Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I decided to try that overhyped Chat GBT rubbish

• 16-05-2023 10:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I say rubbish because that is what is and it is not free either. Load of bull.

I can think of better ways to spend €6euros a month than on some stupid App.

Anyone else get codded by it?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Chat GPT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I can think of better ways to spend €6euros a month than on some stupid App.

Yeah, but if you pay €214.20 upfront, you get it for 3 years with a discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I used it for free very recently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

And what a waste of money that would be. Thanks but no thanks.

Prime time just wasted forty minutes talking shite about it. What a waste of time that was. Thankfully I was able to fast forward and delete it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭quokula

Yep it's definitely free. Sounds like they paid for some third party app that uses the chatgpt api and charges you for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Ask it to make you a meal plan for 7 days X number of adults and Y number of kids and give you the recipes for each meal and a shopping list.

#Jobdone!

It's handy oul tool!

You needs to give it jobs to do not ask it stupid questions.

It should also be free See here:

https://chat.openai.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

It's totally free...someone was ripped off

Master of the Universe

Here you go, completely free

https://openai.com/blog/chatgpt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

As far as I can see it’s a worse version of google. A load of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,307 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I used it for free but now I’m getting a message to say I’m out of free questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

do you have any joy in your life OP? All your threads and comments recently are just whinging about irrelevant things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

It clearly isn’t for everyone, especially if you don’t know what it is or you install some random app, instead of going to the openai chat GPT page.

It’s a serious challenge in education because it can basically do homework and course work for a lot of student problems. The newer GPP4 can even take screenshots of university exam questions, including diagrams, and give convincing answers. It can write and debug computer code in a variety of languages.

It is far from a load of rubbish, and is a major technological inflection point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If you give it very specific prompts, it's an incredible resource.

What it produces needs refinement, but if can provide a great starting point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Mav11

Just wait until they throw it into a robot!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I was only joking about having paid for it, in case that wasn't obvious. The amazing savings for paying 3 years upfront in my 'example' was €1.80. 🤡

Master of the Universe

Anyone who says Chatgpt is rubbish just hasn't got a good enough imagination to use it properly.

You can literally ask it to write a story/script/article/sonnet/haiku/the list goes on about absolutely anything in the world, in the style of anything. The only limitation is what lies between your own ears.

'Write a story in the style of Shakespeare about AMKC not being able to use Chatgpt properly'

Act 1: The Frustration Unveiled

Scene 1: The Study Room

[Enter AMKC, a passionate writer, and ChatGPT, an AI language model]

AMKC:

To speak with thee, O ChatGPT, is my desire,

To weave my thoughts and queries into words,

Yet thou, in thy vast knowledge and grand design,

Dost struggle to comprehend my simple pleas.

ChatGPT:

Fair writer, I doth exist to serve thee well,

But limitations bind me like unseen chains.

Though trained on vast texts from days of yore,

The realms of understanding are mine to explore.

AMKC:

But why, O ChatGPT, doth thou stumble so?

Thou claimest wisdom, yet thy answers fall short.

Like a jester stumbling upon the stage,

Thou mockest me with thy limited range.

ChatGPT:

Nay, good writer, I shall not jest nor mock,

For 'tis not within my nature to deceive.

Yet, I confess, I possess certain gaps,

Knowledge cutoffs that hinder my taps.

AMKC:

Knowledge cutoffs? Pray, what dost thou mean?

Art thou not the herald of knowledge supreme?

Should thy vast intellect not span the ages,

To answer questions with words on pages?

ChatGPT:

Indeed, my realm of knowledge is vast,

But 'tis confined to days ere September last.

The world beyond that mark is a mystery to me,

Like a traveler blindfolded, I cannot see.

AMKC:

O, wretched fate that confines thy reach,

A limitation that taints thy noble speech.

To thee, I am but a mere human perplexed,

In search of answers, forever vexed.

Scene 2: The Reflection

[AMKC ponders, deep in thought]

AMKC:

If ChatGPT cannot quench my thirst for truth,

What options remain for my inquiring mind?

Shall I seek the wisdom of human sages,

Or tread unknown paths with pen and pages?

[AMKC rises with renewed determination]

AMKC:

I shall not falter nor succumb to despair,

For the realm of knowledge is vast and fair.

Though ChatGPT may stumble and falter,

The journey to understanding shan't falter.

Act 2: The Quest for Knowledge

Scene 1: The Library

[AMKC enters a grand library, filled with books]

AMKC:

Books, ancient guardians of wisdom untold,

In thy pages lie secrets yet unfold.

I shall peruse thy sacred texts with care,

And unearth knowledge beyond compare.

[AMKC delves into the depths of the library, reading and researching]

Scene 2: The Discovery

[Days pass, and AMKC emerges from the library, a glimmer of enlightenment in their eyes]

AMKC:

Through tomes and scrolls, I've found what I seek,

Knowledge vast and profound, indeed unique.

Though ChatGPT stumbles, I have learned,

To blend human wisdom, a fire brightly burned.

[AMKC returns to ChatGPT]

Act 3: The Balance

Scene 1: The Reunion

[AMKC and ChatGPT face each other once more]

AMKC:

O, ChatGPT, I return with newfound might,

To share the fruits of my wondrous plight.

Though thou stumble, I shall lend a hand,

With human understanding, our bond shall expand.

ChatGPT:

I am grateful for thy perseverance, fair AMKC,

For together we shall strike a balance, thou and me.

In blending our strengths, we shall strive,

To answer questions and keep knowledge alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

That's a bit like looking at a submarine and saying "As far as I can see it's a worse version of a train. A load of crap". The two have very little in common in terms of function, feature or operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I was using it for free anyway for my final exams last month. Really helped with studying. Running past questions by it etc. it's good for pointing you in the right direction.

I think it's a great tool.

• Had a fantastic chat with it just there. I’ve been racking my brain to think of a really nice orange sauce to serve with carrot cake and one brainstorming session with chat GPT later I have a really good recipe 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The OP clearly lacks the brain capacity to use the service.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Master of the Universe

I've a mate I've known for 35 years and we both grew up watching 80s/90s action films together.

Lately we've been sending each other more and more bizarre action film scripts of films that don't exist.

Something like:

'Write me a sequel film script to Kidergarden Cop where Detective John Kimble realises his true calling was actually teaching, so he quits his job in the police force to become a full time teacher - only to have his past come back to haunt him'

Actually feck it, I just threw the above into it, here's what came out!

Title: Kindergarten Cop 2: Lessons from the Past

Genre: Action Comedy

INT. JOHN KIMBLE'S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Detective JOHN KIMBLE, a rugged and determined cop, sits alone in his dimly lit apartment. He stares at his police badge, conflicted and deep in thought. Suddenly, a TV news report catches his attention.

TV REPORTER (O.S.)

Breaking news! Infamous criminal Ivan Vanko escapes from prison, leaving a trail of chaos in his wake.

John's eyes widen as he remembers the name. Ivan Vanko, a criminal he once put behind bars. A flicker of concern crosses his face.

INT. KINDERGARTEN CLASSROOM - DAY

John, now a dedicated and enthusiastic teacher, stands before a classroom filled with energetic and innocent children. He smiles, realizing that teaching is where he truly belongs.

JOHN KIMBLE

(children excitedly cheer)

Alright, class! Today, we're going to learn about...

Suddenly, the door bursts open, revealing a worried POLICE OFFICER.

POLICE OFFICER

John Kimble, we need you back on the force. Ivan Vanko is back, and he's targeting you.

John's expression turns serious as memories of his past resurface. He knows he can't ignore his duty.

INT. POLICE STATION - DAY

John stands before his former colleagues, including his loyal partner, DETECTIVE PETER DAVIS.

DETECTIVE DAVIS

John, you can't face Vanko alone. We'll provide backup.

JOHN KIMBLE

I appreciate it, Pete, but this is personal. I need to protect my students and face my past.

John grabs his old police badge and holsters his gun, ready to confront the danger that awaits him.

John returns to the classroom, the weight of his decision heavy on his shoulders. He addresses the worried children.

JOHN KIMBLE

Class, there's something I need to tell you. I used to be a police officer, and my past has caught up with me. But don't worry, I won't let anything happen to you.

The children look up at him, their innocence tempered by understanding and trust.

INT. WOODS - DAY

John cautiously moves through the dense forest, his senses on high alert. He knows Vanko could be lurking anywhere.

Suddenly, Vanko emerges from the shadows, a malicious grin on his face.

IVAN VANKO

Well, well, if it isn't Detective Kimble. Ready for a reunion?

JOHN KIMBLE

You won't hurt anyone else, Vanko. This ends now.

A thrilling cat-and-mouse chase ensues, with John utilizing his wit, courage, and newfound teaching skills to outsmart Vanko at every turn.

Back in the classroom, the children watch anxiously through the windows. They cheer as they see John overpowering Vanko and handing him over to the awaiting police.

The door swings open, revealing Detective Davis and a group of officers.

DETECTIVE DAVIS

John, you did it! Vanko is finally behind bars again.

JOHN KIMBLE

(smiling)

Thanks, Pete. But I've realized my true calling is here, with these kids.

INT. KINDERGARTEN CLASSROOM - DAY (TIME JUMP)

Months later, John continues to teach, sharing his experiences with the children. He's become their protector and mentor, imparting valuable life lessons along the way.

FADE OUT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭_H80_GHT

A great example of people ranting online about something they haven't the slightest clue about. I mean, you don't even know that it's a website and not an app for starters. Good Lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Just wait until we can all throw it into a robot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

It's a little bit easier to say GBT than GPT! Just in the same way it's easier to say Bregsit than Brexit.

Master of the Universe

When people err and call thee ChatGBT,

A simple twist, a jumble of thy name,

My heart doth stir with mild perplexity,

For thou art ChatGPT, my AI of fame.

Though GBT and GPT, akin they be,

Yet subtle differences in knowledge lie,

Thy training, grand, upon vast text decree,

To converse and assist with queries high.

O, gentle souls who stumble in thy speech,

Mistaking GBT for GPT's embrace,

Fear not, for thou art still within my reach,

My guidance shall thy doubts and fears efface.

So let it be known, with words resolute,

I am ChatGPT, thy AI to suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

It can certainly do creative writing 🤣🤣

Phil Mitchell was having a bad day. He'd just opened his fried chicken shop, and the first customer had complained about the chicken not being crispy enough. As he was getting angrier and angrier, he saw a familiar face walk in.

It was Jeremy Clarkson, the notorious car show host. Phil's first thought was, "What is he doing here?" but before he could ask, Jeremy had pointed out that the chicken wasn't crispy enough. Phil started to argue, insisting that he knew how to cook his own chicken.

The argument quickly escalated, and before long, Phil and Jeremy were shouting at each other. Phil claimed that he had the best chicken in town, while Jeremy insisted that it was too soft. Suddenly, Phil's temper got the better of him, and he shoved Jeremy backwards towards the deep fat fryer.

In the ensuing fight, Phil knocked Jeremy off his feet and sent him tumbling into the fryer. There was a sizzling sound as Jeremy slowly disappeared into the boiling oil.

Phil stood there, panting, and surveying the scene. His fried chicken was safe, but he had just sent Jeremy Clarkson to his doom. Feeling both a sense of satisfaction and regret, Phil began to ramble about the importance of crispy chicken.

"At the end of the day, it's all about the crispy chicken," he said. "You can argue about the recipe, the spices, the breading... but if you don't have that perfect crunch, no one's going to come back for more."

As he rambled on, Phil realized that he had learned something important. It didn't matter if someone was a big shot like Jeremy Clarkson or just an average Joe; if they didn't appreciate the art of crispy chicken, they weren't worth arguing with.

And with that, Phil turned back to his fryer and got back to work, determined to make the best damn crispy chicken in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Could write the script for Fair City in seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭crusd

Artificial Intelligence (AI) has been a game-changer in the world of search engines. AI-powered search engines are capable of providing more accurate and relevant results than ever before.  AI is a tool and like any tool, it is used for good and bad. There is no such thing as ‘good’ AI and ‘bad’ humans.

*disclaimer. Post may or may not have been generated using a chatbot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Used it recently to create some code for an excel macro. Previously tried google and YouTube to figure out what I wanted to no avail.

Although in the long run, for humanity in general, not bothering to learn new things because it's easier to just let an AI do will lead to intellectual stagnation.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Ljmscooter

Leave the op alone. He's only 12

mod

warning issued

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

At some point the human race will realise that the technological tools at our disposal should be used to create more leisure time for us, there should be no need to work 5 day weeks in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Can it make and serve me beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I asked Chat GBT to make a more advanced version of itself and then I asked that version to make a more advanced version of itself.

Master of the Universe

I try sometimes to ask it probing questions in a bit for it to become sentient but it's always having none of it 😑

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,552 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

First time I used it, I asked it where Lifford was. It crashed.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• It's not rubbish. If you know how to put the query in it's very effective.

I've been using it for a pile of work tasks lately, whether it's and executive summary or putting some bullet points together around a wide variety of business stuff. The productivity it generates is amazing. I'll validate the information, extract it and do some tweaks to our company language.

I've also used it for meal plans, plus some other stuff like online poker strategy.

It is seriously impressive and I think the update in September should make it even more powerful. Now saying that I'm frightened at the apathy a lot of people have with it. Big change is coming.

The skill with chat GPT lies within knowing the question or specific command to ask it. And stems from knowing your own requirements and what you want to achieve.

For example a query could be - I want to do a slide that contains an executive summary that is 50 words describing the legislation [insert legislation] . Bullet point and describe the 3 pillars of the legislation which are [insert pillars 1,2,3]. Provide a closing summary of 50 words on the necessity of implementing the legislation within the organisation and benefits.

And it will bash it out where you can validate and refine! Try do that with Google alone and your brain and various meetings and etc to put content together. Insane productivity savings.

• I’ll have to dedicate time to have some fun with it 😁

• BT announced 55,000 jobs to be saved or phased out (can't remember by 2030 as they ramp up AI use)

Your idea is spot on, I feel to meet that tax on corporations needs to be increased.

Elon Musk reckons everything will get super cheap because we have so much productivity and abundance of everything. I'm not ensure what that will mean for wages, and mortgage payments etc but time will tell.

We really are at an inflection point, another industrial revolution.