Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW replacement bulb !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

+ Vat.

€227

You'll be paying ~€80 for someone to install and level them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,673 ✭✭✭User1998

Try your local motor factors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I know on the mid 2000's 7 Series it was a dealer bumper off job to replace a headlight bulb and as a money saving tip it was best to replace both together rather than just do 1 and then end up doing the same job again on the other a few months later given both would have same expected lifespan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Well my next car won't be a bmw, not one from this century anyway.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Relax, this isn't a BMW only thing.

Those are Xenon bulbs which were fitted across many premium brands before LED became common. Xenon bulbs have a higher intensity light than a standard halogen bulb, plus they last longer. The downside is that they cost more when they need to be replaced and usually need to be replaced in pairs as the other one usually changes slightly in colour as it gets old. Cars fitted with Xenon lights usually have auto levelling too so you should not need to adjust them if fitted correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Don't be talking sense

A **** of dipetane will fix everything.

OP, find a local indy, get both bulbs done

It's part and parcel of motoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭moby2101

Thanks lads.

Never had to replace a bulb or anything for that matter in this current car a 172 430.

plot thickens however, this morning the dashcam which is hardwired didnt fire up and there was a battery discharge warning on the dash and the headlight that was supposedly gone was lit !!

so methinks the battery may be ffed or possibly something else.

ill book her in for a checkup, service pack has just expired but i bought the BMW warranty.

If your 430 is the facelifted (lci) model then the dipped headlights should be LED rather than the older xenon type. Easiest way to know is that the xenons have a headlight washer system whereas the LED headlights don't require them.

I'd also check the dashcam and it's wiring in the event that it's draining the battery which is causing the warning. It's the first thing the dealer will like to blame when they investigate. It could also just be the battery just needs replacing, if so the new one will need to be coded to the car.

Hi bazz,

thankfully it was the BMW dashcam that i had installed by Colm Quinn in Athlone so there shouldn’t be a n issue there. May well be that the battery is on the way out .

First dashcam died after 2 years and they upgraded and replaced new model FOC .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Girl Geraldine

€ 2/300 for a fúcking cúnt of a light bulb? Jesus wept.

And what sort of **** engineers were designing something where half the car needs to be dismantled to change a bulb. Was it designed by the HSE or something?

These premium brand cars are a rip off at every turn of the page. You'd say something if they were reliable and would last for ever, but they are more often than not absolute cúnts of yokes that break down after 10 years and are often economic write offs when it comes to repairs.

If it's a BMW dashcam then at least they cannot blame that on you. If it is the battery then don't be surprised to be charged €400/€500 by a main dealer to replace it and recode it.

If the car is out of warranty and your in Limerick then I can recommend two BMW indy garages who would be a bit cheaper than the main dealer to replace and recode the battery if needed.

Cheers bazz,

thanks for the info. Im going to get Colm Quinns to take a look , they have been excellent to deal with so far.

Yes based in Limerick, which Indy would you recommend?

i have the BMW warranty that i bought in June … Thankfully it’s been plain sailing to date , no issues.

You have a 4 yourself I think?

👍

Yeah I've a 171 430d GC myself. Have it 2 years now, great car and no issues with it so far (touch wood).

I've used Conlan's in Limerick for servicing and warranty work, they are not too bad as main dealers go. Heard good things about Colm Quinn servicing too but they are just too out of my way. The indy I've been using is LKD Motors in the Eastlink Business Park (not far from Conlan's). There is also CMC out the other side of the city in Clondrinagh, just off the Ennis Road.

Great, thanks for the info on the indy guys. Much appreciated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,868 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder