Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

Simple to use freesat for elderly lady

  • 01-02-2023 4:33pm
    #1
    Registered Users Posts: 13


    As it title says, my grandmother is turning 90 and her current box is on the blink but has been a terrible solution since it was installed.

    Current box has a terrible interface and is complicated to use.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for a box that is very simple to use and has Rte etc and also the free UK channels. There is already a satellite in place.

    I don't mind doing setup or whatever but I don't live very near to her so it's important that it work well as she lives on her own.

    I don't really have a budget so long as I can get something working for her.

    Any help is greatly appreciated as I don't want to get this wrong.



Comments

  • Registered Users Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭leex


    If budget isnt an issue, I can highly recommend the LG TVs with Freesat built in. You can set up shortcuts on the 1-8 keys - e.g. hold 1 to goto RTE1 and then school up/down through channels and hold 2 for BBC1 etc and scroll up and down through UK channels. My elderly parents have a set up like this and it is very user friendly.

    There are some combined Saorview and UK tv channel boxes that show all in same menu. Would be an option also. I havent used any of these in a while so others on here could advise on what latest models are.

    43 inch 4k versions appear to be 430-450eur currently in a lot of places. I picked up one of these in a Jan sale in a Euronics store for 359eur. I see they have some listed at 399eur. Check specs that whatever you buy has Freesat.



  • Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭POBox19


    I concur with leex.

    I've got an LG tv with Saorview and Freesat built in, connected to both an aerial and satellite dish. Very easy to use one remote and no boxes under the telly.



  • Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭decor58


    The Walker, Toshiba, Nordmende tv's have all the channels on one list, no switching between sources, down side is only now and next on epg, no auto updates, unlike the LG but then no switching.



  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer


    I think the box would be best as from what I am reading about the LG TV solution is that you have to switch between Freesat and Saorview rather than one menu and I think this will cause too much confusion. Are there any boxes you would reccommend?



  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer


    I don't think she will use the TV guide on them so that wouldn't be an issue. She still uses a magazine for the guide!



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer




  • Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭The Cush


    +1 for the Walker TVs. All channels on a single list. Channel list updateable via USB.

    We have 3 here, replaced a 12 year old Lidl Silvercrest with a Walker TV just before Christmas.

    Elderly neighbours have one also, I keep their channel list updated via USB.

    No messing around with remotes and boxes.



  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer


    Sounds good, thanks. But excuse me for my ignorance but what is updating by USB?



  • Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭munsterfan2


    +1 for the walker, got it for in laws a few years ago



  • Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭The Cush


    The satellite section of the TV isn't Freesat, it has a free to air tuner, meaning satellite channels are stored as found in a random order.

    It can take time to arrange them to suit your requirements or in the case of these TVs channel lists can be shared with others via USB.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭The Cush


    That reminds me, on initial install the Walker TV comes with a pre-installed satellite list but by the time you install it can be slightly out of date.



  • Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭decor58


    Yes, like as has been said a list can be downloaded during installation or tuned manually. Initially putting the channels in order can take a bit of time, changes will have to be made at times. Ironically ITV made changes around Halloween and BBC are making changes at the moment, but the main channels don't tent to move too much. The channels can be edited too, so if you wish you need only put up the main channels, RTE, VM, TG4, BBC ITV, C4 , in which case changes should be minimal.




  • Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Slightly Kwackers


    I wasn't impressed with my LG having had them exclusively in my UK and Irish homes for the last fifteen + years.

    My main grouse was no text, in itself a reason not to buy the last LG a few months back, but it was compounded by useless and technically incorrect/ ignorant customer service.

    While the LG is freesat, the clutter is unbelievable. It has the EPG, but if you can do without, buy a Walker with LNB from Soundstore.


    The LG was adorned with features that I think are pretty useless, but it has bluetooth allowing external speakers and a keyboard to function without cables, the Walker does not.

    The only other gripe about the Walker is the media player does not recall where you left off when watching a recorded program.


    That apart, just program the wanted channels as favourites. I think there are four separate "collections" available.


    I saved quite a bit buying the Walker and will be perfectly happy to use this as the "standard" brand.


    I have used many boxes to receive satellite and terrestrial TV, none are easy to use. The simplest setup was actually a proper approved English "Freesat" box connected to a terrestrial TV.

    I would say that of all the "Freesat" boxes sold, about half if that are actually Freesat.

    The Freesat website should indicate the makes approved.



  • Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan


    I would also recomend a Walker or Nordmende tv for your grandmother. and once the tv is setup ro receive all the saorview and FTA UK channels then id consider buying her one of these simply big button remotes and putting the origional tv remote away in a drawer or press.

    Also if you buy either of the TVs and want an upto date UK channel list just pop me a pm with your email address and ill send you on one.


    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/392223882949?var=0&norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=5282-166454-587998-0&mkcid=2&mkscid=101&itemid=v1%7C392223882949%7C0&targetid=1903890147499&device=c&mktype=pla&googleloc=20497&poi=&campaignid=19108018707&mkgroupid=144089090316&rlsatarget=pla-1903890147499&abcId=&merchantid=697657129&gclid=CjwKCAiAuOieBhAIEiwAgjCvcnpRdRjwv98n2jDhTeRnAh2x05zYUg6Po5t20Y87UWyDeclJGUAj-BoC5BoQAvD_BwE



  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer


    Ya, I think this is what would work best. That list of channels is literally all she uses!



  • Registered Users Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken


    Ii m in the same boat with elderly parents. Had bought a hybrid box so I could have all UK and Saorview channels on one list but thinking now might be best to upgrade Their TV to one with Saorview and buy a proper Freesat box that will automatically update when frequencies change.



  • Registered Users Posts: 7,809 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf


    I have an LG tv with freesat built in. I previously had Saorview Connect and Freesat boxes but it was a pain having to switch between them and having 2 or more remotes.

    The LG tv is brilliant. Plug your tv rte aerial in and your satellite feed into the other slot and you then can quickly switch between both. There are threads on here on how to do it. Do a google search for boards.ie LG tv freesat.

    Plus with freesat all updates are done for you. Believe me it is a pain to be updating channel frequencies when they are changed around.

    All the apps are on the LG tv as well. Rte player, iplayer, netflix, prime, etc. My tv doesn't have the tg4 player as it is an older tv but the latest LG tvs do have it.

    There is a 32" LG on amazon for around 200eur.



  • Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭decor58


    We are probably all the same, a list of 100 channels and use 10 or 12, nice to have choice but do we use them.



  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer


    I have decided to go with the Walker TV. Picking it up from Soundstore this evening. Thanks for all the help!



  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm


    I have a Sony Bravia Saorview and Sat tuners but still use use a Zgemma H7S for viewing and recording for 7 days ahead.

    Now and next pissed me off big time.



  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 13 Nihaondaer


    I'd be the same if it was for me but my gran is never going to look at the guide



  • Registered Users Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken


    Ordered a Manhattan SX for the mother as backup for the enigma box, handy it has got AV out for Scart as well as it will work with her old Panasonic Plasma



  • Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭greasepalm




  • Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭spaceHopper


    I have an Edision PICCOLLO Combo Box from https://www.freetv.ie/combo-box/

    It's OK to set up you can scroll up and down the channels. You could also export the channel list to a USB drive and deleter all the ones she'l never watch 


    But for ease of use the LG tv is the way to go.



Advertisement