Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gas Boiler repair. Is he taking the Pi$$

• 08-11-2022 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Gas technician was here a few hours ago, a few tests later, nothing wrong with the boiler, quick hoover, (which i had already done). The problem was in the large white 10" pipe running to outside, their is a 6" inner pipe which had collapsed, the two jubilee clips suspending it had failed and he wants €250 to fix it. Seems a bit much, coming back with the parts to finish the job Thursday. Any advice would be appreciated..Thks

MOD Note: Anyone making light of the subject of gas safety will find yourself sanctioned.

Post edited by Wearb on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Lenar3556

Incl. vat?

Not crazy I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

What do you mean you already hoovered the boiler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 panicbuyer

He didn't say. Just out of curiosity, can I pay a registered installer cash and get a discount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I think in these cases you are not paying for the actual work but the fact that he has a ceremonial sword that he can swing to certify the work. Though you could come in here saying he wanted 6 grand to tighten only one jubilee clip and they'd be telling you it's good value

Well then maybe just maybe the OP should do the job himself if it’s so easy?

I know, genius idea isn’t it.

The heat exchanger assembly can get blocked over time and sometimes a quick hoover can help. The last Gas technician had the hoover running for 10mins, @ at a cost of €70, so It must do some good.

Are you an RGII?

If not, weldone you broke the law.

You then proceeded to ring for help because you couldn’t fix it after breaking the law.

And now you’re moaning you’re being charged 250 for two visits to fix a problem you can’t because you basically haven’t a clue.

If you think he’s too expensive tell him and see how you end up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I'd say ask him what his insurance is like ,it drives all these small jobs to crazy prices because there is a shortage of these trades men willing to pay the massive insurance and the lads with the certs then sauce as many as they can

Yes the insurance cartel is mad powerful in Ireland. But the insurance gets the blame for a lot of high prices. I've even heard of a tradesman giving the auld "d'Inshooorance is crazy" shpiel when questioned about high prices when in fact he wasn't insured at all 😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Its not just for the job thought. Its travel time there too. How long was he there for ? Would it be 2 hours in total between travel and fix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,074 ✭✭✭10-10-20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

How long was the here. How long was will be be back for. What is reasonable for travel time? (4 trips). Adds up to a few hours, seems reasonable. Reminds me of the famous story (that never actually happened);

One day at a package delivery distribution center, everything came to a halt. Everything stopped running. Nothing was moving and thousands of dollars were lost every minute. After hours none of the workers could solve the problem. The head of operations called the best expert he could find.

The expert technician arrives and goes to one of the numerous beams, draws an X on the electrical box, opens it, and turns one screw about a quarter of an inch and - bam! - like magic everything starts working again.

The director was relieved and asked for the bill. “$10,000,” the technician responded.“ ”$10,000!? You were here for a few minutes and turned one screw. Anyone could’ve done that…. Please give me an itemized bill.“

The technician wrote on a notepad the bill that read:

Turning screw… $1

Knowing which screw to turn… $9,999

That said, I recent got an outrageous quote from a building management plumber to fix an in wall cistern. He acknowledge he's company was very expensive as they go through strata. Gave me a description of works. I went to the DIY picked up two new seals, and made the repairs myself. Less than a tenner vrs a few hundred. You know what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

You can go to jail for removing the cover to the boiler if you are not RGI registered.

I know a lot of people believe that tradesmen wake up each morning with a magically newly stocked van & for the van to parked outside your home. In the real world Guy could spend an hour or more going to the supplier to purchase the parts needed between travelling there and back not to mention the time spent in the suppliers itself. He then has a 2nd visit to your home. I genuinely wish everything was so much cheaper but with the world we live in I don't see any crazy change in your cash.

He was here for 1hr. Not sure on travel, he is a local guy, he ordered parts and left.

😅 There is no space in Irish jails for hardened criminals so extremely unlikely you'll be telling your cocaine smuggling cellmate you're in for removing a cover off your own boiler

I'm thinking of adapting this experience into a screenplay, I'm calling it "TheGasMan" Subtext "His Cover was Blow'n" Obviously the main character has to be played by In the Name of the Father era, Daniel Day Lewis. Pm for details

Not to mention

Van, tax, insurance, diesel, tools, work safety clothing etc, work phone and bill, stationery, laptop, accountancy fees, PRSI, possibly PAYE, van maintenance( tyres etc) RGI course fee and yearly registration and certs.

Then after all of that trying to make some money to survive.

If you’re lucky you get to keep 1/3 of the overall bill for yourself.

Post edited by Jinglejangle69 on

It's the exact same law for the homeowner and tradesperson. It's no less dangerous for the homeowners to do this than a tradesman. I'm a plumber by trade. I have installed gas boilers in the 80s. Im not RGI so I don't service or replace my own boiler

The point is that yes you can go to prison for removing the cover from a gas boiler or indeed a fusebox.

Oh Fook, at this stage I'll be banged up till Christmas.

MOD Note: Anymore of you or anybody else making light of the subject of gas safety and you will find yourself sanctioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I'm open to correction but I'd be fairly sure you wont be going near jail for removing the cover off of your own boiler in your own home. It's the same with electrical wiring in your own home. The case you linked was someone unregistered claiming to be registered and carrying out electrical work.

By open to correction actual law reference, hearsay isn't fact.

OP as mentioned it's a steep price but he obviously needed parts so headed away and will be calling back so that's two visits. So not really huge money to be honest.

That's really what I needed to know, but what other trade can charge you for calling back to install a part. If i break it down €70 call out X2=€140, (at this stage nothing has been repaired) Parts lets say €30. Labor makes up the rest. ?

You don't think that it's illegal to work on the fusebox or gas boiler in your own home? You actually think that there is a clause in the law that says "homeowners are exempt"?

That terrible, terrible explosion only a few weeks ago, with so many lives lost. What do you suppose would happen to a homeowner if it turns out that it was caused by working on the gas boiler? Will they be prosecuted under the same law? Would they not deserve a life sentence?

Under your train of thought there wouldn't even be a court case because you believe that they are allowed to work on electricity and gas in their own home?

You mentioned wiring in your own home. The law clearly states that a competent person can carry out minor works. The homeowner has to be competent & they too are legally restricted to minor works. They actually list the minor work that you are allowed to do.

The law is in fact law. There are many threads in the electrician forum with email correspondence from the CER and Safety Ireland explaining the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Hard to say but €70 will be about an hours labour so if he's an hour away that's all billable time before taking his tools from his van. Any trade will charge if the job takes longer than assumed or needs additional parts which seems to be the case here. Some tradesmen will let it slide and squeeze in a simple job without charge but lads are busy at the moment so not as flexible. It's a slightly different field I work in but we seldom have an engineer on site for less than €500.

If you're not happy with the cost you'll just have to bring it up with him.

I agree, In reality I was hoping for a quick fix, €70 out the door, happy days. It turned into something else, and really only wanted to know if this was a competitive price as my last service was in 2014.

Think this is a wind up at this stage.

Average Gas boiler service price is €100/€120. A service is a service. The hint is in the name "service". From what I can tell he serviced the boiler & now is carrying out repairs that obviously aren't part of a service. Why wouldn't he charge you for his time & parts. Collecting the parts & going back to you could be well over an hour no matter how close he lives to you. I'm betting you don't live next door to his suppliers. How long will he be at your home by the time he unloads his tools & ladder, makes repairs & loads up the van again?You can be certain he is well into his 2nd billable hour for the repairs alone by the time he is leaving your home.

Articial linked below is from almost 8 years ago. This is before Brexit, Covid, supply line shortages, high inflation, high Diesel etc. Average price was €73. €100/€120 is value for money in todays climate

Boiler wasn't serviced in 9 years & OP thought they would get away with a quick €70 service without repairs!!!😅😅 😅

I am a member of the heating & plumbing association. Our elected members have had official meetings with the CER. Minutes taken at the meetings etc and I can confirm that what you are saying is totally wrong according to the CER. They will attempt to prosecute anyone, homeowner or tradesman, who breaks these laws that are there for safety. These laws save lives and its very unhelpful for posters to suggest otherwise. The law isn't to catch a regular plumber chancing his arm and working on boilers. It's there to stop ANYONE who isn't RGI or RECI working on boilers and fusebox

I think what you are trying to say is that it's unlikely that op will get caught breaking the law that carries a possible prison sentence for homeowners rather than that homeowners can't go to prison for the offence.

Post edited by Sleeper12 on

You said "no-one is going to be imprisoned for taking the cover off their fusebox."

Again I mention that explosion a few weeks ago where so many lost their lives. If it turns out that the explosion was caused by someone taking a cover off the fusebox or gas boiler then yes there will be charges brought & probably a very long prison sentence imposed.

Again what you are trying to say but you are using the totally wrong words is "the the OP is very unlikely to get caught for his dangerous actions".

If you speed 8 hours a day & I only speed 1 minute per year then most likely I will not get caught. However if I am caught I will be treated exactly the same was as you who speeds all the time. It is the same offence for tradesman or homeowner. Both face a prison sentence. The only difference is the homeowner is unlikely to get caught.

Post edited by Wearb on

Ohh the boys from the protectionist RGI closed shop clique are out in force tonight

MOD NOTE: USER SANCTIONED FOR THIS POST ALSO.