Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plans for 2023?

• 31-12-2022 4:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭

Given that you may well be looking at this in 7hrs time,

anyone got any interesting cycling plans/ambitions/goals for 2023?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

I have some very uninteresting plans...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I'm going ol-man racin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I'm trying to remember what my plans for 2022 were.

For 2023 my main aim is to be out on the bike every week at the club ride, twice in spring and summer if possible. I'll try to hit 5000km for the first time. I've hit 4000 or so for three years running but I always seem to have a bit of a break around summer (typically take long holidays in non cycling friendly places) and also run out of steam around this time of year. This year really fizzled out in the autumn due to life.

I'll try to have a few milestones spread throughout the year that I know I will need to be in good shape for - probably Flanders or Liège in the spring and something else in summer. I'd also like to do one of the longer 100km+ gravel events.

Finally - want to have a serious attempt at a Zwift race by the end of January.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

My 2022 was poor cycle wise. Busy work, new baby to go along with 2 other young kids.

Time to re focus. I’ve singed up to the Wicklow 200. I’m a cheap bastard so since I paid for it I’ll do it (and train for it). MARK.MY.WORDS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Aims for 2023

Top 5 in an A3 race is a major aim this year & achieveable.

Continue with strength training as I’m old & need it for many reasons.

Get to a long standing goal weight of 92-95kgs ( current 100kgs).

Find someone on a similar plan that I can do long spins with (3-4hrs) at weekends.

Explore new roads & routes.

Just shy of 9,000 km for 2022, my best yet after taking up cycling about three years ago. Felt I improved a lot this year but didn't have the time to race or even do many sportives as we had a new baby in March to add to the other two small children at home. Nearly 43 so feel if I don't get racing this year it'll never happen so the plan for the year ahead are as follows:

1. Join a club
    2. Race A4
    3. Stay at or improve on 4w/kg
    4. Follow the plan
    5. Do some strength work
    6. Get a bike fit to help sort niggles
    7. Hide when OH hears of my plans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Just get out and cycle more

More structure during the week

Longer cycles at weekend

Doing events/races that suit me and I know I'll enjoy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Finished 2022 40km shy of what I thought was going to be an easily achievable 6k goal, but I only got out once in December; due to a combination of work, the cold snap and that blasted cold doing the rounds. No specific goals for next year yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

targeted 4k for the year and finished 200km short due to the crap weather in Nov and Dec, I was well ahead of target before that.

I did a 200km audax last year so will try and do one or two more this year and a few sportives.

I did some club races last year for the first time and really enjoyed it, so will try to do a few more this year (the series clashes with when we go on hols so I end up being away for some of them unfortunately).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

one of the things i have as a possible plan this year is to see if i can get a secondhand brompton for my wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

No set plans for the year, but as I only managed a third of what I've done the previous 3 years, I'll definitely need to get out more. Moving and renovating a house took a lot of time last year and I've yet to go out with the new club I joined due to work / icy conditions so that should change soon. Cant commute to work now, due to the distance but I'm planning to do it at least once or twice in the summer depending on how my shift pans out. Long term plans to buy / build a Ti winter bike but can't really make a decision on what way to go yet (disc / rim or Di2 / mechanical). I'm sure life will interrupt that plan but I've started saving...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

My main goal is the same every year which is to stay upright on the bike and not come off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭dakar

This. But need to actually get on the bike first…

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I had a few key goals I set for 2022 and managed to complete them:

• Manage to complete 12,000km with over 87,000m of climbing
    • New bike - Orro Venturi STC Airbeat with Ultegra Di2
    • Cycle abroad - managed club trip to Girona and family holiday in the Cevennes
    • Beat my previous high score of 161kms to reach 177km

As it was my third year of cycling "properly", I'm happy with how I did.

For 2023, I'd like to be able to hit 15,000kms and 100,000m. If I manage to get abroad again, I'll be very happy but currently have no plans for it.

I also want to hit the 200km milestone (I've a feeling that this was a goal set for 2022).

One new item that my arm is being easily twisted towards is to take part in a four-person team entry for the Mondello 24hr race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

I'm going to do the solo Mondello24 this year, I did the 2 person team event with my daughter last year so it seems the logical progression...

The only problem is I've done a solo 24 before and I know what's involved.

I'll take in a 300 ultra in mayo that I missed last year due to illness on the way plus maybe a few Audax events.

I'd love to go back to the Lalelander Gravel Grinder again this year as well as take in a few other similar events along the way

Will try and work in a small bit of touring as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

The team events at Mondello 24 are great sport and there's a place for everyone from the full on racers to the charity teams just putting in the laps, it's a great event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Gorteen

A small group leisurely cycle from Lisbon to Faro in April. Bringing our bikes with us and staying in B&B / cheap hotels along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

105 Di2 disc seems to be getting discounted in some places to close to 1200 so that is tempting for a new build. Although 105 R7000 for close to 600 is perfect for a winter build too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

That looks like a great trip. I might do something similar. How long will you expect it to take and are you bringing your own bikes?

Our first day is in Sintra, before we start out journey. Any tips on things to do in Sintra?

We're planning for 3 days cycling followed by a "day off" near the beach and then a final 3 days cycling. Bringing our own bikes. We brought bikes in April 2022 to Porto for the Camino and it was very straightforward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭hesker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭8valve

If we make it to France with the camper this year, I'd love to give Ventoux a go.

Or alpe d'huez.

Something iconic; just to say ''Ah yea, i've done that...''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

Get my FTP back up by the 60 watts I've lost since July due to long COVID and worry about racing then. At the minute there's zero light at the end of the tunnel so this could be a slow burner 🙈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Goals for 2023:

• Get a new road bike, and maybe a 2nd hand gravel bike
    • Do either of the Wicklow/Evil 200's
    • Do more lengthy mountain spins through Wicklow in preparation for L'Etape du Tour
    • Finish L'Etape du Tour in reasonable time/condition
    • Do more sportives/events ROK, Beara tour etc.
    • Go cycling when abroad on hols.
    • Get as close to a sub-3hr 100k as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

2023: 100km 52 times, on average.

In 2022 I did 52 rides of 100km or more, but became obsessed with not exceeding 100 by much. By averaging I'll enjoy the longer runs and the shorter ones more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭wijam

2022 was a mare, aimed for 6000-7000km, ended up with 3500km after a bad run of health

So for 2023, it's to get more more consistently, ideally two mid mornings and Saturday and the odd Sunday, for events and holidays

• Tour de Conamara - did this last year, one of the most scenic events I've done on the West Coast
    • Wicklow 200 - attempt number 4 - every year something knocks us off training and we drop to the W100, could well see us doing the W150 this year knowing our luck :)
    • Looking at a foreign event - possibly Dam to Dam in September in Amsterdam
    • 1st holiday is local, the weekend between Conamara and Wicklow I'm doing a 5 day bike-packing trip to take in two Derry City matches, so going Dublin - Monaghan - Derry - Sligo - Mullingar - Dublin, Derry are at home the Friday night and away in Dublin on the Monday
    • 2nd holiday is 2 weeks in Girona mid October, flights already booked, and the first six days is a bike-packing trip, 2 days up to a cycling B&B in France, the far side of the Pyrenees, two days cycling up there and then two days back to Girona, then base myself in Girona for the second week, 10th time of visiting and still a lot of the longer and steeper routes to have a crack at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

Very happy with how 2022 panned out.

Set a target of 8,500 kms and finished on 10,700 odd kms. A new record for me. Would have hit 11,000 km but for cold snap, followed by wet snap followed by nasty chest infection.

Longest spin was 166km and just over 30kph avg.

Did a race spin with Gorey cc touring group and avg was 34.5 kph .

All done across 4 bikes, traditional bikes, all carbon frames, all ultegra manual gears and rim brakes.

If 2023 pans out on a similar vein I'd be very happy. I'll be hitting 66 this year and will be officially an OAP. Will eventually upgrade one bike to a Di2 and disc brakes.... retirement present to myself 🤞just haven't totally decided on that date quite yet.

Safe riding to ye all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Gerry

fair play, I'd love to be doing those kms by then!

for me this year was about stopping the rot. restarted commuting to work, did a few mtb races. km went up from 3000 to 3700 which I'm fairly happy with. climbing increased more than that. longest spin was just over 100km..

For next year I'll target 5000km. Definitely would like some longer spins but I'm not obsessed with getting back to 200km. Will be going to morzine for mtb, hopefully do the cooley thriller also. targetting the blitz this year as always.

Phenomenal going. Well done. I just realised we follow each other on Strava after seeing one of the pictures you posted on here recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Sold a bike today, so first goal of 2023 achieved - make room for another bike!

Hope to hit 8,000km this year. Just need more consistency during the week (and more cycling during holidays)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

sort out niggles with myself and my bike!

I set a target for 9000k this year and hit a little over it, I'm not going to set one for 2023 but would like to do more this year.

my longest spin was 220k solo and I might attempt a 300k.

I did a good bit more elevation this year, but still I am not comfortable with descents so I'd like to be better on those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭secman

Thanks, Phenomenal is a bit much, I've always enjoyed sport and when my younger brothers ask me why i still continue... I answer ...it's because I can ... some day I won't be able to say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Can't remember whether I even committed specific goals for 2022. Things in so much flux, still, I had my main one as consistency in training (which I did), and then not get my head completely kicked in with the vets (I didn't, except for age champs, and won 2 races from my group).

Main events for 2023 are Flanders; Raid Alpine; Lakelander (for the 3rd time).

Process Goals: Keep the consistency of the training, which is becoming more of a challenge as work adjusts to more normality from just WFH. Fuel workouts/ don't diet on the bike. Be a bit more consistent in races.

Health/ General Goals: Some strength/ mobility work; Race weight before the race season - I think chasing it during the season hampered me a bit (see "don't diet on the bike"); More sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Main thing for me is to actually get some solid training done and strike a better balance with it and life! Ive not gotten back to regular long spins since we had our little lad. Im into vets this year so aiming at at least a podium at the M40 national TT, finish Ras again (and try get into a break again in that), Gorey 3 day (would loe to say top 10ish but that hilly stage is just to much for my 80+kg to survive with front few!), race a lot more (easier now with vets races an option too). Also just to aim for too much as usual i hope to get back to triathlon this year. No aims but get a few races done and from next year kick on to aim for places again.

Right now i just wana train, on/off sick constantly the last 6 to 8 weeks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Part of my 2022 was a Covid project that needed completion: To cycle around Kildare, using the most 'extreme' paved roads, without trespassing into other counties, or doubling back on spurs. It was great fun exploring remote corners, and I had multiple false starts, but got it eventually.

Its 270 km, with 30 km access for me, so 300km. I might try that in 2023, in the other direction.

Anyway, it might be an idea worth copying, in whole or in parts. RidewithGPS is your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Jeez I thought I was doing well with my 145km elevation. See that looney bin on GCN they did a million metres. Fuppin' 'eck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Bot1

I'm doing the Titan Desert in Morocco in May

https://skodatitandesertmorocco.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

I'm not going to set distance type goals this year as I tend to miss them by a bit!

I want to do Stelvio pass from both sides in a single ride when in Bormio in July. Also cycle Bormio to Livigno by the off road track that's meant to be incredible.

Then at home I'll do the Orwell Randonnee and aim for at least 1 gravel & 1 MTB sportive type event. Finally, just try to get out on the bike and enjoy doing so as much as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭lissard

Managed 5500km in 2022 which was down 1200km from last year, life and covid intervened knocking out 2 months so I'm pretty pleased. Managed a lot of 100k+ spins, various sportives and 5 HC climbs. For 2023 my main targets are

• Getting my weight under control - if I can consistently get to 90kg I'll be happy
    • Start commuting by bike on a regular basis.
    • Event target is a multiday tour in the Pyrenees. Hopefully get to ride the Tourmalet, Peyresourde etc.
    • Multiday tour in Ireland
    • Weekly clubs spins and league races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Doc07

I enjoy this thread every year. Some inspirational targets hit well done all!

I’d like to break 2000km and fit in another WW200 . I’d like to do more than 2000km but I’m also aiming for Dublin Marathon for first time in 2023.

i think doing it on a bike would be considered cheating, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Doc07

I wish, still don’t know how I agreed to this running/marathon lark for this year. I think it will be a ‘one and done’ no matter what time I do it in…unlike cycling where my slowness inspires me and I’ll be doing WW200 #5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Mr. Cats

Managed about 7500km in 2022 so happy enough with that. Started running again in September so that’s taken some time away from mid week riding. My longest & most memorable spin was out and back (& up!) Mount Leinster from South Dublin - 240k on a beautiful September’s day. Nothing to think about except riding my bike all day - heaven!

Have booked in for Flanders for April which is my first event outside Ireland so really looking forward to that. Other than that would like to do a multi day b&b tour this year - thinking maybe ferry to either Fishguard or Holyhead and cycling to the other port for ferry back again. Other goal is to ride more outside and less on trainer when weather and light allow. Fitness from trainer is great but headspace from outside trumps it overall.

Hope everyone here achieves their plans and meets their goals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭DrumcDub1

First real full year of committed cycling on the cards, planning for:

-5000km

-join a club and do weekly spins

-ROK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

((Cycle + meet the lads + coffee + cake) x 70) + climb a few foreign mountains = happy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I've bike marshalled it - it's harder than you think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ideally just to get out 2-3 times a week even just for an hour up around Howth each time just to get the last few kgs off. Turn the clock back the guts of a decade and get in a 150-180km around the wicklow hills. Easy part will be the same as every year, sit back and watch plenty of the big 1 day & gt races on eurosport & itv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

I cycled the course one year a week or 2 after the marathon itself. Obeying all traffic lights I didn't break 2 hours by a whole lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I've been suffering with a sore lower back since the beginning of September. If I don't stretch daily it flares up. Last time I was on the turbo was the beginning of November where my back was giving me some discomfort after 10 minutes, whatever I did that day was too much as it would spasm while out on a walk the next day. This is where I'd normally say I want to do 2,000km because the most I've done in a single year for the last 5 years is 1,000km but I'd really just like to get out and ride more.

My goal for this year is to climb to the top of Ticknock. The fastest I've done it was 32 minutes and that was on a hardtail. I'm not a climber, never was and I'm 110kg so I have my work cut out for me. Even when I was 75kg and with 34x32 I hated it. I have the climb on my Garmin for the turbo, I'll chip away at it so I don't do my back in. Hopefully when it's Spring I'll be able to at least do it on my ebike in person, I won't have to power as hard but it will still get the lungs going.

Not the most exciting goal considering I'm only bloody 30! Last year was a pretty tough year mentally, when not on the bike I'd at least do several 1-2hr walks a week with a good podcast which has also stopped. I'd like to get back into that too, so in summary I just need to get more air and stretch the legs!