Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running a brothel in West End Village?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Allinall

I presume they did notice, hence the court cases and convictions.

Not sure what an area being rough or not has to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You'd think a load of women lounging around in pajamas or nightwear at all hours of the day might have aroused suspicion?

Oh, sorry, Blanchardstown you say? Ignore the above so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Nobody notices anything in Dublin unless actual gunshots be fired, and even when that's happening nobody will notice it either.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭gipi

The Blanchardstown article dates from 2012, the other is from 2019.

Not exactly current news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭tinytobe

I did some google searches. Apparently running a brothel in an apartment complex isn't that uncommon:

How bad have things turned in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

You can guarantee in every apartment complex that's privately owned and let out you will find either brothels or escorts working from apartments,it's hardly new ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Brothels have existed for the entirety of time

They've existed in Dublin for as long as Dublin has existed. The same for any decent sized city

Nothing has “turned” in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Prospective apartment purchaser seeking information?

interesting.

If one googles for "brothel apartment dublin" one get's quite some entries.

I was not aware of such practices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Where have you been hiding in the last 25 years,

A monestery?

Herbertstrasse in Hamburg. It's offical there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Call it a Massage Parlour. Perfectly legal.

it all depends what part of the body one is massaging.

Apparently, in Ireland it's all illegal, thus it's happening more in private apartments and residencies.

In Germany it's more officially licensed, thus no need to hide it. They've got official buildings for that, called a Laufhaus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I hope this thread has a happy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

Instead of regulating and taxing it we make it illegal to buy, backwards we're going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,042 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Cmon OP. You didnt just stumble upon these articles. What were you looking for 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You can sell your body for sex. Not operate a brothel from your home.

Presumably something to do with bodily autonomy. All a bit ass over tit.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/criminal_law/criminal_offences/the_law_on_buying_and_selling_sex.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

A line of business that has always existed and which will always exist. Criminalising is the worst thing that could have been done about it.

You can get laid for money anywhere if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

I’ve often noticed a lot of apartment windows in the inner city have a white porcelain statue of a reclining lady and wondered is it a subtle way of advertising their services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,042 ✭✭✭Gusser09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

My curiosity got the better of me, I wish I hadn’t bothered.

https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/lady-on-the-rock-dublin-statue.amp

• This is non news there are brothels all over the place. Some of ye are very naive. It should be fully legalized and regulated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Not just Dublin. Every town and city.

After all it's the oldest business in the world, besides espionage.

What is new to me and what I've never thought about is that it spreads into apartment complexes.

In Germany for instance it's legal and regulated, as long as it's within the set guidelines. Thus running a brothel in a private apartment is more than rare, but instead you find officially licensed buildings somewhere in the outskirts of towns where there are no residential neighbours to complain, or in certain designated places in the inner cities. St. Pauli in Hamburg or the Herbertstrasse the most famous of them.

And yes, as a neighbour or an owner of an apartment it would bother me very much if the apartment next door was used as a brothel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Isn't it weird how its illegal here but in Germany (a modern well run country) and other some other European Countries its all legit.

In Germany it isn't legal everywhere, but only in certain areas and under certain conditions.

I am not exactly sure, but I think in Germany it's also taxable and there are contributions to the health care system to be paid. The fact that this is strictly regulated also puts an end to human trafficking issues, which are mostly taking place in countries where it's illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭harmless

I suspect that in one of my old apartments the apartment on the top floor may have been a brothel. Young foreign women lived there and it was only ever older Irish men I would see press the buzzer. The men always looked and sounded nervous when speaking to gain access.

Never even consider reporting them. I'd say they had the apartment well sound proofed, never any noise or trouble. It was only the law abiding residents I ever had any issue with. It even meant I had an extra parking space as the women did not seem to own a car and did not complain when I used there space.

In short, a brothel is far less annoying than the average neighbor. And will do everything they can to be considerate so the Garda are never called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Still more legal than here. I wonder are the Church behind the reason its illegal here.

Imagine being caught and up in court for it. 🤦‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Criminalising it is the worst idea ever. You’ll always have a black market by default but it makes perfect sense to legalise the regular business side. As I said, the services will be used no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,548 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Ruhama, an organisation established by nuns are behind the current law here.

The article is a waste of time but the comments are definitely worth a read:

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,306 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

Strange how an order of nuns who ran homes where children were stolen and killed, women abused and left to die and buried in mass grave still remain so influential in modern Irish life, they should be disbanded and stripped of all assets the cowardly cnuts

That's probably another thing. If there are no drugs involved, no pimps muscling in, no violence and no noise it'll probably go unnoticed. From a legal perspective it's probably hard to prove as well. Old men coming and going, looking nervous isn't going to go anywhere in a court of law....

Also, if you're single and living there it's also another perspective. But would you tolerate a brothel and drugs and human trafficking as well as pimps if you lived there with your wife and 2 kinds? I doubt that very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭rolling boh

The thing that often surprises me are the number of people using them is it that difficult for guys to find a woman in this day and age .Sometimes when one is busted the money being brought in is huge really .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

You would think so, but it certainly does not eliminate the threat of human trafficking. In Gemany the profession is highly regulated but this also throws up an awful lot of fringe activity from non legitimised sex workers.

For example the much discussed Reeperbahn or St Paulli in Hamburg. The area is great for legitimate workers and clients alike. However there exists a treacherous and seedy fall out. Many Eastern European or African workers who are not yet turned 18 are easily obtainable on the street in nearby unregulated areas. Not just the local parks, but right outside the Poilizei station in St Paulli, you will find literally hundreds of underage workers getting picked up in cars or more commonly taxi's, it is phucking disgusting all said. Underage workers as young as 15/16, no exaggeration here either. These girls (generally girls, there are teenage boys also working in other areas, I am not sure on the legality here, less prevalent than the girls on what I witnessed, but I can only imagine what is available ).

The reality is that girls in their late teens ( ie , under 18 ) are forbidden from working in regulated regions or brothels, they are not fazed by this and can make seriously good money working illegally. Nasty enough all said. I have always found it obscene that it happens outside the Polizei station, but the reality is that this is their safest option, god only knows what happens down the street?

I have no issue with anyone working in the industry, or anyone availing of services, what odds all said? But don't be fooled by the transparency of countries such as Germany or the Netherlands, there is some seriously murky stuff going on despite it being generally legitimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

Social media. And womens natural climby preferences. Its a whole thing, the recent change in distribution. I'd only get called an incel if I went into the mechanics of it. But yeah its real from what I can tell.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

Social media isn’t to blame for prostitution ffs. They don’t call it the oldest profession for nothing…

Ive heard it called the 2nd oldest, after marketing. Think about it.

Anyway social media being the cause of prostitution wasn't the contention. Rather its been blamed for the increased number of bachelors.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

We’’re talking about prostitution here though. The idea it’s only a thing used by bachelors is ridiculous

I would imagine as many married or partnered men are using/visiting workers as there would be bachelors or men who are happier being single. Many workers are heavily reliant on regular clients who are happy to come back time after time.

Far easier for a married man and certainly more discreet to pay a worker than to risk his marriage being compromised by a genuine partner who could develop notions about where the relationship is going. He also gets to walk away whenever he likes, not always possible in a genuine affair.

I would imagine these are the type of cosy relationships that have the buzz killers up in Ruhama seething and screaming. It does not fit well into their agenda, at all. They don't like the fact that the industry is in 99% of all cases a very bonafide, transactional and carried out between consenting adults. It really does not suit their agenda that workers are forced illegal immigrants, possible victims of human traffciking forced to work in deprived areas....the reality is that Ireland is flooded with attractive workers who are more than happy to avail of the high rates they are getting paid whilst not having to adhere to stricter legislative regimes on the continent.

For example, workers benefit from working under current legislation insofar as they do not have to perform mandatory STD checks when operating in Ireland. This is a handy saving for workers, also contributes to the spread of STD's throughout the country and is indicative of how current legislation is only window dressing championed by a group of disgruntled overly moralized groups of women who have literally no edge or fight in the game, at all? Apart from the now perennial introduction of their latest " victim", who they convince to parade to all and sundry as being the very reason for their existence.

It is very sad that workers' based in Ireland only legislative group, that is in direct consultation with government, is actually only existing to enable the extinction of their profession? The hypocrisy on display is entirely nauseating as always the victims are workers. Ruhama does nothing to really help workers, it is very dysfunctional.

"The thing that often surprises me are the number of people using them is it that difficult for guys to find a woman"

Thats referring to men not in relationships, i.e. bachelors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Fair enough just would have thought with all the apps now hook ups would be easier .I understand some guys lack confidence or maybe the social skills to get someone just the number surprises me a little .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

In our medium sized market town in Tipperary a father/daughter combo run a small prostitution business.

They were, in the beginning, into casual money lending, then a desperate young woman who couldn’t keep up to her repayments offered to have sex with the father to pay off her debt.

He wasn’t interested but it got him thinking.

Soon he and the daughter were pimping out all the young vulnerable women who owed them money.

They have nowhere to house these girls so they just directed them to various cars in various car parks.

The “John” pays the girl, then she gives the money to Tommy, who then takes his cut as the enforcer, and gives the rest to Mary Ellen.

If you, the victim, make arrangements to meet that man for more “fun” yourself, and you don’t tell Tommy or Mary Ellen, you’ll be in trouble.

Mary Ellen’s own 14 year old daughter took her own life a number of years ago which would make you wonder.

Yeah, culchie's do anything for a ride these days......

Desperate to see Tipp teenagers struggling for pocket money.

Very sad indeed.

Tommy and Mary foooking thing up bigsthyle, giving the game in Tipp an awful name. Those teenage money lending rackets, a scurge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 studefromtrinners

There was one in a town near me and my friend had an apartment there. I used to call up to him after a few hours fishing on the river right opposite the apartment and we'd both be looking out the window and the shenanigans going on.

Car's doing loops, guy's standing there obviously looking for the apartment , stopping and starting the car's. It's started to turn into a sitcom in our own warped mindsets. Timing how long it would take the guy to do the business. Then we'd be looking at his walk, shameful or brazen.... Oh he doesn't give a toss, oh he's definitely regretting it. Another guy would have a hop skip and a jump like walk after, another would look like he was contemplating the river.

We knew a few , but we'd never judge them or think he's this that or another. We were just being chaps having a larf and it was like a few hours at the races. We could drink tea and look out the window.

The odd couple would pull up too and do the walk to the apartment. In comparison to lone men, the couple would be giggling and laughing back to the car.

Eventually there was a raid and it was all over the news papers.

Now and again we'd say remember back in the 00's we'd be watching the craic going on outside.

Looking back it was just two bored, loveless guys in their late 20's watching the world going by . Camera phones weren't really a thing back then, we swore to each other if we knew anyone pulling up we'd never tell a soul. And sure that was a long time ago now.

My friend who's very flamboyant, he'd be doing the commentary . Oh look he's about to, definitely married, oh he's a regular. He's definitely going to bail out, look at this lad definitely a school teacher, librarian, a tradesman, accountant....

Those were funny time's. As we were both not into women we had some laughs. The Celtic tiger was definitely a time for anything went.

Thanks for your post, it was an interesting insight.

Apart from two illegal brothels at Westend Village there seem to be some other dodgy and even dangerous characters frequenting the area, or at least having lived there as well:

Urinating in the hallway is an interesting one:

Somebody making threats with a knife lived there:

Robbery of a Mc Donald's and having an address at Westend Village:

Causing harm and injury to others, also seems to have an address at Westend Village:

I honestly didn't think that this apartment complex had these kind of residents all in trouble with the law.

Post edited by tinytobe on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 studefromtrinners

You'll get dangerous people everywhere, I remember a story of two farmers at logger heads.

One guy produced a tungsten katana, a samurai sword for those who don't know what a katana is. And chased the other off his land.

You'll hear about it more in urban areas,as for rural madness it's less on the mainstream media. Rural people have more shocking stories by far than urbanites.

Rural people tend to defuse it before it hits the headlines. Or bury it until it becomes folklore.

That's the difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Too many shadows, whispering voices

Faces on posters, too many choices

If, when, why, what? How much have you got?

Have you got it, do you get it

If so, how often?

Which do you choose

A hard or soft option?

🙈🙉🙊