If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Traitors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

They should have murdered or seduced Tyler, take out a clique leader

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

That parting shot to Joe from Kaz was just... Chef's Kiss

Everything he deserved and more. And then his smart arse comment afterwards getting ripped to shreds by Dan was great too.

I don't really care if Anna goes tbh, Irish or not she's essentially a wallflower. Watch her now get recruited 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,626 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Absolutely. The tasks are generally filler, though with things like the boat/raft task it can throw up actions/comments by people which raise suspicions about them (rightly or wrongly). Plus the shield can be a big factor.

The thing about sitting round and talking about who may or may not be a Traitor is that it's more opportunity for people to slip up. Say something fairly innocuous but gets taken the wrong way. Hell look at Linda, two minutes into the game and she turned her head too quickly and drew suspicions on herself, or Kasim apparently having a "twinkle in his eye" when toasting someone who was murdered. Everyone has a spotlight on them all the time, and they're all together for over half the day. So all in all we only really see maybe 40 minutes of that. But all of that is what's important because that tends to be the basis of people's arguments at the Roundtable. The tasks are generally a bit of phone-checking time.

As for last night's episode, Kasim was absolutely cold-blooded in how he left, but it was well deserved. Anna didn't do that great a job defending herself last night, can see the pressure still being on her for another while. I think the Traitors should have picked other people to seduce. I can't see Freddie or Anna going for it. They must surely know with the pressure already on them they'd be thrown to the Faithfuls so they can catch another Traitor. If anything they might use it to prove themselves as a Faithful (even though they'd likely be murdered a day or two later). Fozia, maybe, and she could be pretty good too.

I've often wondered if it'd be a good idea if we the audience didn't know who the Traitors were. Like if they did the whole series where we didn't know, and then a final episode where we see all their meetings and planning over the course of the series. But really the enjoyment of the show is watching them plan, watching them get away with it, seeing the pressure when it's applied to them, if/how they might turn on each other, knowing the Faithfuls are going down the wrong path etc. I think it'd be an annoyance and a frustrating watch if we didn't know who the Traitors were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

The clique of Leanne, Olivia and Tyler is one that needs splitting. It feels like their combined IQ maxes out in double figures. The more Tyler thinks the more his head hurts.

The shortlist of people to try to recruit is a bit underwhelming. I do think Leon, Jake, Dan or Alexander would have been good. One of those would add a bit of umph to the traitors. I think Minah needs help as Linda seems uninspiring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭RoTelly

But how do you know if what they are saying is true if the task is a really small part of the show, largely it is shots of the contestants walking around the castle throwing around theories, you get to hear little about them other than the vignette's of them doing their everyday things. I know none of the characters even from the interviews to cameras.

You could still see their meetings but the plan is only sound with an edit of the Traitors lair, and pictures of the contestants.

So far I don't think we saw them even try to turn on each other, early days alright but that might happen.

I will continue watching but really feel this is just Big Brother.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

I think a lot of that comes down to the fact there are so many contestants at the start. 22 from the start, not including the 2 of the 3 who have now returned. That's a lot of people to get used to, and they have very little to go on at the start. As it develops and narrows down, people have formed better friendships, and people have a lot more to base their accusations on, it can get a lot more tense and emotional.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Linda hasn't a clue, I'd say if you told her the grass outside was blue and the sky was green she'd agree with you.

Yeah, she really is a poor traitor. The only thing she feels strongly about it not voting Jake out which was fine on day 1 but since then has been a bit nonsensical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,177 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Linda basically stands opposite Minah in the turret and replies with "agreed!" to everything she suggests..

.. maybe it's the way it's edited but really undermines any input she may have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Still Ill

What happens if the person refuses to become a traitor? Are they allowed tell the rest of the group they were approached?

Yes. It happened in Series 1. She kept it quiet for most of the day, only telling one or two people she trusted, then revealed at the roundtable hoping to judge people's reactions.

However, it comes with the risk that people then trust you're a Faithful, which means it's more likely the Traitors will murder you because people aren't going to banish you.

"OH MY GOD WHO the HELL turned the SKY GReeN?!"

Minah and Linda picked two Faithfuls who are under suspicion as ones they might seduce. If Minah was really smart, she should have been arguing to seduce someone a lot stronger and who isn't under suspicion, because it's only a matter of time before Linda starts being accused again. Minah should be looking for someone to replace Linda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭This is it

If Linda is still there for the traitor tasks, like the poisoned chalice, etc, it should be some craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭bren2001

I've wondered this myself and kinda came to the conclusion it would never work and become boring very quickly I think. However, only revealing 2 of the 3 traitors at the start or not revealing who the first recruit is may work. A single traitors voice could be dubbed and they could stand off screen during the traitor deliberations. It still allows the show to flow as normal but with a small twist for the viewer.

Also, I agree, the tasks are pure filler. The show has the right amount of them. The show is about their conversations and not what they physically do.

I think Minah wants to win it for herself so doesn't really care what happens her team-mates or the 'sisterhood' as she calls it. She's already shown the ruthless streak with voting Armani. I'd say Linda is afraid she'll be chucked under the bus too so is just playing the nodding dog role to keep her onside😅

The tasks are mostly pure filler on this show.

There is a lot of potential there to set them up so that the Traitors are more motivated to sabotage the task outcome like you see in Survivor sometimes.

That would make it less mundane viewing and offer up more clues for the Faithful rather than 'you had a twinkle in your eye so you must be a Traitor'…

They had a dungeon one last year that was great, was hoping they'd bring similar back this year. I actually ran an online forum based version here on Boards last year…

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058334576/the-traitors-game-thread/p1

I think there could definitely be an upcoming task or two that will throw in extra wrinkles for the Traitors.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I like the way the tasks reveal a bit about everyone.
    Not so much this time around, so far. But you can usually see who the real grafters are and notice the difference when they are gone after being - usually wrongly - identified as traitors.

Kasim is my hero for the way he left. Leading your man to believe he was right about the twinkle in his eye baloney and then the way he spun it out a bit about being chosen to be a… FAITHFUL. Then turned and left without a second glance. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,128 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

100% agree re Kasims exit , it was perfect! Such an unexpected class act , loved it !

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,788 ✭✭✭archfi

The young fella Freddie is a mega mammys boy.

Kasims exit was great - fck you Joe!

Fozia could be out within a day or two as a faithful banished or recruited and be out within a day or two. She’s the potential to be a big mouth either way

The other guy who was ‘saved’ in the cage to me seems much more wiley, he pretended not to give the shield to anyone hoodwinking two of the three he was going to give it too while we found out he gave it to… Minah😀

He’s a clever guy I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭bren2001

The other guy who was ‘saved’ in the cage to me seems much more wiley, he pretended not to give the shield to anyone hoodwinking two of the three he was going to give it too while we found out he gave it to… Minah😀

He didn't hoodwink the 2 lads. He told them that one of the three of them would get the Shield. This protects all three of them as the Traitors wouldn't gamble and murder any of them as theres a 1/3 chance they have the Shield. He used one Shield to protect 3 people.

That's not really what the other guy (Andrew I think) did with the shield; he couldn't keep it himself, he had to give it to someone. What he did was make it clear he was giving it to one of the three he was on the train with, but not tell anyone which of those three people he was giving it to. It meant all three would likely be protected from being murdered, because the Traitors wouldn't know which of the three had the shield, unless (like Minah) they're a Traitor in which case it'd make it too obvious one of them is a Traitor because they'd be the only ones who knew which of the three had the shield.

It essentially gave the shield's prtection to all three, whether any of them were Traitors or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Flowergirl201

What would've happened if the traitors had of murdered one of the ones with the shield?

Nothing happens. That person still shows up for breakfast the next morning. They wouldn't even know the Traitors had chosen them.

It could mean the Faithfuls realise the Traitors tried to murder whoever had the shield, or it could mean they think the Traitors recruited instead of murdered, but either way it pretty much means the letter signed by the Traitors just never gets delivered. The Traitors wouldn't even know their murder failed until breakfast the next day when their target shows up for breakfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,788 ✭✭✭archfi

Ah ok we didn’t see him announcing to the entire group alright that one of the three would get it but not saying who

Yeah that's fair. I don't think he announced it to the group but more so just casually made it known that's what he was doing but there wasn't a lot of time spent on it regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Kas was royally ripped off, and maybe editing played a part, but not many people came off looking well afterwards. I think it shows how weak everyone's suspicions are that they all gravitated towards that one so quickly.

Also, using a now-known traitor's words as a source of truth is ridiculous. That Armani claimed she was convinced 100% Kas was a Faithful, doesn't mean she was protecting him - she was protecting herself by trying to build an affinity. Stupid they didn't see that. And the crocodile tears afterwards, good lord - there's plenty of competitive gameshows out there with money on the line, and people don't cry every time something goes wrong.

As for yesterday's challenge - it was a bit silly. It was all so hectic, despite there being no time limit. They could have calmly collected every single gold coin, brought them all back and then decided (or challenged) how to distribute them. Getting an extra €1,000 along the way.

It's very early days too - if I was a traitor, I don't think I'd be trying too hard to sabotage challenge, even if it meant a few shields were distributed.

Linda is hilarious - she's having the time of her life and credit to her, but there's barely an ounce of game in her head, unless she's the real Keyser Soze.

Anyway, most of them are utter sheep. 17 odd people in there, and they all centred in on three candidates last night. Somehow Charlotte and Linda weren't mentioned once at the round-table, despite people being wholly convinced the night before.

Anna is a plank of wood - but a bad sailor does not a traitor make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm surprised the suspicions on Linda is gone, was it Joe/Jake who was on her? They are a few whose names I don't know still as just floating and look similar

How does not tying a rope knot make you a traitor or did I miss something, I'm guessing banishment tonight for either Anna or Freddie

We need more Joe vs. Dan

Tyler thinks he is smart and getting big headed each episode

I like Fozia, hope she lasts until the end

Alexander reminds me of Mark Wright less tanned from TOWIE