Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Netflix - Full Swing

• 11-01-2023 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭

Made by the creators of Drive to Survive. I wonder will it have the same impact in popularity for golf that Drive to Survive has had for F1.

Does anyone know if this covers last year, i.e. with LIV or it is covering the previous years tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

It's covering last year, so including all the LIV drama. Really looking forward to it. Should be epic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Will be a whole heap of molly-coddling and everyone being happy and rosey. The ads don’t particularly tease any drama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Motivator

i read online a few weeks back that some of those that have gone to LIV aren’t too happy with some of the stuff reported to be in it. I didn’t think Poulter could be any more unlikeable but watching his pompous, smirky face in one of the ads makes me dread this a little bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭token56

I'm not so sure. Going by Drive to Survive the creators like to put forward certain narratives to create some drama. I'm sure some golfers won't be particularly happy with how they will portrayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Salvadoor

Netflix do very good sports documentaries; Drive to Survive & Last Chance U (Football & Basketball) so this should be great viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭OEP

I'm sure they'll make it to be very good viewing, as they have a track record - but it will be a mostly manufactured narrative, so it will be more fiction than documentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Kinda feel the same about it - Based on the snippets here, it all seems very self-serving, just like a media side-gig for the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭coillcam

Mostly looking forward to seeing the liv lads and how they're portrayed. Poulter's brief piece on the trailer really sets him up for failure. It would have been tough to get a better year for the widespread drama to be put on film. It's 100% PGA Tour peddled propaganda but it'll still be going to be watchable, no more than Drive To Survive is F1 propaganda.

I'm more interested in the lower-profile players than Rory tbh. Dahmen was a journeyman who's good craic and is now a tour regular. Theegala and Young burst onto the scene, both very exciting to watch. Fitz and Finau are softly spoken, gents neither short on talent. Pereira is the odd one out for me, but nonetheless curious to hear more of his background and the PGA c'ship lead he blew.

Hopefully, there's a wider group of players appearing regularly and it'd be nice to see a bit of insight into the background teams (caddies, coaches, agents etc).

Yeah I think Pereira was micd up for the weekend of the PGA specifically for this series so that will be one of the most interested sequences of the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭benny79

I personally cant wait for this think it will be epic! Poulter loves social media So I reckon he loves himself so hope hes make a show off! Tiger slates him a bit in Hank Hanely's book which I found interesting.. Sure Verstappen wasn't happy about how he was pro traded in Drive to Survive and he is F1's golden boy! So I'm sure this will be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Drive To Survive turned out to be Kardashians for blokes with scripted storylines for drama.

There was probably enough drama last year in golf to hopefully avoid that, time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,832 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Should be great fun watching and listening to Poulter. He's some craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭IHateNewShoes

As a very casual / uninformed F1 fan i really enjoyed drive to survive. I do remember F1 fanatics at the time giving out about it. Think it might be similar for the golf with the shoe on the other foot but I'm still looking forward to it. Anything with some behind the scenes access should be interesting.

On a side note, the YouTube video the No laying up lads did with Spieth and Thomas was excellent!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭Trampas

Drive to survive is more suited for the f1 fan who’s not following it closely. Cameras just happen to be there when someone gets a contract with another team in the back of a paddock. Lot of it is staged. Commentary on races updated to suit the programme. I guess this will be similar

I like the last chance u stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭munster87

When is this released? Started watching the tennis one yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,827 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

15th Feb I think

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Just out, Season 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I'm hoping it is good....but maybe the other ones were good as we knew limited amounts about the sports.

Might be different when you literally know everything about the sport...

The LIV stuff could be a nice angle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭blue note

Is there a rule about spoilers here?

Given its based on year old golf, guess there wouldn't be any major spoilers that would give anything away.

WFH on Friday, so might throw it on and have a look then 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Break80

Watched 3 episodes last night.

Thought Poulter came across very honest with his decision to join LIV and the life he has.

One question though, Do they own or charter the private jets the all seem to travel by?

One scene had Poulter travelling from Florida to The UK with his family on a private jet.

Wonder what the cost of that would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭CSWS101

Thought the complete opposite of Poulter, "playing for free doesn't float my boat" complaining about not making money and missing cuts then takes his PJ across the Atlantic. Woefully out of touch with reality, just looking to add a few more ferraris to his collection without any consideration of where the money is coming from. The press conference clip where he refuses to answer the question if he would play in a tournament hosted by Putin. Just say no Ian ffs

Edited: he's sponsored by netjets so would imagine he gets a deal from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Watched episode 1 and 2 last night. Really liked it. Very well shot, edited, paced well. Not watching much at the moment. So I'll probably pick up another episode every night or two till done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Its a load of tripe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

the jets would all be chartered (net jets or similar) very very few of them could actually afford to own and run one i wouldnt have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭finglashoop

On episode 7

Non golf or casual fans wont like it i dont think.

Joel Dahmen episode was best of a poor poor bunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Yeah. They usually buy a number of hours from the company. Average cost would be about $5k an hour.

Very good for what it is - isn't targeted at golf fans fully.

The better stories are probably the mid table guys - who seem more normal. Likes of poulter and Brooks going around their Bat Caves and Walk in wardrobes - and feeling sorry for themselves is a bit sad. They were at least honest about their situations that they are not very good at present.

Good to see that for all the money etc - you could see they did fear the idea of obscurity and out of majors and Ryder cups that could potentially be the end point of LIV.

Lovely footage and unusual angles on the golf. All these things are a bit scripted and edited to death - a real fly on the wall would have been class for us. But it is lots of fake and manufactured situations and to a degree personalities.

But look - it is golf content and some insights to their sick wealth and outrageous lifestyles - don't think Greta Thurnberg would be impressed. Are golfer under any obligation to consider the planet - like we are, in our day to day lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Break80

Can't click on a quote and bring up the keyboard on my phone for some reason.

Makes sense re.my question about private jets. The cost of owning and running one of those would be out of reach of most pro golfers I would think.

Net jets sponsors a lot of them so they get free private jets courtesy cars etc Mainly the big names lower lads dont obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,813 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

They buy hours, or get free hours as part of their sponsorship deals, I suppose.

Really interesting company imo. An old but good article on them if anyone's interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭blue note

The Thomas / speith episode was a dull start, but the next 3 were decent. I liked the brooks one a lot. He really seemed to be mourning his game. Makes it all the sadder that he went to Liv. Did he just crack and give up on trying to get back to the top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Watched the first two eps last night. Fairly mundane so far but as a golf fan I enjoyed them.

Brooks seems like a fairly pathetic person. Although I've always disliked him so I'm fairly biased.

Some people might watch it and think it shows his humanity etc but all I saw was a bellend with zero awareness of his situation.

I loved both episodes I watched so far!

The Dahmen episode is the one lads. The rest don't live up to it but also enjoyed Finau/Fitz/Pereira/Theegala.

I like Rory but I didn't get anything extra from his episode, it's kinda set up to make him look like their own marvel hero "Captain PGA". I get the feeling that some of the better stuff for the whole series was left on the cutting floor. The final product looked slightly homogenized for a more general audience but I still really enjoyed it.

Koepka comes across almost as scared that his time is over. He feels like he's lost "it" and is chasing it but doesn't believe it'll come back. Seems like a real lone wolf type character.

Gino and Joel are quite the team. Great to have Gino get some screen time, he's a very funny character on Twitter and in interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭phelimb

I watched the first episode tonight and it was only OK. Defo not as good as the F1 Drive to Survive. Hopefully there will be more footage of what happens off the course. But I'll keep watching - as a golf fan it's still interesting...

Problem is that the golf season isn't like the F1 season so it doesn't really build up in the same way.

Watched 4 episodes, the Dahmen one is comfortably the best so far alright.

Hard to see significant appeal to average Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I watched until the staged phone call between Spieth and Thomas talking about one of their weddings and couldn't continue after that.

I've watched the first two episodes. As a golfer and golf fan I like seeing the behind the scenes footage as such. I enjoyed the 2nd episode as it followed both Brooks and the rise of Scottie to No.1.

You can see why Brooks decided to go to LIV. He clearly had lost his confidence admitting that he couldn't keep up with the pack, why wouldn't he take the big pay check in the end.

I love Drive to Survive, even though I'm not a F1 fan. You will never replicate that with Golf so no point trying to compare both.

What this has shown, a proper behind the scenes show , interacting with lesser golfers , caddies, logistics, coaches would be brilliant for golfers ...Netflix ultimately provides massive production capabilities...but are wrong crowd to provide a show for golfers.

Not sure these days who makes the type of documentary I'm talking about.

It just seems to be random pod casts and you tubers that have filled the golf space ..and they don't exactly make proper documentaries.

I still enjoyed it , as golf content produced at such high quality is rare enough (unless specifically about a major )

In olden days there would be spoiler tags as episodes were weekly, with Netflix they dumped all the episodes at once so if you come on here it's quite likely you will read about the entire series

Watched the first episode, bit of a love in and soft opening but liked the background side of things.

I would assume LIV and Tiger will be the biggies, will watch some more over the weekend while soon loons I know are off battling a golf course with 4 bits of metal

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,199 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Poulter comes across as a David Brent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,813 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It was a struggle to keep with it for me tbh. Slightly interesting but it's all a bit obvious.

I was really looking forward to this series and I was expecting a lot from it but it’s total rubbish. Absolutely no insight into anything of any interest, Joel Dahmen and Sahith Theegala aside, and it was a total let down. The fake commentary from Ewan Murray was stupid as well, it just seemed off altogether.

It could have been brilliant, but it was a total let down. Unless I missed something, there was zero controversy and absolutely nothing “explosive” as it was advertised as being. 6 of the 8 episodes were extremely boring. I was expecting a very good episode on Pereira and the PGA meltdown but it was just a bit part in the episode where they profiled him.

I wouldn't have had any real opinion either way prior to the show. There's a whiff of entitlement off him. He doesn't come across well. Although you can see the competitor in him, very steely and stubborn. However he was definitely struggling with accepting his peak is well passed. Ultimately in accepting the liv deal he concedes that his best days are over.

Funny to compare to DJ. He's so plain and straight up. He really DGAF and has that vibe of they gave me that big fat check dawg, no brainer right? DJ is simply boring DJ and you can't really frame him a narrative around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,070 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

You'd swear judging by tweets by Dan Rapaport and Kyle Porter that this was a once-in-a-generation quality show