Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Daft/Stupid things you saw people do.

• 26-04-2023 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭

I know we all do things that are sometime daft but have you ever seen someone doing something that you knew just by a casual glance would not end well?

As a start..On a ship I remember seeing this girl cross to the windawrd side of the boat to get sick! You can guess what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭NattyO

I was on a factory tour a few years back, and a group of us were standing watching a young apprentice electrician drilling a hole in a plastic junction box while it was resting on his knee.

It went exactly how you imagine it would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I regularly see people driving with an unrestrained dog sitting in the front passenger seat or even on the driver's lap, strikes me as pretty reckless. I've saw a guy driving a couple of weeks ago with some very long lengths of timber sticking out the front passenger window, like a modern day knight in a jousting match! A few years ago I watched a couple of skateboarders attempt a manouvre on the retaining wall of a railway bridge. The wall was at a very steep slope, certainly 45 degrees, and the bottom of the wall was only a couple of metres from a busy road. They made a few attempts before thinking better of it, looked like certain death or serious injury to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I was working in a factory years ago and there was a guy driving a power pallet truck while wearing headphones. The pallet he was carrying was too high for the archway he was driving under. He ended up taking the whole wall down and destroying half the factory. There was actually a production line beside the wall but thankfully the staff were on break at the time. He could have killed someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

Working in a steel fabrication workshop, quite a lot of the workers were untrained and hired through nepotism. Complete twt was swinging a grinder by the lead and I told him not to do it, watch he said and karate chopped the on switch while it was hanging by his leg. Grinders kick and he was lucky he missed his femoral artery but still sliced his thigh up pretty bad. Another twt tried to douse a solvent fire by throwing a bucket of water over it. Minor burns to his eyebrows and hair but he was lucky.

That place you needed eyes in the back of your head, the punch press if somebody was swapping over the bit and didn't isolate the main switch with a lock it was a written warning but ignored. Dumbest thing was when I was working the powder coating room and the foreman decided to have dckheads who hadn't a clue what they were doing swap out the roof extractor fan during a lightening storm, I kid you not. The floor was soaking the roof was getting hit with lightening I'm ofski fry yourselves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭drserious4

At a house party I saw a fella spray oven cleaner into his mouth 'for the craic.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,322 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

Saw something similar on the Aran Islands ferry. The wind whipped the puke back into them. Not sure I would have had the presence of mind either at the time not to do it into the wind but I definitely would now after witnessing that!

Whatever about forgetting about the wind in my case they actually ran across the boat to do it! If they stayed on the other side it would have been ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Someone I know had just started a job as a supervisor in a warehouse. Someone else spotted on the security cameras that some of the lads in the warehouse were taking rides on a pallet truck down a slope, so he was sent down to tell them to stop.

Instead, this genius said "here, give me a shot!", hopped up on the pallet truck, went down the slope and fell and broke his leg. Of course, it was all captured on the CCTV that he knew was watching them all.

Instantly fired while he lay there waiting for the ambulance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭randd1

I saw my friend get married.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,871 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

didn't witness it - but a chap i used to work with once told us that as a communal dare, himself and his mates broke open mercury thermometers in the physics lab in his school; and drank the mercury. he claimed it ended up in their shoes within a couple of minutes, as in it was so heavy it ran through their bodies.

i'd have thought he was about 50, but based on that, he may have been 30...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

First week of a house share with randomers in college about 20 years ago. One guy tells me that he met one of the women that we would be sharing with and that ‘she’s a nice looking bird’. I still regret not saying then and there to him that getting with someone you’re house sharing with is a terrible idea.

They had a torrid affair that ended in a horrifically disastrous way.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Esho

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,871 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i know someone who unfortunately badly learned the lesson (while working in a steel fabrication workshop) of 'don't give a negative order', especially in a noisy environment. he's carrying permanent injuries now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The thing about elemental mercury (the silver liquid that would be in a thermometer) is that it's so dense that it hardly gets absorbed by the gut at all if swallowed (0.01%). Here's a case of a young kid in Libya who swallowed 750 grams of it (that's 3/4 of a bloody kilo!) and was perfectly fine. A thermometer would contain about a gram.

The danger with mercury is the vapors - they are easily absorbed by the lungs and can do lasting damage. So I guess the secret is to down it quickly, like whiskey, not savour it like wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Saw a builder hanging outside a second floor window, like he was about to abseil down the face of the house. With a large two handed disc saw (not sure of the technical name but the type you usually see workers cutting into footpaths with, like a chainsaw but with a disc instead).

I thought to myself this does not look very safe at all, then he starts cutting away parts of the same window frame that he was harnessed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

Don't know what "Windward" means 🤣

I can "guess" , but I'd only have a 50/50 on that one !

either she fell off , or wind blew sick back into her "Boat" hehehe 😃

Wind blowing in from that side. No she didn't fall off but the second one is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭hayrabit

😀 😁

ta for explainin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭admcfad

I'll bite..... Marriage in general as a stupid thing to do or this woman in particular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Saw a homeless fella root through a street bin and take out 3 discarded beer bottles of beer with bits of beer remaining in them, he swigged each back and looked happier after it 😂, this was around 9am in the morning. Who knows what was in each bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭randd1

Him. He'd hop on a gust of wind if he had the chance. It won't end well. Hopefully there'll be no kids before the inevitable happens.

Great laugh, sound fella, terrible boyfriend to women.

????

What does this mean? Surely saying "Don't give a negative order" i, in and of itself, giving a negative order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Myself yesterday, got Diesel but forgot my wallet 😐️

you don't tell someone what you don't want them to do, you tell them what you do want them to do.

in the case of the chap i mentioned, he called to a colleague something like 'don't hit the big red button' but the colleague heard something about hitting the big red button, and hit it.

So, "don't give a negative order" should be "give positive orders only?"

😁

indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭windowcills

Negative order applies to many situations in life. How often have has anyone been given what they don't want in a Restaurant. Examples being no gravy, no white pudding etc. only to get them.

Or you tell someone that you don't want to talk to X only for them to bring X along?