Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men without shirts in public enjoying the weather.

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 5,195 ✭✭✭bobbyss

To be honest with you if I saw my solicitor walking around Grafton Street, or any street, bare chested he would not be my solicitor for long. What would make it worse is if he was aware of how unacceptable it is.

Personally I would no go bare chested even in a park in summer.

I don't know what 'literally a solicitor ' means.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Ultimate scumbag look. Akin to the yokes wearing the pyjamas to the shops. Also a shout out to the men who wear those sleeveless tank tops out in public another knacker look.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Same every summer. They ruin it for everyone just trying to enjoy the few nice days we get every year.

Oh yes! The pyjamas lot. But I think there is less and less of that going on now? Would I be right?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

How is wearing a vest on a hot day a knacker look.

You make sure and cover your shoulders, you’re really showing how classy you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,364 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

You are aware many people who wear suits have to do so for their jobs? You have a choice to not wear a shirt and know people think it makes you look like a scumbag but don't mind looking like a scumbag.

Very few people wearing suits did the damage you want to say ALL people wearing suits are responsible for. Most just work in places that require it. Where as the types going around shirtless , drinking cans, spitting are actually very likely to assault people. They as a group are fully aware of people avoiding them as you must be when walking around shirtless. You could seem to not mind if people think you look like the sort because you don't care but I would say you would have an issue wearing something that you are opposed to like say kind and caring, gay, capable of working in an office. You do really care what people think of you and are happy to look like a thug

'literally a solicitor' means exactly that.

I mean, it can't be any more straight forward.

So when you are asked what you do for a living you say 'I'm literally a solicitor'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭Hamachi

I doubt those ‘scummy Irish’ are missing out on much by not interacting with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Judging people by what they wear, or not wear was always wrong, but after reading this thread I understand why the need of school uniforms. Well it is what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

We Irish are not used to such hot weather , men don't use sunblock, most men don't look good with no shirts or they are very pale and then they get sunburn . Climate change is here we are going to get record breaking hot days. Yes vitamin d is important but you get vitamin d just by wearing a t-shirt and shorts

I thought I would never do it... and then Covid. Albeit just going to the gate for takeaway, and pyjama top only with coat over it/normal jeans or pants going to the shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Clothes are a part of civility, yes how much we cover ourselves up with said clothes has changed and there are unsaid rules. Like going to the beach or a park, grand off goes the kit and catch some rays.

When it comes to places of business a basic level of respect to wear some clothes is expected and rightly so. Imagine all of us stripped down to the waist doing our shop in tesco etc.

All for free the nip, showing some skin or whatever, but there is still a standard expected. You go to a wedding you wear fancy clothes because you're showing respect for the occasion and people. Like that, wearing clothes in certain spaces and contexts shows a basic level of decency and respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Cunw

Nothing wrong with but people will look, gotta accept that because *you're* the one deciding freely to take your shirt / top off

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

lmao you know we don't get much sun. going around without a shirt is normal in any european coastal town, especially in areas beside the beach/sea. It wouldn't even get a second look.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,834 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

So, unacceptable if you're pasty white, acceptable if you're tanned?

I agree it's a scummy look, but, it's all about the actions too. No one would take much notice of a bunch of topless lads having a bit of a laugh together, whether that be playing frisby or soccer in a park or whatever. But topless Irish people, with their white skin (because a few weeks of sun a year doesn't require darker skin) drinking and acting like a scumbag is what you normally see. So people have associated it with that regardless.

As many have said though, I'd love to have even a small percentage of the confidence these lads have. Basically nothing to be showing off, but they still act like they do. And the body odour... people forget that you still need to wear antiperspirant even if you're not wearing a top! It stops the smell!

But I have an issue with people who are simply against it because of being white. We live in a country where white is the predominant colour due to the fact it's not a particularly sunny country. White skin burns, tanning doesn't resolve that. We should be supporting the all white look in this country. Less skin cancer issues then. But, sheeple do follow fashion, and fashion says white is not a good look...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,336 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wouldn't do it myself but doesn't bother me if someone else walks around with no shirt on.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,662 ✭✭✭✭josip

Can't believe we've gotten to page 4 of a topless thread without pics. I'd have no objection to this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭growleaves

Q: Who is opposed to men without shirts?

A: Vested interests

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I used to take my top off all the time but just out the back garden. I did take it off around town when I was younger. I also got skin damage on my shoulders from always being out in the sun over the years with my top off and not wearing any sun cream. I hate the look of the skin damage too. A couple of weeks ago in good weather I decided to take my top off while out the back without sun cream and the damn skin damage is way more pronounced from that day with my top off. I haven't gone to a skin specialist or talked to a doctor to find out my real diagnosis but from my limited googling it is like brown freckles or brown spots looks to even be age spots. Who knows unless I talk to a specialist.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

couldnt give a flying f... tbh if theyre missing out or not, they give the rest of us a bad name

• Registered Users Posts: 12 jacfrosty

anyone who gives out yisser only jealous

if ya work hard for ur body no problem to show it off

I have in the last few days and get loads of people tellin me I look great. Haters gonna hate

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

if ya work hard for ur body no problem to show it off

I do work hard for my body feeding it lots of food and beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

this boomer has like an average physique in 2022.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Go to a specialist if you are worried about it. They may say its fine or you may need to take precautions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Raven1221

I think I prefer to do that in my house and courtyard. This look more polite and so on like the etiquette.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Or Boris Johnson topless at a football match..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭trashcan

I guess not one of those metaphorical solicitors ?