Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phillip Schofield steps down from ITV after affair with "much younger male"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭Deeec

Gender or sexual orientation isn't the issue - whether he had an affair with a male or female is irrelevant. PS telling lie upon lie upon lie is the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,745 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Theres also the questions around exactly what he knew about his brothers child abuse and when.

No there isn't, he furnished the crown with a statement and then released a further statement.

You wanting there to be questions isn't the same as there is questions.

If he did nothing wrong why did he resign?

He lied to ITV about it and we can presume this was in breach of contract.

You seem to have answered your own question there.

The point is it wasnt an affair or fling with a random 20 yo. But someone he effectively hired and was in a position of authority over and seemingly the other guys promising career is now over before it barely started.

Do you think it could be partly down to that scum gossip blog you keep linking to which outed him?

Your faux concern is quite touching though. 😕

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭lbunnae

• Registered Users Posts: 28,462 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

His statement to the Crown - well you yourself said, his legal team would have reviewed his comments such that he wouldn't say anything that would obviously legally incriminate himself. So given there were only two parties to the conversation, even if Schofield's brother had told him the boy was underage, Philip Schofield on the stand would not admit that - that's the clear implication of what you said.

He told his brother to NEVER do it again. NEVER. Not, you need get help and sort your sexuality out because it was causing him mental anguish. But NEVER. His comments simply don't make sense from a gay man if all his brother was doing was legal and consensual.

Why was he dropped like a stone by his management agency?

So yes, there are questions. And I'm not the only one asking them.

"Faux concern" -> out comes the bad faith argument to other's motives here. And you have no other agenda than defending Philip Schofield's reputation? Pull the other one.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

He told his brother to NEVER do it again. NEVER. Not, you need get help and sort your sexuality out because it was causing him mental anguish. But NEVER. His comments simply don't make sense from a gay man if all his brother was doing was legal and consensual.

If your married brother told you he had a 16/17 year old around the house for a bit of synchronised masturbation what would you say?

Work away, be grand shure?

Why was he dropped like a stone by his management agency?

That has been answered, because he lied to them.

So yes, there are questions.

No. You have whatever answers you have already decided upon. No amount of statements will change what you have already decided.

"Faux concern" -> out comes the bad faith argument to other's motives here

No faux concern is you pretending to care about the mans life while simultaneously linking to a gossip blog that outed him.

Not even the UK tabloids have been that manky.

If someone conflicted about their sexuality came to me, and said they'd been fooling around with someone legal but much younger, that they weren't in a position of responsibility to... I would tell them they need to talk to a professional to sort out their issues. That possibly they may not be happy if they try to suppress their homosexuality. Telling them to STOP while they sort that out, yes - but I wouldn't tell them to NEVER do it again.

We're not in the same jurisdiction as the UK. The information is already available on the internet worldwide. The story is out there.

Nope the act and scenario were very specific. I'd tell my brother never do it again, as would most reasonable people.

Also he did tell him get counselling.

We're not in the same jurisdiction as the UK. The information is already available on the internet worldwide. The story is out there.

That doesn't make you continuously linking to it any less manky.

I mean you are concerned about him aren't you?

• Registered Users Posts: 55,006 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What a stupid, and juvenile post. There is no contradiction, and the fact you can't elaborate tells me that you're a bit clueless, really

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭reclose

Can you point me to where he said it was not an affair? I’m aware of him saying it wasn’t a relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

I agree with the other poster regarding the brother.

The articles I’ve seen say it was watching porn with a 16 year old and possibly masturbation. 16 is the age of consent in UK.

If he was my brother I’d be telling him to never do it again too. It might be legal but it’s fucked up.

An entirely bad faith line of argument.

Continuously linking to it -> when did I last link to it? I'm not linking it "continuously". The information is in the public domain if anyone wants to google it. Linking it here doesn't alter that.

As would most "reasonable" people -> clear prejudicial implication anyone who disagrees with you is unreasonable.

Who said I couldn't elaborate? The fact you don't get how silly your comment is makes me laugh. You are saying that the poster doesn't know about their suffering and pain whilst in the same breath you then proceed to claim you know the reason as to their suffering and pain. How you cant see that's is a contradiction is unfathomable.

Look up the word “if” and “mostly.”

Nobdy knows exactly how they’re feeling.

But I’d be far surer it is due to the constant criticisms in the media compared to anything PS did. Yes, I’d lay my bets here…

yes, technically to cover myself I should have said “most likely,”…..but if my not including it makes you all giddy, so be it.

you’re posting comes across ever so childish.

Nah id say the affair with a 20 year old that he'd known since he was 15 ripped the family apart more than a few articles. Id bet big on that.

Don't think it's very nuanced to just say oh it's homophobia, there is a lot to the story. Also he's received a lot less vitriol than Meghan Markle and she's done SFA in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,593 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

What word would you like me to use, as Phil said it wasn't a relationship, intercourse, intimacy, bunk ups, sexy time, I'm not sure why the use of sexual encounters is bad as it was used in other posts

"Once the age of consent" here being used to try and make this as off/seedy as possible, as if PS jumped on the lad the very day the lad turned 16.

The lad was a man when PS and he became intimate. That's all there is to this. The rest is simply a societal "losing their sh1t" issue

Ok so you acknowledge that he never said it wasn’t an affair. Thanks for clarifying.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

If this guy didn't break the law there is really no need for any outcry. People might think he's a bit of a sleaze, but that's just an opinion.

If he did break the law there is less need for an outcry, because he may get a legal comeuppance.

So sleaze like this seems to warrant an outcry in the sense of ie a strong expression of public disapproval or anger.

Or people could concentrate on their own lives, rather than making judgements on a stranger who had a fling.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

I'm sure Schofield would clarify his position better than me...why don't you Instagram/Twitter him.. he'd love that!...

It wasn't just "a stranger who had a fling" now, was it?

One of the most well known media personalities in these islands. He didn't resign for the craic. He didn't resign just because he had "a fling" now did he?

If you're not bothered by it, that's your call. But it begs the question why you're bothering with this thread at all.

"Concentrate on their own lives " ... rather than what? Making judgements about what people discuss on social media???

• Registered Users Posts: 28,875 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

It's scary how many people here don't understand what grooming is.

As I understand it the younger guy was 20 when the relationship began.

It's interesting that people lost their minds over a quite legal gay relationship. I would say Schofield is a stranger to almost everyone who condemns him for quite legal behaviour. I'd say concentrate on their own lives rather than condemning people who have broken the law.

There is a whiff of homophobia to this, it'd be very unlikely a straight man in similar circumstances would face this backlash.

Schofield is a 'stranger'? You only express opinions on social media about people you know personally do you? Or who have broken the law?

I wasn't aware people weren't allowed to express opinions except under those conditions. "Concentrate on their own lives" -> maybe you should heed your own advice instead of advising others on what topics they should be bothered to share opinions about.

There's no need to resort to homophobia as an explanation of what's happened here. In light of the scrutiny in the entertainment industry of sexual misconduct where there is a difference in status, I don't see homophobia as a necessary or sufficient explanation.

Now, now, don’t be getting ratty.

Yeah, of course he’s a stranger. And I wouldn’t condemn people who aren’t criminals, I’m not that much of a pr1ck.

Homophobia is all over this, no question. Having a relationship with a 20 year old man is not illegal, it’s well above the age of consent, but that doesn’t seem to matter to some of these homophobes.

Yeah you only linked to it about 4 times from what I saw. 🙄

But you care, right?

I think Rebel Wilson underlined how much of a scum act it is when she was blackmailed last year.

I'm pretty sure most reasonable people would tell their married brother not to bring a 16/17 year old into the family home to watch pornography.

But you wouldn't apparently. Good for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,593 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

His agency dropped him, the agency that employs his daughter, many media agencies have stayed with clients through bad times even affairs etc., the fact that so many have distanced themselves from Phil even though they all knew about his relationship makes you wonder