Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emporio Time watches scam??

• 17-11-2022 12:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭

Long story short....my friend was walking to work in South Dublin when a car pulled over and asked for directions to the airport. He said his phone didn't work as he had no data. My friend showed him directions on Google Maps and he took a picture of the phone and by way of thanks, the guy handed him over a bag with 3 brand new watches. There was a business card in the bag (attached). The whole thing just stunk of a scam to me but he didn't get my friends details and my friend didn't give him money so I don't know what the scam is. So many things don't make sense

• How was he going to possibly navigate using a screenshot?
    • Here's a link to the website on the business card https://emporiowatch.com/. Looks half finished, broken links everywhere
    • One of the watches was a Brian Smith watch https://www.briansmithwatch.com/. Again this can't seriously be a real brand with a logo like that can it? The prices are listed with PT as a currency? I don't know any currency code of PT
    • What business selling high end watches uses Gmail as an email provider?
    • Can't find any evidence of the business at the New York address on the business card

Just not sure whether to tell my friend go to the Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,228 ✭✭✭leath_dub

This sounds like a variation on the old leather jackets scam from a few years back. Almost the same modus operandi - on the way to the airport and trying to offload merchandise at ridiculously liw prices. Usually the contents of the box will be vastly inferior to the samples they show you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Yeah, but according to the OP, he gave him the bag containing 3 watches without looking for any money and just drove off.

Maybe the scam is that he knew the guy would tell his mate about it, who would go to Boards and post up the link on the business card? Sly free advertising tactic on Ireland's premier discussion forum, bypassing the eagle-eyed Mods - probably worth billions in revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

That gold color watch looks like it could harbour a small robot. Late at night, robotic crab legs come out the sides, and it starts scuttling about the house looking for things to rob and possibly may kill people.

Or it records the wearer having sex and uses it for cyber blackmail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

How was he going to possibly navigate using a screenshot?

People got around before GPS using written directions or maps.

How is getting 3 free watched a scam BTW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

How old was the car he was in? Anything over 5 years wouldn't be a hire car, likely 3 year cut off in olden days.

No idea of scam but why would someone with a New York business address be using an Italian phone number? Perhaps he is an apprentice scammer and made a complete balls of the scam forgetting to get payment for the watches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Ljmscooter

+39 is not the US country code

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

He should definetly go to the Gardai. They’ll be very interested in this. I’d get him to copyright the story first though, so some devious copper doesn’t sell it to Hollywood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

maybe they just saw the guys's phone and felt sorry for him, obviously wouldnt have any money worth scamming

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Sounds like the plot of a David Cronenberg film.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Maybe he just got your mate to get rid of his rubbish for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I know people got around before GPS but a screenshot from a phone would be absolutely useless really when trying to navigate through the city centre.

Unless my friend isn't being truthful about not giving him money, I really can't understand the modus operandi of the whole encounter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

He should be happy, he got 3 free watches. Just don't go clicking on any dodgy websites.

If he went to the Gards they'll probably take the watches, no one will ever be prosecuted, the website will remain up, and your friend just lost 3 free watches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

The address seems legit. Block on the corner of Broadway and W 30th street, unfortunately google streetview can't go to 36th floor.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Probably was worried about getting caught with watches that had drugs hidden in them.

For a few euros, he gets to live rent-free in someone's mind for life now. Same as people who leave a watermelon on someone's doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭ Cup

Well Holy God, that’s a thing. My life is improved knowing that.

I predict great things for this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I'd bet that your friend parted with some cash and is afraid to admit that he was scammed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

if directions are worth 3 watches I wonder what a handjob would get you?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

That's what I thought too but I asked him over and over if he gave yer man anything, but he insists he didn't...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

These are not high end watches.

A kitchen clock, two stopwatches and a sun dial.

Don't ask how I know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 eiredub2023

Similar thing happened to me yesterday while out for a stroll in Rathfarnham area, so be cautious.

Same, I was asked for directions to airport and as a sign of appreciation “Eugenio” wanted to give me a present. He presented me with a bag with 3 watches and mentioned that I could get two for free if I paid for the cheapest one (worth approx. 250 euro). At that point, no, but thanks… he even asked for my card details since I didn’t have cash on me…and that wasn’t going to happen either.

All of this happened in the Church of annunciation car park in Rathfarnham (where there is CCTV). 

“Eugenio “ was driving a gray/silver Hyundai SUV. Was quite well dressed and wearing a ton of cologne…

I suspect he was targeting our most vulnerable people (elderly people) at the church…and proved luck with me for some reason.

Sad and disgraceful really.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The watches are pure shíte, made of the finest Chinesium and can be had from the land of the Yellow river for 10 to 20 quid. And you'd be overpaying at that. So lord knows what's going on. Maybe they were nicked and he was getting rid?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,892 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Only the best watch sellers have a gmail email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Unless its a Hotmail account I would not go near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

freudian slip on eugenios emporio watch website

bottom of the page, email ends with .con

He put an almighty amount of effort into dirt when he could of just started a legit business and probably made a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 funkybongo00

I had this lad pull up to me today in South Dublin, trying to sell me 3 watches for "the price of an expensive perfume for his wife , 178 euro " I have him nothing , he drove away ... exact same guy same card .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Henry James

I've had the leather jacket experience. He asked for directions then said he was delivering to a nearby MNS and had a few leather jackets left. First he would give me one free but then he needed 200 euros for a PlayStation for his son. Not from me. I checked with MNS, they had no such delivery.

Strange life these guys have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They look like 10 euro things you'd get on ali express.