Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six Nations 2023 - Ireland v France Match Thread, Sat 11th Feb, KO 2:15PM - TV: RTÉ2, ITV, France2

• 09-02-2023 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Ireland v France, Kick-off at 2:15pm at the Aviva, Dublin.

Broadcasting: TV: RTÉ2, ITV1, France2, Online: RTÉ Player, ITVX, Radio: RTÉ Radio 1, BBC Radio 5 Live, BBC Radio Ulster.

Match Officials:

Referee: Wayne Barnes (RFU)

Assistant Referee 1: Matthew Carley (RFU)

Assistant Referee 2: Jordan Way (RA)

TMO: Brendon Pickerill (NZR)

Preview: Ireland will take on France in Round Two in what is being commonly regarded as this year’s title decider.

Ireland, the number 1 team in the World coming into this tournament haven’t beaten the number 2 team, France, in the Six Nations Championship since winning at home in the Aviva 26-14 in 2019.

Ireland are coming into this match after an away bonus point win in Cardiff, while France also won with a bonus point in Rome.

Teams:

Ireland

Furlong (calf), Gibson-Park (hamstring), Healy (hamstring) and Sheehan (hamstring) have all been ruled out; Salanoa, Blade, Milne and Stewart are in the squad as cover.

Kelleher trained this week and is fit to take a place on the bench.

Sexton has been deemed fully fit to start, after passing his HIA protocols and recovering from the dead leg which saw him removed during Round 1.

Despite being named to start, Murray has emerged as a doubt due to a personal issue.

I would like to dedicate a note of sympathy to the Murray family during this terribly difficult time for them.

Ireland squad (41 players)

Backs (18):

SH: Jamison-Gibson Park, Conor Murray, Craig Casey, Caolin Blade,

OH: Johnny Sexton (capt), Ross Byrne, Jack Crowley,

Centres: Stuart McCloskey, Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki, Jamie Osborne,

Back 3: Hugo Keenan, James Lowe, Mack Hansen, Jordan Larmour, Jimmy O'Brien, Keith Earls, Jacob Stockdale.

Forwards (23):

LHP: Andrew Porter, Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne, Michael Milne,

HK: Dan Sheehan, Rob Herring, Rónan Kelleher, Tom Stewart,

THP: Tadhg Furlong, Finlay Bealham, Tom O’Toole, Roman Salanoa,

Lock: Tadhg Beirne, James Ryan, Iain Henderson, Joe McCarthy,

Back Row: Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris, Peter O’Mahony, Jack Conan, Ryan Baird, Gavin Coombes, Cian Prendergast.

The Ireland team named to face France:

15. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps

14. Mack Hansen (Connacht/Corinthians) 10 caps

13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 48 caps

12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 10 caps

11. James Lowe (Leinster) 16 caps

10. Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 110 caps (c)

9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 101 caps

1. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 49 caps

2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 32 caps

3. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 28 caps

4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 37 caps

5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 49 caps

6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 90 caps

7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 46 caps

8. Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 24 caps

Replacements:

16. Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 18 caps

17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 49 caps

18. Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 5 caps

19. Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy) 69 caps

20. Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 34 caps

21. Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 8 caps

22. Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 15 caps

23. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 42 caps

The French Team named to face Ireland:

15-Thomas Ramos, 14-Damian Penaud, 13-Gael Fickou, 12-Yoram Moefana, 11-Ethan Dumortier, 10-Romain Ntamack, 9-Antoine Dupont (capt); 8-Gregory Alldritt, 7-Charles Ollivon, 6-Anthony Jelonch, 5-Paul Willemse, 4-Thibaud Flament, 3-Uini Atonio, 2-Julien Marchand, 1-Cyril Baille

Replacements: 16-Gaetan Barlot, 17-Reda Wardi, 18-Sipili Falatea, 19-Romain Taofifenua, 20-Francois Cros, 21-Sekou Macalou, 22-Baptiste Couilloud, 23-Matthieu Jalibert

France head coach Fabien Galthie on Thursday named the same starting team for this weekend's Six Nations trip to Ireland as the one that beat Italy in the opening round.

Les Bleus, the defending champions who are ranked second in the world, made changes to their bench for Saturday's visit to the side top of the standings.

Toulouse flanker Francois Cros comes in for La Rochelle lock Thomas Lavault and Lyon scrum-half Baptiste Couilloud replaces Racing 92's Nolan Le Garrec after the 29-24 win over Italy in Rome.

"We have gone with the same personnel due to the performance firstly, the victory with a bonus, therefore they achieved their target," he said.

"Coherence too as it is three weeks that we have worked with this group, and finally confidence because we have confidence in our players who for three years have progressed together, that's why there are no surprises in the starting XV nor in the replacements (finishers)".

Ireland Team Interviews:

Match Previews:

Come on Ireland! ☘️

Post edited by Jump_In_Jack on

I think the odds are going to shorted quite a bit if Sheehan and Murray are out.

I rate Herring, not massively concerned if he has to start albeit we lose out on Sheehan's dynamism. We lose impact and experience from the bench though and I think the final 30 will matter.

I also rate Casey - but this is going to be a massive step up. Similar situation as with Carbery last year who I thought had one of his best performances in green that day, but who also brought a lot more experience into the fixture.

Porter may end up having to do the 80 here against a brutal French pack.

It's remarkable that we've injuries to this extent and yet still have proven talent coming in. Depth like we've never had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

Kelleher will probably be on the bench if Herring starts so we'll at least have impact there. If we have Sheehan fit to play though I wouldnt worry about the other injuries.

It will be a massive step up for Casey but tbh I don't really mind who we play at 9 if Sexton is at 10 and if im honest I wanted Casey to get a start at some point this 6N so at least now he'll get that chance.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

I thought Casey brought a real authority with him back to Munster after the Autumn series. If he starts on Saturday hopefully he'll have a stormer as a threat from 9 rather than a feeder for Sexton would be optimal.

And if anything it could be the game that's the making of him. I know its a different level to test level but you dont keep Murray on the bench unless you have something about you at least.

I wouldn't read much into that. Murray has a year of rugby left before he leaves Munster and maybe the sport. Munster have to continuity plan - Ireland aren't thinking beyond the World cup.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I just can't call it, hoping home advantage means its ours, weather looking decent too so that shouldn't make it messy. Would love to see us come out firing again. Allez Les Verts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

IrishRugby TV: Inside Camp: Andy Farrell Team Announcement Press Conference

Off The Ball: How Ireland cope with 'favourites' tag, Doris or Alldritt | Alan Quinlan on France clash

Off The Ball Six Nations Show: (first 25 mins) Ireland v France early title showdown | Sheehan ruled out | Wales wield axe | THE SIX NATIONS SHOW

Eggchasers Rugby: IRELAND v FRANCE: SELECTION REACTION

Rugby Analyst: SELECTION REACTION | Ireland v France (from 3:42 onwards) | Scotland v Wales | 6 Nations 2023

Two Cents Rugby: Previewing Ireland v France - Six Nations 2023

Post edited by Jump_In_Jack on

I think we have way too many injuries to some key player’s to beat this French team.

France by 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭kuang1

Bookies have the spread at Ireland - 4 right now I see.

Think that's about right. Gone are the days when a French team "doesn't travel". They've definitely learned how to win on the road at club and international level.

I'm no longer a betting man, but my tip is for Murray to be MOTM @ 17/1.

If Ireland win, and he plays anyway well, you could see how Quinlan (or whomever) would award it it to him given the week that it's been for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Thinking out loud but are France the only Tier 1 team would haven't beaten under Farrell?

Jaysus I think I could do Alan Quinlan's job. Full of clichés and zero insight.

Andy Dunne, Gerry Thornley, BOD are easily the best journalists, afew other good ones but AQ sure as hell aint one of them.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Andy Dunne and Gerry Thornley were on OTB think it was Wednesday, was a good listen you'll get it on the pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I think BOD can be hit and miss, but I'd agree with the rest. Thornley occasionaly gets crtiticism, but I like him and he doesn't phone it in like some of the others.

Trimble as well can be good, and ROG is brilliant, his weekly call on OTB is excellent. For me, the best of the bunch is Jerry Flannery; I always learn something from him whenever he's on, he was brilliant again on co-comms last weekend.

• Thornley spends about two thirds of his time whinging about refs and the rest quoting pointless statistics. He's absolutely useless imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,088 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Derek McNamara has been putting out some good stuff recently too from an analysis POV

Let’s hope everybody is in their seat in plenty time. Irish support has been disgraceful at times in the Aviva.

There’s been occasions the National Anthems are being sung & thousand’s off empty seat’s around the place.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,568 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Never as bad as the gaa though... Where actual throw in times have had to be moved due to lazy drinking fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Serbian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Not as confident as I was against Wales.

I think we are a little underpowered with the absentees. Kelleher will have to make an impact. It's ideal preparation for the world cup though. Obvious, but the key here is to keep that French back moving. Similarly, we can't allow them to make a mess at ruck time.

At home or not, I expect France to beat us. I can stomach that as I think France are the best side in the world and my favourites for the World Cup.

However, anything less than three wins in the remaining fixtures is a disaster.

I'm not sure why you think you should be as confident about beating a team who are current grand slam champions and haven't lost a rugby game in over 18 months, compared to a team who, in that period, have lost against Italy, England and Georgia

It wouldn't at all make sense to be equally confident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

Talk about pedantic. I would have thought it was clear I was trying to say that I'm not confident we would win given who we were missing.

I obviously wasn't comparing the difficulty of opponents.

Not pedantic, your post included a comparison that didn't make sense.

But you've clarified it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

Got two tickets late on for West Stand, been a few years since I have been up to the Aviva for a 6 nations game.

Where would someone advise is best to go for a couple of drinks pre game, that wont be too jammed but has a bit of matchday atmosphere. Dont mind walking 15/20 mins from pub to ground.

Want to enjoy pre match drinks as not one for drinking during the game.

• Most places within 15 or 20 mins of the ground will be pretty busy before the game. Maybe Smyth's on Haddington Rd?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Think we'll beat them comfortably tomorrow as long as we play like we have been, and don't get a silly red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Geeta

Gee I don’t know, the 2, 6, 9, 10, 12 axis are aging compared to their French counterparts and 4,5 are significantly more light weight. That’s a significant amount of question marks over our team. I think if the French can sort out their tight game and minimise handling errors they could easily punch through us in close. Penaud is an enigma to me as are most French wingers, they either butcher their teams tries or score wonder tries. If they come to play and ask questions of us it could be close.

My heart would love that and I hope you're right!

Age really is just a number if the players are still performing at a high standard. I would be worried about, for example, Healy (isnt playing but again just an example) who's clearly feeling his years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Dickie10

hard to know ireland playing great stuff but lot of injuries to contend with, a galant defeat would be easy to take as we may learn a lot from it before a possible world cup quater final. ireland need to be able to shrug off a defeat tomorrow like england and france used to in 6 nations world cup years and keep learning and be primed for the world cup, not all blown out by the time october comes. a 1 to 8 point defeat you can do this, if France hit form early though and get in for a try or two in first 20 mins, we could get a bad doing 10-20 points easily. cant see sexton lasting to half time they will nail him time and again. Leaning towards France by 5, France 26 Ireland 21

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,950 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

There is no way France are “easily” beating us by 10-20 points.

All teams target sexton, I have no idea why in particular you would think he won’t make halftime in this game.

Sexton, and Ireland, will be delighted if France's game plan is mainly "nail sexton at every opportunity"... Because he's been playing teams for years who have been trying to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

If Ireland's game plan isn't to nail Dupont and Ntamack time and again, I'll be pretty disappointed.

Can't ignore the injuries and disruption at this point. I have France narrow favourites.

Just hope it’s a belter and we nip it, just can’t call it. Hopefully we aren’t talking about ref/tmo when it’s over. Heading in for it soon, wonder have many French travelled, they usually come in decent numbers.

I'm going to put this post down to pre-match jitters Venjur.

There'll always be injuries, there'll always be something going on in the background with some players personally.

I've every confidence in Murray himself and everyone involved in selecting him to start.(assuming that's what you're referring to.)

This Irish set up is a very cohesive unit. A brilliantly oiled machine that is fluid and highly adaptable to anything that challenges it.

We might not win today, that's true. It's a very bizarre scenario where we're playing a team who are undefeated in 18 months, yet are not number 1 in the world.

But that's coz we are.

And we fcuking earned it by beating everyone else out there.

Except these guys.

Until today that is 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭flatface

I think we are going to be more hungry today for the win. Home advantage is huge and France might settle for an away loss with the idea of proving themselves at home in the World Cup. Here’s me hoping anyway!

hopefully it’s a classic, could be high scoring on both sides. Confident but jittery.

Air of inevitability to an Irish win today the more I think about.

I'll say it again... Murray for MOTM at 17/1 is an overpriced bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Madeoface

The French are staying in a hotel opposite my job. Their front row boys are literal monsters....I thought Antonio would get stuck getting off the bus.

Ireland by 8....

Seems a lot of people agreed, Murray is 7/1 at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Yeah, I think it will be close but Ireland will win by 3

Christ that's some shortening! At 12.15 yesterday he was 17/1 on paddy power.

Edit: he's as short as 5/1 in places now too.

No value anymore in those odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,219 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Jamie Heaslip auditioning for a remake of Bullitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Ciaran

It certainly sounds like there are plenty of French at the game from the background sound on the TV.

Yeah I’m stadium now, big number here, hope we are loud and drown them out. Love their anthem though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Genuinely winds me up seeing Bundee, Lowe and Hansen singing Amhran na bhFiann (or at least trying in Aki's case), but yet the Ulster lads can't be bothered their arses.

I know it shouldn't, and I'm fully aware of the island's history, but it just does.

Anyway, come on Ireland!