Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running the Clock and becoming non-res..

Options
2»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 26,258 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

For what it's worth, I would give very serious thought to taking the wife and youngest child with you. I realise it'll be disruptive but it will also be an adventure for them, and a couple of years in a primary school abroad will be quite the experience for your child.

I have no direct experience myself, but I do have a family member who did well-paid expatriate jobs for most of his career (and is still doing them). He and his wife tried both approaches, but fairly quickly came to the conclusion that keeping the family together was definitely the best solution, at least until the kids were into the early teens, when school stability and stability of the peer group network became a much bigger issue.

Which means that, if you want this to be even your plan B in case plan A doesn't work out, you need to pick your destination country knowing there's a suitable school for your 9-year old. Your choice will be local schools or an international school, which has its own issues but avoid language problems. (I'm assuming your child doesn't speak Portuguese, Maltese or Italian.)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,320 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

If they are taking their wife and youngest child with them then Malta might be the better option. More english spoken in general and private primary schools teach in english first but provide lessons in maltese. learning a second language at that is never a bad idea,

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭Bicyclette