How much cash do you have in the house?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

She should appease them with a sawn off shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭phormium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Would you not be better have fake cash on show for the burglar/scum?

Proudly zero. Can't stand handling cash in recent years. I've had 20 in my wallet for months that I keep forgetting is there. I respect people who use purely cash but I find it too inconvenient and I don't prescribe to the paranoid world view that goes with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,554 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Unsubscribes from disappointing thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,340 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

About €10k currently however I'm building a house and paying a few lads in cash which is why I've that amount. Ordinarily there is very little as I'm primarily a card user.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,704 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

You probably mean subscribe. I was not aware of a paranoid world view about cash. I don't find it in any way inconvenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Awe OK. Yes that makes more sense. Be a long time saving 1 and 2 cents to be anyway usefull lol. Lucky you.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭oceanman

usually keep about a grand around the house, mostly to pay tradesmen in case something breaks down ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I've got enough to get me to a non extradition country and the rest is in Krugerrands.

🙈🙉🙊

I've a friend who's into conspiracies and only uses cash to avoid being tracked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Probably 200 or so in cash. Just useful to have for emergencies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,298 ✭✭✭zg3409

You really should not keep cash where it might be found within an hour of ransacking. Often it's drug addicts looking for cash or jewellery and the more houses that keep cash the more likely they are to target break ins as a source of income.

If you have a safe ensure it cannot be found as when found typically battery grinders and other tools are used to open them. They may do massive damage to surrounding walls or presses.

You may have very good hidey holes for example behind toilet, or inside kitchen extractor fan or up in attic under insulation.

I put large sums into the bank and only keep cash in the house very very well hidden when required. I would hate to encourage break ins. I also have good security, CCTV, alarm etc.

Hiding it in a drawer or press or hot press will not work as it will be found. They try bedrooms first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭French Toast

About €10 in change rattling around in a bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Kurooi

About 300, enough to cover a plumber or an electrician emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

That's not enough !

I speak as an electrician, posting from my holiday home in Florida.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,868 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

But the most take cards or Revolut or you can go to an ATM whilst they work if cash only?

How often are people getting emergency plumbing or electrical work done that requires them to constantly have cash in their home. Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭HBC08

Depending in the time of year anywhere between 0 and €10k.I tend to have more in the house during the summer months to Chrismas as I run a seasonal side business.That business starts bringing in cash in June and finishes in September so I just keep the cash until it runs out usually sometime before Christmas.Last year was a bumper year so it lasted til after paddies day,We had a very poor season this year so it's gone already.

Have already had to get out cash to pay my mechanic and will be doing the same soon for coal man,the lad who cuts my trees and boiler service.Also looking to buy some topsoil so will need cash for that aswell.Have a few bits lined up on donedeal to refurbish and will offer cash/revolut or whatever is convenient for them

Anybody who is firmly in the camp of absolutely wanting either a pure cash or pure cashless society is making other people's lives awkward at some stage.Whether they know it or not they will be given a wide berth by many people also.

Having an option of cash or card as we have now suits everybody and won't be changing any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Less than £5 - paid the window cleaner last week so there's no need for any cash again until his visit next month. There is a bit of € stuffed away but likely not enough for an Empty Pockets on our next trip home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Quite a few little savings pots between the old fashioned banks, Revolut and a smidge of investments. Yeah interest is (was until very recently) sh!te on the savings but it's just they're more for easy access money store - which you don't have to hide around the house which strikes me as bizarrely popular. If it was in the current account it'd likely get spent. It's all done via app/automatic now so not like the hassle of setting up separate accounts in the bygone days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,967 ✭✭✭BrianD3

First rule of fight club is....

Anyhow it shouldn't be that difficult to find somewhere to hide a considerable quantity of cash. It doesn't take up much room if it's in 50s which it probably would be. Exchanging for larger denominations would make it easier again but means involving banks and drawing attention to oneself which defeats the purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,817 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Era, those dates are just a "guideline" 😆

Happy riding.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭PatrickDoherty

If/when the tinternet goes down somewhere you need to make a purchase your proudly held zero euros will come back to bite you, the paro conspiracies aside there is a need for cash due to being reliant on working internet for purchases weather that be the shops wifi or your banks IT infrastructure if these fail and they do trust me, your up a creek without a paddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,349 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Yep bought a few lengths of steel a couple of months ago, power was gone in the place selling them, paid cash, had to cut them to size myself with a hacksaw 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

They won't find the cash if you have it in a good spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

give or take 183k