Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most unfriendly county? **Mod warning 18/01/2025**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Musicrules

They probably thought you were going to try to rob them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭randd1

Depends on where you're from and where you are really.

I hate being in Dublin, it looks dirty and rundown, and that's just the people, and half the time the people walking past you are just plain ignorant. And yet, without a doubt, some of the finest people I've ever met were dubs.

Kerry I find a lot of people are a bit up their own hole, but it is Kerry, one of the best places in the country, so they have a lot to be up their own hole about, and because of that have to deal with ar*eholes from everywhere.

I'd have to say Donegal myself. They're usually grand, but for some odd reason they always view you with suspicion and paranoia, even if they know you. If I was to describe Donegal as a county, it's the auld wan at the first house in the village giving you daggers as you drive past so she knows who to blame if something is amiss in the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭jetsonx

I'm not going to say the unfriendliest.

In a previous job I had to deal with every county.

The friendliest county is Kerry closely followed by Wexford (in a much more subdued way though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Lecter8319

Im going to say Mayo, tipperary and kerry. Bunch of ignorant **** and just look at who they elect as their representatives/tds. Some people in south Dublin are a bit up their own ass aswell, full of shite. Galway, Limerick, Cork people, north Dublin, Leitrim, Roscommon people are the friendliest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Dubs are hard beat in the friendliness stakes, very open really.

To the people who said Clare, ye are only cnuts, we're very friendly ye fckers.

Yeah, relatively speaking, the Dubs speak a bit more freely than their country brethren.

In some counties, the constant "I'm not going to say much" type conversations I find absolutely stultifying.

I'm not surprised so many people just hopped a plane for Australia just to get the hell out of there.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I find Dublin people for the most part very friendly, warm, generous, and above all, they're more inclined to mind their own business.

I grew up in the suburbs of Dublin and have lived in rural Kildare for the latter part of my life. There is a stark difference between the two. In my experience.

"Country" people are quite nosy. They love to gossip. Usually outside the church on a Sunday morning. There's a 'cute hoorism' about a lot of them. They like to feel they have the upper hand.

Obviously there are people in Dublin who fall into the above category. But, it's more prevalent in rural areas in my opinion.

>>>There's a 'cute hoorism' about a lot of them. They like to feel they have the upper hand.

Nail. On. Head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭talla10

I spent a year in Clare. Found them to be very strange people. Not unfriendly just strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Trader121

I’ve travelled Ireland extensively, been in every corner of Ireland and have to say for me, it’s the Cavan people that are the most unfriendly. They’re so clannish and insular it’s beyond belief. Awful people and can’t wait to leave as soon as possible. It’s not only me that feels like this as my friends who aren’t locals feel the same. If you’re a blow in you’ll never be accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭supernova5

Meath and the Gaeltacht area of Waterford, cnuts the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,387 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Rubbish. I'm from Louth and love going to Cavan. Decent and very witty people. Not stingy either contrary to Neil Toibin's character assassination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,874 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I hate to jump to generalisations but Roscommon I’ve found to be quite dogmatic to deal with - experienced them a few times in work settings it tended towards the chip on shoulder/conflict for the sake of it scenarios. Seemed to have an inferiority complex going on visa vie anyone from the south east or east like me.

Also slagging off Leitrim which in my humble experience is a far more attractive place and is doing much better economically and tourism wise than Roscommon.
    In saying that others I’ve met there are lovely and friendly people.
    Louth I’ve never found exceptionally friendly, think there’s a bit of an edge there

Would this be one of them perspective/bias things, Ted?

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/120266914#Comment_120266914

I think cork and Kilkenny people get on exceptionally well as they’re both of a similar mindset and don’t have the hard done by mentality you get in other parts of the country- there’s a lot of petty jealousy close to the surface for both for some reason. I always find cork people a pleasure to deal with

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/120271067#Comment_120271067

Chalk and cheese between limerick city and county in my opinion- county is very country, friendly like cork or Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,387 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Some parts of North Louth are bit like that and I think it goes back to the Troubles. A bit like South Armagh where people don't always say what they think and still treat people they don't know as suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Dublin. They all think they're comedians. And comedians aren't friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

It's a draw between Kerry and Dublin for the least friendly. Both of those places aren't very welcoming to my ilk. It's just jealousy tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭orourkeda1

Layyyyyyyyyysh

https://www.orourkeda.blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,524 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

What is it about you and your ilk that elicits this reaction, and what makes you think they're jealous of you?

The two counties you mention are reliant on tourism, they're very used to accommodating and helping, further more one has more people from all over Ireland living in it and loving than any other county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,905 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Some south Armagh people are very strange . I worked with one in New York and one Monday he was being nosy about what I did at the weekend . I told him , shaking my head , that I got my first and last blowjob . He sniggered why it’s the last one ? I told I was drinking and washing my mouth with brandy since and I still can’t get the taste out . He nearly puked . A good laugh 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,799 ✭✭✭BrianD3

LOL, that has been my experience also. Dogmatic and belligerent, I've never met a friendly one. I'm not sure what their problem is. Possibly related to Roscommon being a county with relatively poor land but without the upside of a coastline unlike many other counties with bad land. Their county town is one of the smallest and most miserable in Ireland. It riles them when people don't know that part of Athlone is in Co. Roscommon. Suffer from "small GAA county with past success" syndrome - last senior AI win 1944, last final 1980. Love celebrating Mayo's recent AI final losses whereas Mayo don't give a monkeys about them. Their most celebrated player in recent times, Frankie Dolan, is a grade A bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I seen an interview of liam nesson and he said he wasn't welcome in his own town of ballamena. I presume because it's mostly unionist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Duke of Schomberg

He should try visiting Bushmills for the eleventh night bonfire - I've got an English accent and my wife's a southern Protestant . . . I really did fear that we wouldn't make it out. Unless you're wearing a sash of some description North Antrim is fairly hostile to, or at the best "suspicious" of, people who aren't Ulster Scots.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Ballymena is a complete hellhole of deep anti-Catholic/ROI sectarian hatred.

The town is also very racist, xenophobic and homophobic. As someone who originally comes from the North and knows the place pretty well, I can tell you that there is nowhere in the Republic today as backward and claustrophobic as some places up North. It has to be seen to be believed.

The best thing that ever happened that place was its stretch of M2 bypass so that you can avoid the kip en route to the Causeway coast. Mid and South Antrim is a stronghold of loyalism in NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Armagh and antrim are majority unionist. Derry is the opposite. Iv met unionist people abroad and had a bit of Craic with them in bars. Ended up in a table quiz with a gang of them in Australia. On the other hand Iv found antrim to be a small bit hostile when iv been up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,060 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I dislike the reverse snobbery of country people have against town and city dwellers,, within their own county!

Likewise Gaeltacht people who look down on you like shít on their shoe if you can't speak Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

It was a piss take I forgot the emoji. I'm from Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dano650

Poor John doesn't like anything negative being mentioned about his beloved Dublin 😀