Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waste plastic bale wrap compactor baler.

• 27-11-2022 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,205 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know anyone making bale wrap compactor balers?

I'm not interested in the jfc plastic type. I'm interested in a metal type that I could use with a concrete or steel weight to press down the plastic. I can lift the weight with the tractor loader.

Don't really see any types on DoneDeal bar powered types which I'm not interested in either, (fussy fecker).

Anyone able to help? Thanks very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,227 ✭✭✭cute geoge

There is a small one advertised in clare on dd for 650 might do your job search under wrap baler

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Look in the guntering thread from last February/ march a few ppl made them from old steel oil tanks.

You use a bale wrap to line the tank. When you open the bale cut a star shaped cut at one end only to make a bag out of the wrap, then stretch the cut end of the wrap over the cut edge of the tank. Use the old end of the tank as a lid to keep it dry.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

What you could do is make a bag out of the wrap from one silage bale wrap like is done for the jfc tidy wrap and then just fill it with the wraps from 50 or so bales.

Its an easy method and you get a big bag of wraps that can easily be loaded on to a trailer or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭davidk1394

A few pallets screwed together in a cube could work too, I know of one person with that. Compacts it with the loader then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Dunedin

That’s what I do. Works grand.

pallets might get scarce though with price of fert 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,205 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I've provisionally bought one of these.

Looks OK from the pictures anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭davidk1394

If it's stupid and it works it ain't stupid. I pile all the plastic is the corner of a yard and keep it press it down every so often with the digger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Jb1989

How much is the advertised price of that unit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Could you do the same as the pallets except get used shuttering pans instead? Would imagine they would take more pressure and you'd be able to compact the wrap more. Or else make up a square using kelly blocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Used the pallets for years and they’d always end up braking over the winter due to packing and getting so wet.

I know you mentioned you didn’t want a jfc tidy wrap and I was like you too, but a guy who made them compacting machines said i was mad. I bought the tidy wrap a couple of years back and delighted with it. Great comfort come recycling time, just pick up the dry bales of wrap and off with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,932 ✭✭✭StevenToast

JFC Tidywrap all the way....whats your problem with it?

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

+1 for the tidy wrap, it's awful handy.

What price are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

Look like they are €350-400 online. Think I'll make one up with a few steel 4x2 shutters bolted together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I had a look at the video on line and they look a tidy job. The pallets are grand but there is a bit of effort each year setting them up and they generally rot after each winter.

One problem I have is one of my pallet bays is exposed directly to the elements and each storm knocks them.

I actually know the fella doing them and he’d be sound enough. Might consider for next year for one of my sheds.

You'd never be done trying to make the place tidy.

It hasn't arrived yet but it looks exactly what I'm after.

Neighbour has the jfc type and it was used for a bit and then ignored completely over just dumping back on the ground again. Too small and figety was his reason. I've a bale shear and I'm able to leave the wraps separate till I finish feeding. I'll be able to press down the pack with the bale shear too.

And it shouldn't look ugly when it's in place. NEVER BE DONE....

Just need a ball of square bale twine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Diarmuid B

Get an IBC tank and cut the top off it, then open a bale the same way you would for the JFC bin and put it into the IBC Tank. You’ve a cheap bin for €50 or €80 compared to 400 for the JFC one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I bought one a few years ago but it fell apart last year. It's a tidy job alright and you're left with a compact bale of wrap afterwards that sits nicely into a car trailer and the twine is great to keep it all together. I used to sit a bale on top of it to compact it overnight every few days. But for some reason he used really light angle iron on the corners and it's not up to the job at all. When the wrap is really compacted into it, it's under pressure when you're lifting off the bin and the top frame pulled away from rest of the bin. Must replace the light stuff with proper 2" angle iron and bolt it all back together again. Back to pallets for time being!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭893bet

how do you get the wraps out at the end of the year when it’s full?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Diarmuid B

tie the top of it with the four flaps, turn the ibc tank upside down and it’ll fall out with the loader. Tried last year with a bit of grease around the inside of the plastic frame on the ibc tank and it worked a treat- bale of wrap came out handy enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,270 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Anyone got any new input on this? I have a full IBC cage here and another pile on the ground beside it. I've 2 good IBC cages with liners, but it seems a shame to cut out the liner. I was planning on using them to collect water from the shed root for the drinkers.

Are the JFC "Tidywrap Bins" a good job? For lads that have them, do you get into the bin and walk the plastic to compact it?

Post edited by patsy_mccabe on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,427 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

You're going to have a jfc for years and no messing

We've used one of these for over twenty years, I've a big lorry wheel welded to a frame and push that down with the loader, not cheap but handy.

https://www.solwayrecycling.co.uk/shop/farmers/recycling-bins/solway-bin-large

Just edited to say the bin is made from recycled polythene

This is a clever idea and easy enough to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Farmer Dan

A lad would nearly make one of them out of a sheet of stockboard....🤔🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,427 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

That's all ours is anyway, a sheet of stokboard rolled and two clamps to pull it together. a steel ring on the top . very tidy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭ABitofsense

This is what I made here with scrap metal that was around the yard. Bit of bending & messing at the time but handy job now. Put a wrap in & fill it. Takes roughly 60ish wraps each time.

Well done, that would pass a bordbia inspection, compared to my old oil tank above. Having a cone shape solves the problem on getting the full bag out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If you have something that is left outside with no lid, you are going to end up paying for the water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

We use half ton meal bags on a frame and walk the rolled up wraps into the bag and lift out with the front loader. When it’s time to recycle lift on to a trailer and they lift off in the bring centre and bring home the bag, only one handling of the wrap from the bale to the bag. Key is rolling up the wrap and putting in a circle motion to make it easy to pack into the bag. The stand is made out of box iron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Aravo

Old oil tank used here. Works grand. I would not be one to be parting with €400 for specially designed ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,923 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I am similar. There is a corner opposite shed, I have half of an old bale feeder( bottom is gone off it) it keeps the plastic from being blown away. Keep throwing the plastic into the corner behind the half feeder. When it get too high a bale on the front lower pushes it down.

When it's going for recycling take away the feeder and load it with a front grab.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭emaherx

I just fill old bulk bags, then load them on the trailer and the recyclers take them off bag and all.