgusting i don't mind)

I grew up eating crubeens(boiled pigs feet) and tripe and drisheen etc. Sorry for the rant but i would say while i'm not frugal and stingy, I got addicted to saving just a small bit a week and over the years it's okay. Nothing special but less than €25,000. building it up,withdrawing,loaning it out and building it back up and so on.

I've helped my family in various ways(paying for funerals) throughout the years etc. I missed out on a lot though and there's no hope of me buying a house while i'm on my own. I grew up in a nice family and although chaotic at times my parents tried their best with what little they had. My dad was in two armies and my mother was a stay at home mother looking after us. I don't have much but was always good at budgeting what i had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Can I ask you something? Why are farmers always crying poverty?

I grew up beside a widow farmer. I remember she always used to say to my parents "Oh wouldn't it be great to have 10k? "Then a field came up for sale and guess who paid 34k for it?

Each to their own but my god what a miserable existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

My family would be in a similar position. We tend to go both ways. We'll spend loads on each other when we have it but will always have a rainy day fund. There's always the fear that it could go back to the way it was.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

A good buddy of mine switched jobs from an already good paying job to about 30k, then got a 30k bonus. He spending habits didn't change even slightly. He had 3 kids who have never been on a decent holiday. He drives a beater, still rents a gaff (I told him he should buy) and shops bulk at Costco. I think the only splurge he made was the latest iteration of Xbox but that allows him to stay home while the kids watch him play and he's not having to spend money on them or anything else.

I'm pretty sure it has to do with his upbringing. Not sure exactly how though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,607 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I've a good mate on a six figure salary that's been saving for a house for what must be 5-6 years now. He has a huge sum saved but won't commit to buying anything, just keeps saving. Keeps talking about buying something but then kicks the can down the road.

At this rate I think the savings have become a massive security blanket and he's afraid to not have it anymore. Totally understandable I suppose as large sums of money mean having options - have to use it at some point though!

Post edited by o1s1n on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭purplefields

Exactly this.

When I was younger, I wanted the new car etc. Now that I'm older I just see the new car as another burden. It makes me someone else's slave effectively.

The same goes for all the usual consumerist crap. Using the car example, I could spend a ton of money on that, or take a couple of years off instead - not being a slave.

The other thing to consider is that much of what is available to spend money on is actually junk. Consumerism increases desire, and with desire comes suffering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

Exactly this but people should enjoy themselves as well. You can't take it to the grave with you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zico

I'm more than a little bit concerned by your interest in other people's business.

She could have as you say but I highly doubt it. A large dairy farmer with hundreds of acres of land. If there was nothing in farming as she made out why take on more? Four kids who never seen a holiday. I remember the mother wouldn't even allow them out to play. They effectively had no childhood. A robot does it all now. I presume the SVP covered that.

You didn't answer my question btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,491 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I spent a lot of my money on booze, drugs, fast cars and even faster women. The rest then I just squandered.

What question? Have you ever actually farmed or run a business? It's only recently that milk prices have been at a consistently good price, just in time for diesel, fertiliser and animal feed to go through the roof not to mention bank interest rates on the rise too. Of all the jobs out there the last place on earth I'd want to be is running a farm especially this time of year.

Read my post? Why are farmers always crying poverty?

To answer your question yes my wife is from a farming background and I also have relatives in the butchering trade.

It's like ye were reared to complain. YOU'RE A MILLIONAIRE!!! You admitted it yourself.