Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men of boards.ie, what do you do after work to pass the time?

• 13-04-2023 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

I'm a 27 year old male, I work your typical 9-5 office job and then do a bit of extra work on the weekends and stuff. One thing I've lacked is a hobby or stuff to do when I come home in the evenings. All my friends only do one thing and that is drink every night, whilst I also do go out a good bit I'm getting bored of it and getting fed up of just pissing away my money every night. I was wondering people around my age or have been in the same boat, what do yous do to pass the time?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Video gaming??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

When I was your age, I spent most evenings playing World of Warcraft, going out drinking with friends once a week, and hillwalking/kayaking/playing sports on one of the weekend days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭CWMMC

Personally I used to love it and spent my whole childhood at it. But lately I lack the concentration for it and get bored easily with it (mainly cause im **** at it and get annoyed) so I'd probably only play for a hour or two a week max. It's just like I dont like the games.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,887 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

a decade or two older - cycling, woodwork (mainly woodturning), bit of gardening.

obviously you need space for the latter two...

Thats one game I've never played or got into, but when I was younger I would have done the same when I was about 18 years of age or so. Thats another thing I used to play sports and go to the gym but lately I don't think I'd feel comfortable because I dont feel I'd be good enough to play sports or fit enough. I've looked at getting into golf or playing darts which don't depend on a team.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Well why not join a gaming community for the games you do enjoy, its great craic sitting chatting away to people while gaming together.

When it comes to cycling the roads aren't partially suited for it here, theres no cycle lanes etc, however I have gone to the greenway a few times during covid which I did enjoy.

Do you mean a gaming community for online games in person or do you mean the table top games like DnD and magic the gathering?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Women or the lack thereof were my biggest concerns at that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Try find a group that play soccer once a week, indoor or outdoor. Tag rugby season is about to start in a few parts of the country, tis a good activity that ticks a few boxes once or twice a week.

At that age would have played a fair bit of tag rugby, played guitar, did a few jobs around the house, went to the cinema, concerts etc. All depending on the time of year and where I lived at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Playing/watching sports, reading, cycling, chess, gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

If I could go back in time and tell younger RedXIV what to do for this topic, it would start with, "Don't get up out of one chair you've been in for 8 hours, to go sit in another chair for another 5 or 6 hours".

I played a lot of games growing up and also liked to tinker on technical projects so I spent a lot of time at a computer screen during and after work and the things that really stood out over the last 20 years or so would be when I did an evening course to become a masseuse, literally just to get me away from a desk, which I really enjoyed and the brief stints I got into going to the gym or climbing walls or martial arts.

You'll feel better if you're doing something that makes your body move but that's very easy to say on a soapbox, the number 1 thing is that you need to enjoy it. But I'm coming around on the thoughts of the woodworking like @magicbastarder says. There is something incredibly satisfying in building a physical object, especially when there is time and effort put into the finish.

Tag rugby is an interesting one, I've never heard of that or that there was a season and everything for it, so I may check that out now and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭rustynutz

I'm in my forties and have a few hobbies, some are weather dependent so it's important to have others that aren't for when the weather is crap. I fly Powered paragliders when the weather allows, I am into motorbikes too and enjoy tinkering with these as well as riding them. I do some mountain biking with my son when I get time, and I've been training krav maga for the past few years, which involves a class once or twice a week and some strength and fitness training another couple of evenings a week.

It's easy to slip into the few pints every evening trap, so you are right to be looking for alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Definitely went through that phase of multiple nights out a week, over time it will gradually shift to once a week, and then once a fortnight etc as everyone gets older, so start your replacement hobbies now and you'll be in good shape.

Reading. It's simple, it's effective, enjoyable and good for the head

Gym - it's good for the body, it's good for the mind. If you've never been a gym-goer, start with a few PT sessions to help develop good habits and elminate bad habits.

ANY club - any form of social club around an activity you enjoy. Could be games, sport, arts, music, whatever. Don't do one for the sake of it, make it something you've always had an interest in and you'll be enriching your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

If you have a good enough PC you could play online Role play games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Gym, reading, writing, cycling, watching telly, playing computer games.

Depends on what you're interested in but at your age you must have an idea of what captures your interest. Just dedicate more time to it.

If not, try a few different things and see which you might like. It's never too late. I didn't learn to ride a bike until I was 34 and now I love it.

Unfortunately I don't I just have a laptop for work/college which I play the occasional game on but I mainly play Xbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

at your age I was racing mountain bikes , took more spare time than I had. Still cycle , lot slower than I was. otherwise it's house and garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Hooked

Male 44

Soccer Tue/Thur evenings and Sunday mornings...

DIY most evenings as we're renovating room by room.

When it's not DIY I'm in the garage converting a van to camper!

Or dog walking, gardening, etc...

But all of this is becaise of where I live, the work needed to be done and the garage in which to do it...

I hate to be idle.

I watch alot of sports and I mean I basically watch everything and anything from baseball to hockey to golf and snooker, I just dont play them because in my head I'm not good enough and then feel like im letting the team down. I do read and watch a bit of netflix/disney plus but it feels unproductive if that makes sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

It does not matter if you "good enough" or not. For amateur team sports, the important thing is to come to the games (and be on time), pull your weight and most importantly, have fun. Forget about "letting the team down". If you are bad at your chosen sport, but if you make an effort and are positive, your teammates will love you for your efforts even if not for your outstanding abilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,292 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I'm 43 and retired so lots of time to fill. I went back to Uni and I'm in the final year of a criminal justice degree that is deferred on medical grounds. That did take up quite a bit of my time early on. A lot of reading and summation along with writing case notes. It was a part of the course I enjoyed, I've always been a voracious reader so it was a help.

I do watch quite a bit of sport. I also collect model aircraft, primarily military of all types. I have 2 main splits in the collection, diecast & kit builds.

I share some aspects of the collecting hobby with my son. Comics and action figures, he is big into his Marvel and DC, whereas while I'm a fan of those my own tastes are very much more 2000ad and in particular Judge Dredd.

We are lucky enough to have a fairly big Mancave where can display, work on stuff and with a very comfy home cinema set up out there. To give a bit of privacy and keep us out from under my wife's feet.

On top of that, I do have a couple of close friends and we make time to see each other on a regular basis for anything from coffee, through to watching sports, playing video games and occasional pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

All good advice above.

If you can travel then do that while you can. Especially if you can work your chosen career and travel. Just go.

If you are sick of drinking ... etc... spend the money you might waste on alcohol on concerts, movies, meals out, training/skills you enjoy. Learn a language.

Don't go down the video game route if your day job is screen work, sitting on your ass. You can do that anytime/any age/when kids/other issues tie you down. Get out and about while you can, meet people.

And don't get married until you really are certain.

I fly Powered paragliders when the weather allows,

I'd love to hear more about this? What licensing and equipment is needed in particular? I've long wondered about getting into paragliding but never actually followed up on it apart from a couple of tandem flights when I lived abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Girl Geraldine

Jesus christ. It is not as bad as drinking but it is a bad thing to be into. It is unhealthy and unsocial.

Take up a sport, get into drama or something social. Unless you are a talented artist, it is rare for anything good to come out of solitary activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭rje66

I got into kitesurfing, bee keeping and home brewing, was a rugby referee too, now I have no spare time.....

The odd evening class was good. Mostly cookery based.

As others have said, just be active. You dont have to be good at hobbies to enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Yeah but you don't need to do team sports. I'd watch team sports happily but for actual activity have always tended more towards individual pursuits. Depending on where you live, there could be many or fewer options. Think of the various racquet sports for instance. Golf is for businessmen and old fuddy duddies! If you like the outdoors then hillwalking, rockclimbing, canoeing apart from obvious like cycling. Hobbies? I was into photography a lot at one stage, less now as so much stuff posted. You could try brewing your own booze. Then there's volunteering if there's somewhere local that could do with a bit of a dig out. Like a pint as well but too easy to get a little fond of it and it kills the old brain cells! So you're right to keep an eye on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

What a **** take! Lmao most online games are played with friends, I've been gaming over 30 years now and am mentally and physically healthy.

Well unfortunately with the golf situation I work in the Accounting industry so its mainly my clients. I used to go walking most evenings along the trails and stuff but with the winter weather and the rain we've been having for the last few months I didn't bother going. Exactly I was/am getting too fond of it for my liking.

Can I ask why do you think its a bad thing to get into as being unhealthy and unsocial? Does it not make your brain think and stuff? and if your playing online is it not sociable then, or am I missing something obvious here

I was just about to post similar. Most games these days are either online or have a huge online component, that involves co-op and/or battle royale style game modes. From Voice chat in game through to discord and telegram channels during and after the game.

Yes you might be playing alone in a room, but very rarely are you alone in game.

The social aspect of some of the most popular games is their main selling point. Some games even hold social events, concerts and GTGs within their game environments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Golf it is so, even if it means mixing work & time out :) Sign up and get your clubs out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Girl Geraldine

Talking to people through a screen in a role playing game is no substitute for actual human interaction. Social skills are so important in life.

It is unhealthy phsyically as it is a sedentary activity.

It is unhealthy mentally as gaming is addictive, and it is solitary with no meaningful social interaction.

Those three things make it a very inadvisable thing to get into.

Make no mistake, gaming is specifically designed to be addictive because the developers of those games want to make money out of making gamer zombies out of the users.

The last bit... nothing more important that regularly seeing good/old friends...

Also - retired at 43. You lucky bolliox...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I'm 43. On weekdays after work I would usually cook up something for myself and the OH and then take the Jack Russell out for a walk. When I get back we would watch something on Netflix but if the partner is working until 10pm then I'd play some PS5 or watch some anime.

I was playing astroturf soccer a good while back but some of the players were taking it too seriously and would sneer/get shouty if you made a mistake. That put me right off it. I used to hit the gym a lot but now I use the time to walk the mutt instead. I'm a man of simple pleasures. I'm also naturally introverted so I'm not a fan of social groups although I do enjoy meeting friends at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,853 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I think gaming is fine if it's not taking over from other parts of your life or consuming your mind. Also, it's not good if your job is sedentary and you are then exclusively gaming as a hobby. That could lead to a lot of life restricting physical health issues.

My main point previously is to do the positive door opening things you can only easily do when you are young and free and single. Once you have kids, mental or physical problems, family problems, debt etc, life is more restrictive.

Also, as things become more and more automated/online, DIY/practical/person to person skills will become more and more useful when **** happens.

Retired at 39 😉 and you're 100% right very lucky (I swear I'm not being sarcastic here). I was lucky enough to owned my home outright, to have a fairly decent savings and investment pot, the original plan was retire at 50 or so. My health put paid to that.

I am medically retired and actually being able to step back from work has allowed me to stay far healthier than I would be if I'd needed to stay working. I still do a little bit of work on the side, but now it's because I want to, rather than have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Netflix

PS5

Gym…

Read

meetup with friends occasionally although we are not living local now so it requires organising.

see family regularly, out once a week with the folks for food, a tradition……out once every 2-3 weeks for an evening with a couple of my cousins… nice restaurant/pub by the coast that we favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭blackbox

Golf.

Not just for business and fuddies. It can be as social as you want it to be, meeting others after a game in the clubhouse (or not, if you chose).

It's the only sport where players of differing abilities can enjoy competing with each other thanks to a very effective handicapping system. You get moderate exercise (a lot more than sitting at home!) with little risk of injury.

Unfortunately, if you are in Dublin it is hard to get into a club.

Sorry - genuinely didn't mean to pry... but good for you. I'm 44 - and owing to the recent death of a very dear friend - my whole outlook on work/life balance has shifted. I intend to be retired by 50. Wife has a great (and well paying job) and we've no kids and a manageable mortgage with healthy savings. Love to see stories like yours... living life on your terms... enjoying your family and pass-times.

I tend to fit work around my life these days... and love the DIY and camper building but wish I could do more of it. Huge sense of satisfaction.

The idead of slogging away till you're in your late sixties when it's too late to enjoy things is just too depressing! But alas, is the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Reading, model making, gaming, cycling, watching films, walking, chillin with the Mrs.*

Reading can take up between 30 minutes to a couple of hours. Cycling is usually between 90 minutes to 2 hours (weather permitting). Walking is usually 1 hour (again reliant on the weather). Watching films can be around 90 minutes to whatever (depending on the number I sit through) and the models and games can use up a stupid amount of time. Literally hours can pass by doing that nonsense.

*...and going to the pub.😁

Nothing at all to apologise for, no offence was offered nor taken. I am in a lucky enough position compared to so many others. That I get to enjoy my health and not be tied to a job is a godsend.

The death of a friend is often a trigger for introspection and the cold hand of mortality. It is good that's it refocused your work/life balance and best of luck to you both in building that campervan and getting retired by 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

Play sports or hit the gym.

See this is why I used to love playing Junior B football and hurling but lately its gone way too competitive in which young lads now think they are playing county.. whilst hurling we had drinking bans in Junior B... So thats kinda why I dont want to play 5 a side and stuff either. I know theres dads and mams leagues and teams now but I dont fall into those categories as im not old enough.

For some reason I think the entry levels of getting into golf are too high, for instance you need to know members and stuff to apply to become a member. But thankfully no I don't live in Dublin so theres plenty of options for me to get into now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Jaysis, OP, you've an excuse for everything. Just get out there and do *something*.

Also, the women of Boards probably have plenty of suggestions too.

I know, maybe moaning should be my new hobby...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

@banie01

I'm 43 and retired