Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Irish kids not play soccer anymore unless its organized?

• 25-09-2022 8:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,937 ✭✭✭

I know they play it at training for their club etc but im talking about playing football in parks, on the greens in estates, gardens. I never see it in the town I live. when I was a kid I was always playing soccer in my garden with friends/neighbours. is it the same in the rest of the Country? no wonder our National mens team have never been so weak, how can we compete when the kids in Brazil or kids in African are playing football with plastic bags stuck together as a ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭triddles

What area ya talkin? I see it a good bit where i live -North Co Dublin. Im sure tbf with the advent of social media , tablets etc its played less unorganised. I think perhaps organised has actually increased cos the parents know the kids are at screens too often.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

My garden and that of several neighbours has large grassless patches so it's still played. If their not doing homework their playing world cup, heaven and hell etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,937 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Really? I live in the west of Ireland. I don't think I have seen kids playing soccer on an estate green in a few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,794 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

They still play in the park/field beside us.

It's a shame dog owners don't pick up after their dogs though as the park is covered in poop.

Bins at both entrances which are only a minute walk from each other so no excuse.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭triddles

Yeah its fairly common! I feel like ud see less though , like often see 4 or 5 playing probably heads and volleys. Would ya see them playing any type of sport?

• Registered Users Posts: 990 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

All the time on the green outside my gaff.

I haven't seen a group of kids play any sport where I live.They tend to group and get into doing dodgy things in the estate.But there isn't much to offer for bored kids like bowling alleys,skating rinks,clubs,etc.I know there are soccer,hurling clubs but alot of kids aren't into and are left to their own devices.

No, the greens are usually empty. last time I saw a kid on an e-scooter with his phone in his hand. I though that was quiet sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Mam1996

My 14yr old has a bunch of friends (5or 6) and they're frequently out on the green area for hours on end playing soccer and have been for years. I love to see them, it reminds me of when we were young

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Fallout2022

The falling off of kids playing three and in really mirrored or perhaps directly caused the decline of society in Ireland.

We didn't have any bowling alleys or skating rinks when I was a kid either but we always had a football and played it every day.

Its funny how the premier league is so popular but yet kids don't ever play football where I live unless its training at their club.

I grew up the same,we made our own fun in those days.But today things are far different,kids get bored more easily and while certian things are offered,the spacing of sessions is too far and inbetween.Kids lose interest and fall back to group mentality.Aside from the school sports there is very little to engage kids who aren't into sports,IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Motivator

It’s definitely a think of the past where I’m from anyway. Back in the mid/late 90’s the largest estate the city had a massive football tournament each summer. Games went on all day every day and there could have been 100+ Children playing. I’m talking lads that were aged probably 12 - 17. The way the green Is set up it has houses surrounding it on three sides and then the road runs along the other side. I vividly remember cars pulling in to watch some of the games. There were referees drawn out of hats at the start of the summer and all the goals were made by the lads playing. Local businesses would donate the materials and the lads would build them perfectly. Small sided goals and young lads reffing games it was brilliant.

Back in those days there were no drugs, no scumbag behaviour, just innocent fun. There was serious organisation in those tournaments and they were legendary around town. This would have been back in the days of Blur and Oasis and when the summers always seemed to be great weather for months on end.

I passed the same green earlier this summer and there were no games of ball, just young lads sitting around on their phones smoking fags. It’s not the same at all unfortunately. There’s not even hurling being played on greens anymore. Kids are either in playing the PlayStation or out smoking fags. I remember being dropped up to friends to watch some of the World Cup games in 2002. I’d go up for the early kick off. Get breakfast and watch the match, then go out and play ball. Go back for the second game and then get lunch and then watch the third game before playing more ball and then topping the day off with a bag of chips before being picked up as it was getting dark. Different times and some great memories of those days.

I also think in World Cup years, there were 32 counties represented and the games would be played on the same day the real World Cup games were played. No way would you get that kind of stuff happening now with that many kids involved. Kids nowadays have too much, back then people didn’t have anything or if they did have something it wasn’t a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,815 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My green at home is huge and there has been a new generation of young people around now but weirdly, football isn’t a thing… this despite the area having a real regeneration of young kids…loads about alright … riding bikes, scooters…sitting on walls….sport doesn’t seem to be as important as even in the summer, tennis courts in the park, mostly empty..

can’t say I know why because I’m not very well connected to that generation but for 30 years, from 2pm to dusk in the summer there would always be a couple of matches on the go, massive green…one match was the older kids, teens and the other the younger lot…. Also on Saturday afternoon about a 30 minute wait for a tennis court over in the park.

we still had consoles we played, tv etc….so what’s happening ?

i wonder might it be due to having for a few years now , a particularly unimpressive and uninspiring Irish team..remember from 88-94 we qualified for two world cups and a European championships, beating England, Italy, and giving anyone a game…Getting to a quarter final of a World Cup and last 16… also the players had personality, gravitas, a degree of accessibility and inspired us…playing for Ireland AND Manchester United, Liverpool, Celtic, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Arsenal, Spurs… Juventus even in Liam Brady’s case…

I grew up on a road where a top quality international player had his family home, when he returned in the summer he’d sometimes would spend maybe an hour to have a kick around on the green with us the kids. You’d be talking about it for months…I’m betting you wouldn’t see that now, they’d probably be fined by their club.

That inspires people, the same player won a league championship and an fa cup if memory serves…kid who I was friends with then and played with us that day, a year younger then me, only recently retired having won Irish caps and enjoyed a long career in English football.

But yeah kids now don’t seem to embrace the simple joy of a kick-about with mates.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

It depends op, but there are certainly more organised sports than years ago, this could be a contributing factor.

Parents appear to be more anxious about the welfare of their kids than when I was younger. With the onset of scaremongering from everything from the local nonce to being knocked off their bike etc. Alot of parents can go over the top.

I have a friend who drops everything to pick up his daughter and constantly runs around after her, she is now 22. I mentioned it to him and got the coldest stare I ever saw him deliver, in fairness not my business.

I remember there were adds on the telly years ago about crossing the road and the funniest was the dude fetching his frizby from the local power station. My mother blamed the Frrizy and banned them.....

They would be molly coddled for sure. My Grandad only had one pair of shoes and they used to be his brothers.

I'm a blow in and was raised in a different enviroment,but some of the problems are the same here.Some kids are missing direction so they fall into whatever environment they are more easily comfortable with if there is no alternative.But if more events were offered outside of sports then they would avail of their peers and instructors to guidelines to be decent.I don't want to blame all parents but there are some who aren't bothered by what their kids are up to as long as they aren't bothering them,

• Registered Users Posts: 24,815 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Growing up, you could say I want to be like…

McGrath, Keane, Given, Irwin, Houghton, Aldridge, Quinn, McCarthy…

Debate Irelands best starting eleven, now ? I couldn’t, back then our players were revered. The team excited us.

The five forwards between then have scored 15 goals for Ireland, they and the rest of the side are mostly journeymen.

kids don’t have the inspiration but they have other distractions .

• Registered Users Posts: 23,816 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

They would, but their overprotective parents don't let them out of their sight.

Any green space not covered in sweatshirts and footballs with worn goal patches in all summer long, is a waste.

Id say if an Irish player kicked football with local kids now, they wouldn't even know who he was. Not many premier league players in the Irish squad now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I think that is more to do with the money the Premiership has now than a drop in quality. Much more S Americans, Africans, French, Spanish players to compete with now.

If you look at say Euro 88, many of the Dutch team were still playing for Ajax, Eindhoven, Feyenord etc. Granted Gullit and Van Basten were in italy I think. But the same can be said for the best Germans, Italians etc. In fact in italy at the time you were only picked for the national team if you played in Italy. This only changed the last few years in Italy, it is still frowned upon when Italians leave Italy to play elsewhere.

Houghton, Whelan, Aldridge , McGrath, Moran, Sheedy, etc were all playing for top tier 1st division teams ( the premiership at the time ).

These days the world is smaller and players follow the money, that means less opportunity for Irish players in England.

I am still amazed the Premiership does not attract some of our more talented GAA players.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Perseverance The Second

The Decline among young people not playing soccer is trend across most of Europe.

It's down to a combination of restrictive measures and more non-sport related activities.

It's no coincidence that a huge increase in the numbers of cars on the road means that playing a bit of street football is near impossible. More car traffic on the roads make it near impossible to have a kick about the road for fear of getting run over. With increased numbers cars it also means you have more people worried about the cars getting damaged by footballs.

Also just a simple fact that kids have a much wider array of things to enjoy. The continued rise of Videogames, More film + TV stream platforms, Youtube, TikTok etc.

This trend applies to pretty much all sports.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,536 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

We've a few local greens where kids play soccer often enough. Lot of GAA in the area too, so you see that also.

But don't think soccer is played on local greens anything like the numbers when I was a kid. We played one estate against the other. But these kids are playing with their clubs training or matches 3 times a week 6 times if they play two sport's. They probably want a break from it.

From memory I played nothing like as much for my clubs and schools. Maybe I was just at a low level. So any chance I got to kick a ball on green I would do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,040 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Ahh the good old days when we used jumpers for goal posts. Soccer being played on almost every green in the village. Now all the kids are vaping and flying around on those electric scooters.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Tik Tok/Smart phones over a game of Football !!! - Im so glad I grew up when I did - The same smart phones tell us obesity is on the rise , then that football/sport cause concussion - increasing anxiety - so much healthier to play /compete outside, than in the 'safe' virtual world.

True. they would be a lot better walking as well, no need for them to be using e-scooters.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,536 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Not all kids love football. They used to be forced into it and hate it. Lot of bullying goes on around football. Those of us who do/did like it. Don't remember that part of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Kids are always playing soccer outside my house. They broke the mirror on my car one day. I just move my car now when I see them playing on the street. Id rather see them playing football on the estate than up to no good.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,069 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

No. The kids that might have been playing soccerball have reverted back to their more natural instincts and roles of robbing cars and ramming Gardai.

They'd be more into organised crime than soccerball to be fair

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

This was such a good post and then you randomly mentioned the GAA. Why would Premier League teams, elite premier league teams go to an amateur sport and pick guys that play a sport played with the hands and with a stick when they can literally scour the globe for people who have specialised in the sport they are actually participating in. Your whole post basically talked about how these teams have global talent in a way they never did but for some reason end with surprise that they haven't signed some random hurler/gaa lad who probably played football at a decent/okay/relatively high level but not good enough to think he should pursue it full time. ofc Ireland misses out on some talent but not that much imo. I've never heard any story of a GAA player who was exceptional at football choosing GAA. I mean exceptional to the point that it would be a no brainer to pursue football. I'm aware plenty of good football players have probably eventually decided to pursue GAA in their teens.

Im not sure it has to do with the money in the premier league. Like is Josh Cullen as good as roy keane or liam brady? is troy parrot as good as robbie keane? Even if there want so many south americans and africans in the premier league, im not sure the Irish team wouldnt still be playing in the championship and league 1.