Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's a business that exists that you don't understand can make money?

• 01-03-2023 1:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

I'll start with those magazines you see near the tills at the likes of Lidl.

There's so many different ones, mostly relating to showbiz and the likes. But then there's even more niche ones I don't know how they sell enough to cover costs/make a profit. There was some one related to only running, something like Runners Monthly or similar.

Donut shops. How many donut shops does a city need? What Dublin needs is more places selling pizza by the slice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,015 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Boards.ie - but long may it continue :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭thomil

A lot of the Irish "corner stores", especially those seemingly just built into the ground floor of a 1960s-era semi-detached or terrace house in a council estate, with hand-painted signs, faded ad signs for the likes of Coca Cola or HB, rusted window-frames and equally rusted metal grates in front of the windows. Seriously, how do they make any money? They look about as trustworthy as a white van with "Free Candy!" scrawled all over the sides...

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Places in shopping centers that sell a small amount of clothes, Jewellery, cosmetics, etc. They are often expensive and other shops in the center selling the stuff cheaper.

Post edited by freshpopcorn on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,015 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Ditto on the magazines especially the really niche ones like “Naval Warfare Monthly” and the likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

Marks and Spencer (in Ireland post Brexit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭niallpatrick

I used to work as a yardman for wholesale newspaper and magazine distributors, the excess niche magazines they couldn't sell were given back to the suppliers as for the junk that came with the magazines I got to tip it into the compactor. Junk such as mini teapot collections, tons of build a scale model whatever and classic mini libraries. Actual mini books of classic literature, each book roughly 2 inches in height.

The build a scale model series were a joke, I bought a motorbike 1st edition just to see what parts I got, the central spring for a super sports suspension. But hey I bought the magazine, only another 180 editions to complete the full model. £2.99 per 1st edition then retail price after £4.99 for something worth £12-15 if you bought it as an Tamiya kit or equivilent. They do sell but I doubt many buy the complete series, actually pretty smart if they only publish 100 full editions of each series. Keep bringing out, build a scale titanic/sr71 blackbird/mig 29. Junk sells as long as a market exists but it's still over priced junk.

What you'd spend on the full series you could buy a home quality 3d printer and template for your own snap out models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Iceland is another one.

I think they sold their Irish stores/operations lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Alias Tom in Dublin. Really expensive and is nearly always empty when I go by it. But it's been around, what, 20 odd years now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭zg3409

Nail bars, painting nails. A massive trend, full late on Friday evenings, multiple per town.

In the past they did not exist beyond a beauty counter in big stores, now a separate busy business. Similar to doughnuts it's a fad that will be copied until they go bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

subway, there are so many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Only Fans.

There's the world of free porn out there, no matter what sick fcuked up tastes you have. Why pay for it? Surely there's free stuff out there that's good enough for you to get your rocks off to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭walterking

Vape shops

Either the margins are enormous or there's another aspect to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I thought the same as yourself i didn't quite understand it ,

Then i realised after talking to younger lads i play football with that for the younger lads late teen to 30 lets the interest was because there was a lot of local girls who they would know on it, I guess the girls see it as easy money & don't mind the stigma of doing it because if a lad slogged them over it they could just say well you paid to see it ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Boardnashea

A great shop that has a very loyal customer following. I have a bag of my late father's fishing gear that I am hoping to find a home for shortly, and I'm sure most of it came from Rory's.

How long it will remain?? It will be there as long as people want to get sound advise, or be able to spend some time chatting with likeminded people, when they are spending hard earned cash on a craft that they love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In Temple Bar there is an international fashion and ‘lifestyle’ retailer. (UO) They used to have excellent clothing ranges, fashionable stuff, French Connection, Barbour, Armani, Fred Perry, Lacoste, Timberland, Diesel etc…

‘Ethical’ and ‘sustainable’ repurposed no name shîte seems to have taken over, spending a couple of hundred in there now enables you to look like your uncle Gerry circle 1987… who had as much fashion sense as Mr. Magoo.

I don’t mind non known brands but can you not try compete with second hand shops ? Tramp chic isn’t cool exactly and sometimes people like to look well, fashionable and have comfortable, hard wearing, and attractive clothing… as opposed to a step up from rags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

That is probably the only interesting thing now in temple bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

A lot are money laundering fronts, cash only and/or staffed by people who are either ineligible to work in Ireland or getting paid a pittance.

Post edited by retalivity on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Barbers.

600,000 guys in Dublin.

599,999 Barbers. Quiet Tuesday to Friday.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,338 CMod ✭✭✭✭Fathom

Compulsive buying at checkout. Sells red tops with Lizard People headlines and small bags and bars of candy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

The entire top floor of the Stephen’s Green shopping centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

I am of an age to remember when Alias Tom started in the 1970's. I think it was situated in the Grafton Arcade at first, but I might be wrong about that. Definitely a lot longer than 20 years! Must be doing something right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,128 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I would have thought there's a lot of catfishing around Temple Bar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

AIB? They write off 90% of the money they loaned to a heap of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

It's the knowing YOU are getting an exclusive or YOU are being shown specifically.

It's like people who send dick pics. Fellas don't send dick pics to try and get women to ride them or think they find it attractive. They send dick pics because they get turned on knowing the woman saw their dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

Price of haircuts now though. I can see it costing the same for men as it does women some day! 22 or 25 euro for a haircut.

You should probably read up on the effects of bad debt on a balance sheet before wondering how they made money from making settlements.

They had no choice in order to rebuild the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

There's a Chinese restaurant in every town in Ireland. Always empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

The high street has changed and will never be the same. I can only imagine that most stores in prime shopping districts are more a form of advanced brand advertisement as opposed to functioning profitable income streams? Take LEGO for example or DISNEY or say SONY or PHILLIPS. It seems to me that they are situated in certain high streets to emphasise their existence globally. I am calling it Brand Exposure, I am confident that marketeers have their own terminology for this form business development

I am so delighted that certain traditional products such as a BOOK, has survived the internets game changing influence on the global retail economy. You simply can't warm the pages of a smart pad or Tindle, it is beautiful to see people exhibiting this preference. If we lose the option of reading and being influenced by strangers writing, without a global agenda we are phucked totally. I am so happy that .com entrepreneurs lost that one.

Pubs as a culture are going to struggle, we need to learn that if we give non-smoking purist borefests an inch, they will rape us socially and intellectually for miles. Non Smokers are idiots, they haven't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,878 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I think the guy had the foresight to buy the building (in late 80s/early 90s) rather than rent it. He said he had big offers from pub chains etc. Fair play to him.

Non smokers are idiots?! Have you seen the sh1te that is in cigarettes and the effect it has on your body? Working in that environment was a fecking nightmare as well.

The smoking ban came in on coming up 20 years ago and yet there are still plenty of pubs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Tattoo shops. Surely everyone who wants a tattoo has one by now. Personally I think they are vile horrible things putting poison on your skin. Will not find me doing it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Yeah but no one is arsed drinking in them anymore?

Why would they? The whole concept of a Public house is to unwind and enjoy some downtime, it is good for your mortal soul. Non smoking drinkers are a waste of time, 2-3 pints and out the door to the gym... or to molly coddle their dull partners..... who have them wrapped around their bolleeecks they are so mindlessly pliable?

The scenario of non smoking bores.... inhabiting such ancient spaces of enjoyment, craic and depravity, is quite frankly a phucking travesty and an insult to our past?

They are destroying the world.

• One of my inspirations to eventually giving up smoking in 1995 was a visit in 1993 to Singapore, where it was forbidden to smoke anywhere but in private indoor space. I was addicted to nicotine, but I thought to myself “what if I had to live here or if these rules were in Ireland, with my addiction I would really have to overcome it as it would be such a pain in the @rse to continue as I were.” That sentiment (“such a pain in the ass to smoke”) in mind I gave up in 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Trondheim

The cinema in my local town. 7 screens and whenever i go in there, there might be 5 other people in the screen. I really don't know how they turn a profit. Obviously the popcorn etc. has a huge markup, but there must be a lot of electricity and staff costs and it is hard to see how they make it back.

But not of heat lamps and mary jane plants in the back.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

And yet there are artists out there making €100,000 a year so there must be a market for them. Last year Id say I probably put a €1000 into my sleeve. This year Im probably going to spend a bit more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

You enjoy nitting so. Good for you. Must be expensive threads you use.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭GSBellew

I thought it was only teenagers back in the 90's that thought smoking made them cool & interesting, amusing you have maintained that delusion.

If no one is arsed drinking in them...how do they still exist and turn a profit?

I think you are what's called...projecting...with the rest of that....but if it makes you feel better rant away.

I

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Tell me your wife ran off with a non-smoker without telling me your wife ran off with a non-smoker...

All my wives are schmoking...... you betta baleeeeeve it mortals....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭The DayDream

There's a shop in Brighton that only sells rubber ducks. Nothing else. The shopkeepers must own the building, it's in a prime city centre location and Brighton rents are nearly as dear as London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Cinemas . No way expensive as they are, the footfall is enough to cover the huge ground rents they have to fork out,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Irish fairy doors

Horrid looking things.

When you're an old man in your 70s with a sleeve, it'll look just pitiful.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Your opinion and only people that dont have tattoos say that.

When Im an old man in my 70s I ll be more concerned if Im able to wipe my own arse rather than what my tattoos look like - Lyle Tuttle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,777 ✭✭✭✭fits

Agricultural contractors driving tractors worth hundreds of thousands. I genuinely do not know how they even pay for them, never mind make money.