Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbags from good areas

• 16-03-2023 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭

Reading all that's been happening with young men attacking people in Dublin, it made me think of anyone I knew personally that ended up in criminality but came from a middle to upper class background.

There's only one lad I know from my secondary school in Stillorgan that fucked his life up. Was actually very intelligent and did reasonably well from 1st to 3rd year and even got the highest Junior Cert. He had autism though and couldn't cope with stress. 5th year was a disaster and heard he got into drugs, started assaulting parents, robbing them. That was seven years ago and last I heard, he's living illegally in the States and a small time drug dealer.

But I'm sure stories like these are far more common in disadvantaged areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Dslatt

Scumbags from good areas? The Dail and the banks are full of them!

On a serious note you will find wife beaters and drug dealers from the most affluent areas in the country, some of the most heinous people I know are private school rugby types, they just probably wont have 100 convictions for robbing bikes or cans of cider from Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

These kind of people are, imo, worse than scum. Scum are scummy because their circumstances are crap and unlike thousands of others like them in the similar situations, they decide to turn to crime. It can be... somewhat understood, it may have started out as stealing to buy essentials and escalated. But these people, with their silver spoons or issue free upbringings, then turning criminal? Worse than scum, because it's pure power play at that point. They have most if not everything they need, but they want more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

That cooking ones son comes to mind. He had 20 or 30 grand to buy a lump of drugs to go out and sell. For what you may ask growing up watching films and tv shows of drug dealers thinking he wants to be like them despite the upbringing he had which would honestly have been very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭slither12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Some men scum rob you with a six-gun and others with a pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

I knew a few, 2 met quite a bloody end courtesy of Mssrs Smith and Wesson. One was shot dead in front of his mates in broad daylight outside of one of the off licenses and shops he regularly robbed. Untouchable? the nutting squad begged to differ, this would have come from high up locally no warnings just whack them. The other was a drug dealer who made deals with loyalists. The Sopranos and Godfather Goodfellas may be based on some fact but it's still fiction.

Really good areas they came from same area I grew up in, not quite lower middle class but comfortable respectable working class, down the road in the slums they'd have turned out exactly the same and equally dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭STEE

Just the title caught my eye. I don't think I could say I personally have known that many people that got into criminality ( other than just ppl dealing a bit of weed/hash locally ) although I had heard a few from secondary school from my brothers class did and having said that. There's was one chap who was quite intelligent, I wouldn't say he was a lick arse to teachers or a swat but, kinda geeky looking and a little bit geeky kinda guy. He would mess a bit but, he did well in school just like the OP said about someone. lol Well even then he was always looking at ways of making money Like for example Say ye needed a loan of a pen in class. He would try and do a sale lol and sell you the pen. He went to trinity college Got a honours degree in computers had a great job ( 75,000 a year Property Management Job ) but, got made redundant and got into financial pressure. Heard about him in the papers one day he made the headlines. Got into doing the logistics for smuggling cocaine. A 29 million euro cocaine operation smuggled in floorboards lol Fecking eejit got caught by the gardai when he used his real name for details on logistics Though he wasn't from the best area well its ok in some parts. See I live in Dublin 7 area He lived in cabra most ppl from school were Finglas or cabra Reason the title caught my eye was because, It made me think about my area and something that happened to someone I know. Who was attacked. For the most part the D7 area is good well all around the navan road is. Dunard and cabra are a bit bad, the old parts of cabra are better but, ya do get some scumbags no matter where ya live. Up where I live around the Navan road is a good area but, there is some scumbags ffs Afterall my uncle was murdered back in 2019 by two scumbag brothers from a family of knackers always have been since I knew them when I was a teen. Always starting trouble picking on ppl in the area. They harassed me uncle for 20 odd years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,544 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I encountered this bellend when he was hanging around Cork City centre during the first lockdown. He asked me for cigarettes (i dont smoke) and he gave a tirade of abuse when I shook my head. He got a suspended sentence for threatening to kill the owner of an off-licence here. Seems to come from a fairly well to do family.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-israeli-army-veteran-who-went-on-intoxicated-rampage-in-dublin-city-centre-threatened-gardai-after-they-confronted-him-38457740.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

That's anecdotal nonsense. We simply take note of criminals more carefully when they come from a middle class background / area, because it's so unusual.

It's very much a case of the exception proves the rule. The family breakdown / drug taking / teen pregnancies and other poor life choices that result in criminality and anti-social behaviour are 99% coming from the working and welfare classes.

This is classic Irish reverse snobbery, a great chance to kick upwards at your betters instead of trying to improve your own communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...unfortunately yup, if complex psychological disorders such as asd arent diagnosed and treated appropriately from as young an age as possible, the odds are severely stacked against that person of making it out without serious consequences, and it dont matter where you lie on the socioeconomic scale either, thank god we ve recognized this a long time ago, and are now well on top of making sure this doesnt happen!

This isn't one of those "free houses" threads.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Growing up in leafy well-to-do middle class suburban Castleknock in the 1980s, there were three families on my road we were told as children by our parents not to mix with as they were involved in criminality and scumbaggery.

These were lowlifes with lots of money - a couple of their offspring eventually came to very sticky ends and one of the fathers ended up in prison for attempted murder. Criminality, drug addiction and violence. Money was not enough to break that cycle for them.

There are numerous "free houses", dole threads on boards in which you can vent or create your own. The topic of the thread is pretty clear from the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I am from a few miles further south down the M50, well about 5 to be more precise. I find it compelling to hear the new slang and language deriving from North West Dublin and the Blanchardstown surrounds. When i am sharing a snigger with my lair ,we refer to that particular region as " the Townships"...... ha ha ha ha ha , oh we do have the craic at times, tis bleedin deadly so it is.

To clarify to the uninitiated, the best way to spot a culchie who is transforming into a jackeen is to spot the terminology in the swearing techniques....

Only royalers living in the townships would say " feckin eegit " , proper blues would say " Dare spas d lot of dem " or " hees a stuupa bollix so he is"

The devil is in the detail mortals.

When I was young I had a job in a restaurant, the chef read out the local court reports, reading out one case he kept saying over and over he was from x.x being the good local area, and the chef was from y, y being an extensive estate of council houses, which said chef didn't have a great opinion of, even as a young person I thought how sad to be so burdened by your background that he could not conceive anyone from x could ever be up before the local courts, its sad really.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Lunatic parents come from every background.

I think the concept that is being overlooked here is the inherent snobbery that exists within the Irish Psyche. As a people we are very snobby and we are constantly comparing ourselves with everyone around us. It happens in every direction.

The word snob is often abused by people who interpret its meaning as being associated with middle class climbers, who keep up with the Jones's and have immaculate gardens. But the reality is that snobbery works both ways.

It is rooted in our tribal roots. Before modern society in Ireland people lived much more close knit communities. Where you were from, or what family or clan your loyalties lied, determined your entire identity. The Land acts are younger than the famine. Before that the majority of the 8 million Irish people lived in extremely inharmonious chiefdoms that they relied on to survive. We lived in Crannogs hidden away in vast forests that stretched for miles. It could take you days or weeks to get around the country.

Some of our most powerful clans were on the Shannon, it was a fantastic resource and a great trading route. Brian Boru was from Killaloe, the gate from Lough Derg into the Atlantic ocean, a very powerful man from a very powerful clan.

So when you are eyeing up your neighbours car, scornfully every other morning, or when you are guessing that rich people from Brighton Avenue are self entitled pushovers, who don't deserve a penny of it.... just be mindful that you descend from generations of cut throat savages, who would bury you in the woods for a bag of conkers. There was no McDonalds drive though back then either. Or Crap like soccer jerseys and Liverpool United.

The reason we spend our lives slagging people living on the roadside in caravans, is that we know fine well that only 5 generations ago most of us were at the same game....

Just be thankful you don't own a bay side bungalow on the Howth Road, but wish you lived in Sandycove .. and worse still, actually act like you do..... life is short mortals, don't waste it begrudging everything around you. The reality is that the biggest scumbags and criminals existing in Ireland today will never see bird and never make the papers either, they are good like that and that's the way they like it.

I wonder if it is an urban thing or particular demographics. For example, my mother from a rural background long since dead never looked up or down on anyone and thought snobbery was a mark of bad character as a consequence of that I would talk to anyone and never felt pigeonholed.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I doubt it Mary Al. Your ma was just making sure you never saw any of her bad habits when she was rearing you, Fair play to her, she sounds like she was a lovely woman.

Snobbery does not always appear in the context you are looking at. Can you remember where your Ma shopped for example, for clothes like, not groceries. Where she got her hair done. The texture and complexity of her social circle?

Now all you have to examine is the things she never did or associated with... that was where she directed her snob, we al do it Mary A. Even the culchies, who if the truth be told in the context you are raising, are actually comparing and contrasting different lifestyles and environments.

By attempting to associate snobbery with an urban environment, using an example of a ruralite who didn't seemingly snob anything you are actually snobbing townies ..... inverse snobbery Maria Aleeece. guilty as charged?