Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I back out of car sale

• 24-04-2023 7:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭

Hi not sure if I mad a mistake selling car I took a small deposit but sale hasn't gone through yet wondering should I back out ? It's a 2009 volkswagen golf has high mileage . engine light is on and needs some work done like new clutch, flywheel got offered around 3k for it but not sure if I should just keep It get it fixed and put it back up for a higher price. Or just cut my losses I know the work that needs done would be over 2k mark 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Oh sell it.

High mileage, as in 300k km?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

If you're happy with what you got originally then I would sell 100% . Absolutely no guarantee you'd get the money back that you put into it.

Sell sell sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Irish_wolf

Unless I could do the work myself I'd be selling it personally. A bird in the hand and all that. If the person you're selling it to knows all the defects and is still happy to pay then fire ahead. Who knows what problems you'll unearth when you starting diving in to fix all the things you already know about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Squatman

you would be a complete @rsehole to back out after taking a deposit, on the pretense that you could make more money on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭horse7

What if the buyer backs out, will you return the deposit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Squatman

that would be seller dependent. but once you place a deposit on a car, there is no expectation of getting it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭TylerRyan28

Of course it was only €50 I can send it through Revoult

You are hoping to get more than 5 grand for a 14 year old high milage golf if you replace the clutch. Best of luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Assuming the buyer knows the problems I'd cut my loses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,701 ✭✭✭User1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Jesus weeps, 3k for a 14 year old Golf that needs a **** load of work done and the OP wants to pull out of the sale? OP you should be the one getting this sale done and dusted before the buyer comes to their senses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

You're getting a very good price there so I would sell it, in fact I would be praying very hard theyd come back with the rest ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

3K for a 14 year old Golf that by going what your saying needs all that work with high Kms and your thinking of backing out of the deal for more cash?

Well to be honest your either very greedy or very naive....

Post edited by Oops! on

Good deal so haha again as I said they know what it needs didn't hide anything body is is great condition for the year aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

Get rid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Sell it and take the €3K, I presume the buyer has inspected it and wouldn't have put down a deposit if they were not happy with it.

And for those saying €3K is off the wall, the cheapest drivable 09+ Golf I can see on DD has 233Kmi on it asking €3250, so €3K isn't a stretch if the OP's one is in good condition, high spec, FSH, etc even with the issues.

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,942 ✭✭✭wingnut

The used car market is crazy at the moment as I have just discovered after the timing belt went in my car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭monseiur

Put it in dry storage for 15 to 20 years. Eventually, when an old classic, the Mathewson's (of Bangers & Cash fame) will auction it for you at a tidy profit. (for them) 😁

The OP has already stated the car they have needs a ball of money spent on it..... I wouldn't exactly be using whats on donedeal for stupid money as a guide price for anything....

Fair play to the OP for taking a deposit at 3k for the thing, it wouldn't even turn my head at that price.

Everybody seems to know the price of everything these days and the value of nothing.

Out of curiosity if you won't use DD prices as a guide price for anything, how do you price a car then?

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Years of experience.

I wouldn't head to the local mart and start buying up livestock because they look nice for stupid money, I'd bring someone with me that knew exactly what they were looking at and their real value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,701 ✭✭✭User1998

Advertising prices are completely different to selling prices tho. Like I’m sure that Golf above could be gotten for €2.5k after some negotiating which is why I think OP is getting a very fair price for their car.

Ye, but the going market rate will pretty much set itself at a mart depending on demand, just like a faster version of DD. What you think the animal is worth might not equate into the actual price.

At the moment with used cars, demand is high, supply is low, hence prices are high.

As I said, presumably the OPs buyer has inspected the car and is happy enough to go for it at 'around €3k'.

The cheapest clutch/flywheel kit I can see for them is around €200, personally I'd spend slightly more for a better one. EW light is probably something small that the buyer has presumably scanned on the ODB. All DIY stuff with decent tools so somebody see's it as worth it.

Oh ye, as most including me have said, take the €3k, the OP should close that deal ASAP as it's a strong price. Yep, an asking price is just that, I presume when the OP said 'around €3k' they meant an offer around €2.7K ish.

Your missing my point... The majority of people at the mart are farmers/traders, i'm not! Most people on donedeal buying are not mechanics/traders. Supply is not low of quality, the problem is the volume of cars out there at the moment that are hugely overpriced is nuts because of what people see other cars for sale for "If that's worth that much so should mine" attitude is the problem.

I'd have no problem pricing a car for for somebody when i've inspected it for them, but when i'm sent links to certain cars that are everywhere for mad money with big kms my answer is always "that's not what your looking for".

Golf's in particular are everywhere, and 14 year old ones are certainly not rare and anybody that knows what i'm talking about knows they are money pits at that age with high kms....

As i've said to the OP already, take the 3k hand and all. you've done well if they do come back for it.

As for the part about about the kit and the EML light being on, it always sound simple when you put it like that..... Every mechanic just throws his eyes up when he/she hears the words spoken by a costumer "I've done my research" or "It's probably only something small".

I was told before it would take 2k if not more to get everything done to it , engine light is on which I know the problem around €200 for part then clutch and flywheel i would also throw in fresh brake pads

I had a mechanic out before looking at it trying a low ball offer of 1200 thinking I didn't have a clue about cars. He can do the work himself but I wasn't going to sell it for anything less then what I did . Would rather just of kept it as a second car

That's strong money, what are your concerns about selling it for that? Are you worried you won't get another car? As someone said above, if you spend the €2K on repairs and then try to sell, you'd be doing very well to get that €2K back on the sale. If you like the car and want to keep it, get more quotes for the required work as €2K sounds high enough based on what you've described.

Personally I'd bite his hand off for the €3K and add the €2K you're prepared to invest in it and put that €5K towards your new car. If you like Golfs, plenty of younger MK6's out there for around that or throw a few more quid in the kitty and you'll be in MK7 territory.