Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardaí new drug testing device

• 01-12-2022 9:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭

"They deliver results in around eight minutes and can test for cannabis, cocaine, benzodiazepines and opiates, as well as amphetamines and methamphetamines for the first time."

Looks like they still can't test for psychedelics

Post edited by Gremlinertia on

My main concern over these drug tests is that they seem to flag people who have ingested substances days ago, for some substances at least. The effects are gone from their systems but they are still charged with driving under the influence, rather than the actual "offence" of having ingested drugs some days ago. Drug drivers are incredbible dangerous, but we need to be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,868 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Does a fail on one of these roadside tests not simply lead to a proper blood test at a medical facility/Garda station conducted by a doctor, which would then give a better reflection of how much of a substance was in a persons blood? And that's what the prosecution is based off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It's covered in the article:

* If your saliva sample tests positive for benzodiazepines or opiates or amphetamines (including methamphetamine and MDMA) and the garda is of the opinion that you are not impaired, you are not committing an offence and can drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Yes, according to the article, if you test positive for cannabis or cocaine, you're arrested and taken to the station for a blood test.

If you test positive for benzodiazepines, opiates or amphetamines AND it appears your driving is impaired, you're arrested and taken to the station for a blood test.

If you test positive for benzodiazepines, opiates or amphetamines and it doesn't appear that your driving is impaired, you're simply sent on your way.

Seems to be a fairly balanced and appropriate system to me.

The new device is only a screening tool, further testing will be required to prosecute.

If you are not impaired you should have nothing to worry about

All I know is that up until now, recreational cannabis users are habitually put off the road for being impaired when they haven't imbibed in days. If cannabis was that good, I would be on it myself! If the new test fixes the issue, bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

They'll figure it out when you say you were just taking the Tesla to Woodstock and asking why you were pulled over by the ghost of Ronald Reagan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...is it possible to overload them, if all are consumed at the same time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

This is my problem with it. You could be hooped on MDMA, but as long as you're driving ok (which is possible, I've seen it first hand), you're grand (as per that article). Yet if you're taken back for potential cannabis driving, and you do consume cannabis, you're screwed as the law currently states cannabis only has to be in your system. That is not changing. Proof of impaired driving is not required on a low-level drug that stays in your system for up to 2 months. Seems completely fair...

This new test, the Securetec Drugwipe 6s, is set to detect a min certain level of drugs. In the case of cannabis, it's 1ng/ml THC-COOH. To note, a moderate user will continue to show upwards of 45ng/ml 12 hours after last use. But standard THC levels could be below 1ng/ml in the same time. Not sure testing plasma is the right way, but that's what we have. And if you test positive on this, they take your blood/urine. Once that happens, you're screwed because the simple presence of it is enough to put you off the road, even without impaired driving.

It's still a very grey area and one where people are being wrongly found guilty. Cannabis driving should be 100% required to have an impairment test. Even if you pass the roadside test, if the Garda thinks you're under the influence (and trust me, it doesn't take much), they can still bring you back for blood/urine and bang, you're screwed, even if you hadn't ingested that day.

I'm petrified of it, because I would be considered a "chronic" user (there's literally nothing to do between midnight and 8am in the county, my waking hours, so I smoke). If I'm taken back to give blood/urine, I'm off the road no questions asked. Meanwhile, I reckon about 40% of the people living within 10 miles of me regularly drink drive, and indeed it's still not frowned upon out here, in face promoted because it's the country and there's no other "choice".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

That's a lot of people's issue with the current thresholds for cannabis - it doesn't really correlate much with impairment. The threshold is very low, someone who smoked a few days ago could still end up getting charged with intoxicated driving based on the blood specimen provided.

It's going to become an even bigger issue now as you will see more Gardaí doing preliminary roadside tests due to the new device being much easier and quicker to use. No more faffing around waiting for a DT5000, and multiple drivers can be tested at once.

Not helped by the view of some members of AGS thinking cannabis is a far worse drug than heroin (was a Sergeant in the GNDU who tried to argue that with me. The argument ended when I said I now know why you're not longer a Sergeant in the GNDU).

People should not be smoking cannabis while driving end of and it's something I see.... or rather smell on a near daily basis at this stage.

I agree, but the current legislation can and does prosecute sober people who happen to consume cannabis. All you need is a Garda to believe they believe you're under the influence, and a blood/urine test will show cannabis for upwards of 2 months after using. Meanwhile, there are arbitrary limits for the amount of alcohol you can have in your system, something which causes far more issues than cannabis. Totally fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,072 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Post edited by Esel on

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

The mere concept of a zero limit is silly

You could get a mouthful of diluted THC upon walking out of the Tesco on Paul Street. This could possibly lead to a spell in the Joy under your system if the machine was good enough to detect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,823 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

They're taking the piss with all these new tests.

Or at least I presume that is how they work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭mattser

Poster lost sister to a drug driver and you call it a sob story. That's very poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

so how does the CBD cannabis buds you buy legally work with these tests ?? i know they contain traces of THC (<0.3%) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

What a ridiculous and callous thing to say.

Someone smokes a joint on Saturday and gets picked up on Wednesday with metabolites in their system, they are 100% sober and not at all impaired and you think it’s fair that they have their life ruined for “Driving under the influence” when they’re not even under the influence of anything?

It’s no different to banning someone for drink driving because they had a glass of wine last week. It’s literally just a quirk of the pharmacology of cannabis that its metabolites remain in the system far longer after the effects have ceased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Even for boards... Some shoc

((HUGS)) My mother too was a victim like your sister. boards, this No one can predict exactly the lasting effects of these drugs etc. Hard enough when taking prescription meds to be fully aware and respect others. I no longer drive for that reason. Here for thee. Saying fare well to this thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Absolute bollix viewpoint on it regardless of circumstances, reverse the situation and have gardai dragging you in for drink driving today cos you drank 2 cans on Sunday evening last.

Hyperbole and inaccuracy invalidate . If you read the actual legislation ...and comparing even that with a needless death...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Read my comment again and understand what I'm saying, he's asking for zero tolerance and is completely fine if people get caught days or weeks later when not impaired. It is a ridiculous bar to be set for a substance that is statistically a non runner against alcohol in terms of impairment or danger . That is a nonsense comment regardless of personal circumstances.

If you read the article carefully.. And better even that than a needless death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Why are you awake all night every night? There's not much to do anywhere between those hours, city or country.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

@[Deleted User] @Potential-Monke you have both been warned this thread shall now be closed