Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solis Inverter - Battery charge & discharge rate

• 10-08-2022 9:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi All,

Recently had my PV system installed.

6.2kw

Solis Inverter

4.8kw battery (2 x Dyness 2.4kw)

Eddi, Harvi and Zappi (have had Zappi for about 6 months).

All is working as expected, except the charge rate of the battery. On the Solis its set as 25a charge and Discharge limitation. Ive changed it to 50 multiple times (2x25) but it keeps reverting immediately after I save it. Im used to messing with the clunky Solis interface, so am saving it correctly.

Interestingly, the Force charge rate is set as 50a when I select Dyness as the battery.

Im far from an expert on this stuff, learning as I go and doing lots of google work but not sure of the settings if I was to try a user defined battery.

Any experiences from others?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭graememk

When you set the battery to dyness (or any battery,) the charge and discharge rates are set by the batteries bms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 jimmyekehoe

Thanks @graememk …. the max rate according to the documentation is 25a per battery, with 2 its 50. For some reason, the BMS is limiting it to 25 for two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭SD_DRACULA

I have my battery set to dyness and have 4x 5kwh ones and the charge discharge is set to 200a automatically (the inverter only does 100a so it doesn't matter but it sees 4x 50a which is correct)

By the way you also need to change some of those settings manually after selecting Dyness battery, this was told to me by dyness support.

This is what they gave me (might be different for your batteries so drop them an email and ask to be 100%):

Floating:55.5V

Overvoltage:56.75V

Undervoltage:43~45V

Battery Select:

Dyness LV

Overdischg SOC:15% at least

ForceCharge SOC:5% at least,10% is good

Storage Mode Select:

Self use:ON

Charge from grid:Allow,it’s important!

I also had a issue in the past where it would halve the charge/discharge when I had a puredrive battery in and Solis had to update the firmware on the inverter to fix it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Punchin A Keyboard

100a discharge is that peak? My bad google skills gives me 4.8kw.

Reason I ask is do i make a decision on a hybrid invertor or non hybrid with a separate battery invertor :-|

Yes the solis can sustain 100a charge/discharge (around 5kw) and be aware that the likes of the sofar will only do 63a which is not great as you turn on the oven/hob/kettle and you're already pulling from grid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭AntonP

How would you setup the charge from grid on the menus? Thanks for the help

Just got the Solis with Dyness A48100 and wondering what are the correct settings.

what’s quoted on their manual doesn’t match the wording on the Solis inverter and is a bit confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,068 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Go to advanced settings pin is 0010

First step is to make sure you Set Storage mode to self-use mode 

Advanced Setting->Storage Energy Set->Storage Mode Select->Self Use->ON 

Enable charge from grid function

Advanced Setting->Storage Energy Set->Storage Mode Select->Self Use-> Charge from grid->Allow

Set time charging to ON

Advanced Setting->Storage Energy Set->Storage Mode Select->Self Use-> Time of Use->RUN

Select a charging time to set force charging the battery for the period selected

Advanced Setting->Storage Energy Set->Storage Mode Select->Self Use-> Time of Use->Charging time

Thank you. Will apply tomorrow.

also, does anyone know how to match the Dyness values to the Solis? I see the naming of measures is inconsistent between them and seems the default values are not the optimal, for what I can read here.

I’ve sent them an email but unsure if they will reply.

this is what I can see of the manual for the A48100, but very inconsistent naming . What’s what with the Solis menus?

Thanks for any help.

also, perhaps stupid question but related to these figures. I read on the manual the max discharge of the battery is 3.6kw however the live data only goes up to 2.4

would anyone know if that is normal or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,757 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I have the same setup. Same inverter. Same battery (Dyness A48100). I have 4 of them.

The batteries' BMS limit the charge/discharge rate to 50A. I've changed the modes in the inverter, but the same as you, after making and saving the changes the battery BMS changes it back to 50a.

I was a bit peeved initially but 50a is 2.5kW approx 0.5C, so probably best for battery life anyway

Are you saying you're getting only 50A max with 4 batteries? That's not right, I am getting 100A from 4 of them no problem and in that menu above if you change it to 100A and it goes back to 50A get onto Solis and have them push it to 100A remotely. Those are not BMS values but inverter values.

That happened to me recently and dropped to 70A for no reason and me setting it to 100A didn't stick but it did when Solis did it.

And 50A is about 0.25C since four batteries give you 200A @ 1C

That's exactly what I'm getting, 50A with 4 batteries and I cannot change it.

How do I send this to solis?

Call them, give them your plant id and ask them to update it to 100A, emails didn't help for me.

I also had it drop from 100A to 50A all of a sudden when I had a puredrive and a FW update fixed it then.

You could try pushing them values via modbus if you have that set up.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

You're getting shafted there. The (supposed) inverter limit of 100A would only be 0.25C on a 20kWh pack. A 5kWh PureDrive is capable of 100A by itself.

As SD says, get on to Solis and get that sorted ASAP. You're only discarding excess surplus and importing again above 2.5kW.

Modbus is the way to go if you're technically inclined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭yankinlk

I have one 5yness 5KW and I get the same 50A. Seems to be fine for my current setup but it would be a concern if i invested in more capacity. Another tick against me expanding my install with diy :(

If you do get this resolved tho, could you post the fix for others please.

I will for sure. I have Asperger's and find making phonecalls very problematic so it may not be today. I was looking online and apparently the ticket system doesnt really work out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,602 ✭✭✭con747

My Solis was doing the 70amp the other day so I rang earlier and while on hold I just went out to check it again and it was back on the 100amps, just checked again and it still is. I didn't wait on a rep on the phone because I know it's a long wait and the issue had gone.

Hard to know what's going on with them at this stage.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

So I tried changing the battery from Dyness LV to "User Define". I manually entered the AH and the charge/discharge amp limit. It still reset to 50a.

For the Dyness , do you get a max discharge above 2.4kw ? Manual says up to 3.6k, however i can only see it go to 2.4 . Same for charging , not sure if is normal or what.

so, ye lads say the values for the Solis inverter default for the Dyness ev (single 4800 battery) are ok or you suggest changes from my pics?

I think 50A is correct for one battery as they can only do 50A continuous charge/discharge (as in your manual) which is about 2.5kwh

You need two or more batteries to get up to 100A.

Yep, thanks I get the 50A value seems constant and correct

seems ye already have the hardware… this should an easy Q for ye, couldn’t find a straight answer

would you rather have 1 battery 4.8kw at 0.5c that max discharge is 2.4K or would you have more discharge potential if you had 2x2.4kw batteries connected (I assume same capacity) or same.

in other words , considering the discharge the electric showers need 9kw peak, would I rather be better with 2 or 3x2.4 in terms of max discharge? (If that works that way?)

My current understanding is that 2x2.4 would be same as 1x4.8 for capacity and max discharge, but 3x2.4 would up to 7.2 capacity and 3.6 max discharge, and also 2x4.8k would give 9.6k capacity and 4.8k max discharge, right? or am I mistaken?

seems a bit in the edge, kettle goes up to 3k but 1 4.8k battery on its own can only supply 2.4K , so you always have to pay prime price for anything over 2.4 if no sun out there. Not even starting with the electric shower numbers.

Thx

PS. Just to clarify, and answer one of my questions to myself, as per manufacturers:

They say “recommended” 0.5c but max 0.75c which would correspond with manual saying of max discharge 3.6k (for the 4.8k battery). Probably not best for longevity to try to force that.

Post edited by AntonP on

If you connect in parallel, each battery adds to the amount of storage and thus decreases the C value of a constant power demand. 1 4.8 or 2 2.4 doesnt matter. You'd probably get 1*4.8 cheaper than 2*2.4

EG on a 50Ah battery (2.5kWh), 50A/2.5kW discharge is 1C and probably quite high. To increase the discharge rate you would need to increase the Ah/kWh. EG I have 400Ah, meaning my current - pardon the pun - discharge rate of 50A/2.5kW decreases from 1C to 0.25C as I have increased 50Ah to 400Ah

So, what ways or setup can you use to increase discharge rate with extra battery setup? Sorry, I can't seem to grasp that bit.

For example:

PYLON-US2000C

Battery Type:Lithium Ion

Nominal Energy:2400 Wh

Depth of discharge:95.00 %

Voltage:48 V

Continuous Discharge Rate (Normal Use):1200 W

Maximum Discharge Rate (5 Minutes):2400 W

Wouldn't the discharge rate of 3 x 2.5 Kw of these PYLON batteries be 3.6Kw (0.5C) ? and its total capacity 7.2 Kw (3 x 2.4)?

and if I don't understand it incorrectly, it would serve 7.2Kw for 5 minutes?

Each battery has a 50A discharge rate. I have 4 of the A48100. So I would have 400Ah of storage. Therefore my max would be 100A limited by the inverter. 100A at 48v is 4.8kW approx,

You can't look at the peak rate, you have to look at the normal use rate. So in the example you have above the normal discharge rate is 1.2kW. Given the battery capacity is 50Ah, you're looking at 25A max normal discharge rate from that battery. (48v * 25A to give 1200w).

Add two of them in parallel and your 50Ah becomes 100Ah. Etc. I think it's only the smaller 2.5kWh batteries that are 25A normal use, the bigger batteries are 50A normal. Just to further complexify.

Thanks, then I understand that, considering inverter will take up to 100A:

1 x 4.8Kw battery A48100 (the one I have actually) would be able to provide 2.4Kw (this is what I can see from mine standalone)

if I connect a second one:

2 x 4.8 Kw battery A48100 -> would provide 4.8Kw max discharge, 100A

any more batteries won't add more discharge rate because the inverter won't be able to handle.

Same would apply for the Pylons 2.4 Kw (at 0.5C) and discharge of 1.2K

1 x Pylon 2.4 Kw => 1.2K max discharge, 2.4 storage, 25A

2 x Pylon 2.4 Kw => 2.4K max discharge, 4.8 storage, 50A

3 x Pylon 2.4 Kw => 3.6K max discharge, 7.6 storage, 75A

4 x Pylon 2.4 Kw => 4.8K max discharge, 9.2 storage, 100A

So, 2 x pylons are equivalent to 1 A48100 and 4 x pylons to 2 x A48100, where storage and discharge rate multiplies by the number of batteries

Is this Correct?

I am just considering replacing my 1x4.8Kw for 3x2.4 or even adding a second 4.8k IF when I am using the electric shower (9k) or anything over the 2.4K max discharge rate would get server by the 2 batteries up to 4.8KW) that's why I'd like to be100% sure my thinking is right. (and it would also help others with the same Q)

Yes I think that reads correct to me. I'm open to correction

Thanks for your patience. These things better be 100% sure. :)

Your setup serves up to 4.8Kw of power to any demanding appliance, i.e. Kettle 3Kw and immersion 2Kw at the same time would be almost served all by the battery (4.8Kw and 0.2 from mains) if charged fully and nothing coming from the panels.

You have 19.2K storage with your 4 batteries. However, with just 2 batteries storage would be 9.6K but would serve the power at same 4.8K rate.

Limitation in the inverter in this case. I have the Solis 5K but is to be replaced with the 6K, not sure if any benefits there, as I read:

• Max Charging Capacity: 5kW

as you were saying in the A48100 post, I agree with you: Hard to get.

I've sent a couple inquiries around to figure out will post there if I get any answer for anyone else interested.

I've just got the PV system, I am wondering / trying to see if I can swap the 4.8K A48100 for 3 pylons x 2.4 or add a 2nd A48100 if possible with pricing.

Second A48100 would be great but perhaps money overkill, not sure, if done by installer.

Have you done the setup of the A48100's yourself? Is it something that could be done following pictures of cabling and simple instructions or it requires too much fiddling to venture risks?

Thanks again. Great help.

No worries. Look at my post in the solar noob thread, I only recently burned out an inverter (not the main inverter) by overloading. We're all learning! I was actually supposed to be getting the Pylontech 5kWh batteries but the installer couldnt get them for another month or so, so I accepted the slightly smaller Dyness batteries , missing out on a few watt hours of storage.

Yes, the max deliverable power from these batteries is approx 5kW, thats the 100a limit from the battery and moreso the inverter. I'd say the batteries could do more if you have them in a large parallel setup but the inverter limits it to 100a.

Regarding the setup process it's not that difficult. I'd say out of wiring the PV, the Inverter, and the batteries, the batteries are the easiest if you have and foloow the wiring diagram especially. Even easier again if your installer does the first one and you add to the array in the future. (For this you should use the same battery). That\s my intention, to add more dyness A48100 in the future. I can buy them through my company, at ccl europe for about 2k per 5kWh.

Once you use the proper AWG 4 wire and fuse it correctly following the diagrams it will work fine.

I've already got one A48100 installed to the Inverter... I've asked the installer for a quote to double capacity by adding a 2nd one but I guess will be expensive.

In 10 years or less, I could make the 2 grand just by night saving in winter and getting the discharge limit doubled, that's why I was so particular trying to get my understanding right. I've recheck the n00b thread, having been lurking there for a while.

Am no expert in this kind of equipment, but if the job is to drill the wholes in the wall, plug the positive/negative cables as per the diagram and follow instructions like that, if all materials are included with the second battery, I would study it.

Not sure what "AWG 4 wire" is , have no equipment myself to deal with any of that if is needed...

Thanks again ELM for the info

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

AWG = American wire gauge. Not used here.

Over here we refer to cables based on the cross sectional area. e.g. 6mm²

Oh. The wires the installer used are labelled 4AWG and all the youtubers I follow mention 4 gage wire etc. Didnt know we had different terms here.

Have you setup the master / slave and everything else like Dyness recommends? Perhaps the switches are not correctly setup and they are not talking proper to the inverter.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/FC5ZXTJ3SIKU/dyness-a48100-battery-and-solis-setup-28start-26shut-down-29.pdf

and I also got this from Dyness Support:

"

If you use the A48100 to match the Solis inverter, these values can be set as follows: 

Floating charge: 53.5 V 

Equalising charge: 55V (default 55V, cannot be changed) 

Battery over voltage: 56V (you can set a high point, the battery will protect itself) 

Battery under Voltage: 42V 

"

Which seems to say the defaults my Solis is setting by default are ok besides the Over voltage shall be 56 vs 60.

Yes have checked and that is configured correctly

Doubt you can do anything further other than get Solis support to force the 100a values or update firmware which might fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭bullit_dodger

Just curious, how big is your battery ELM327? And how long does it last....all night?

Ignoring the obviously obvious puns that I am tempted to make :P

just under 20kWh currently. I don't use it overnight. Current setup is that I have time of use with 5A charge rate (as anything lower seems to result in minor discharge of 100w) between 00:00 and 09:00. Then solar powers the day. If the battery gets a bit low, eg after two bad days in a row I might up the 5a to 13a or something to build up a buffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭bullit_dodger

HA! I'd actually I missed the puns/double entendres there! LOL Not like me.

No my question was relating more to a similar case a while back. Person wanted to get the discharge rate increased, but it was (for them) a pointless exercise as they had a small'ish battery and would deplete long before night time kicked in.

A bit like

a) you can discharge at 3Kw and your battery would be dead at 9pm, or

b) you can discharge at 5Kw and your battery would be dead at 8pm.

In that case it doesn't matter a damm as all the energy you have gets used before night rate kicks in and you import the same amount in either scenario. I forgot however that your long term goal is to get Off grid (entirely) so I guess it would matter for you a bit.

Yes I think long term I will need another inverter anyway. I think I will have to look in to if I can AC couple the solis operating in non hybrid mode to a victron quatro.

However my current aim is for close to 0 day usage. Most days the 50a limit isnt actually that problematic as unless it's particularly sunny my normal generation is 3-4kW and there isnt much excess. over 2.5kW to battery + base house load. I do all my drying, washing, cooking etc during the day for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Punchin A Keyboard

I have seen a fronius victron presentation where they both AC coupled and DC coupled a quattro. And threw in a Genset for good measure.

• Moderators Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Sorry to dig up this thread again, but I could do with a bit of clarification if ye could help out.

I have a Dyness 5.1kWh BX51100, which from what I can see in the specs has a recommended charge/discharge current of 50amp, but a max of 75amp.

I'm only getting 2.5kW out from it, so I suspect either the BMS (unlikely given it says 75A max) or the inverter (away at the moment, but I assume this is set to 50A discharge). Is there anything stopping me bumping this to 75Amp? Battery health impact? Any risks? Solis inverter potentially firmware locked to only allow 50A?

Oven, hob, kettle all pull over 2.5kW, so it'd be nice if I could get those handled by battery power on these dull evenings.

Nah I think that 75a is for a few seconds tops, you want to look for continuous discharge rate which is probably 50a. Not a setting you can change it's all in the BMS.

I have the B51100 and they are the same, you can only get more if you have more than one battery.

And even then the Solis does 100A for 15 mins then drops it to 70A so quick answer is that you can't even get continuous 100A with two batteries.

• Moderators Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Pity. Wonder what happens if I try run the oven off the battery alone? Would it trip the rcb?

I had visions of being able to run solely off the battery until it died. Now it seems like regardless of whether my battery is full, my kettle and oven are at least going to require grid supply to run.

At least in summer I'll likely have enough evening solar to replace the grid when subsiding the battery for dinner time.

You might get away with oven (air fryer for sure), they usually are around 2.5kwh but they do go on and off as needed so maybe.

But it won't trip anything, will just take the remaining power needed from the grid.

The only single 5kwh battery I know of that can do 100a is the puredrive but the inverter will limit that the same way after 15 mins.

Post edited by SD_DRACULA on

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭graememk

I think the weco can do a sustained 100amps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭silver_sky

Puredrive can do 100A also, although in the colder weather now with battery in the attic I'm finding it throttled back to 50A most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 mossyd

Sorry to piggyback here, but I have same issue.

2x Dyness 5.1kWh BX51100 connected to Sofar 6kw hybrid inverter.

I can only discharge at 2.5kw (50a I think) and want to increase this. Any advice how I can do this and what I should increase it to?

Keep in mind, I want to use what I have before I pull from grid with battery charged over night, I current use it all day (with the extra charge I get from pannels) and still have some left over before night comes and I start a new cycle.

Thanks for any advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭bawnBeag

Anyone have WECO batteries? I have 2 5k3 batteries and I noticed that when I get to 20% SOC it throttles discharge down to 10s of watts. I tried setting the Over discharge SOC from 20% to 10% but it keeps resetting to 20%. Anyone manage to change this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭bawnBeag

Actually, I realised that I was trying to set it to the same value as FOC. FOC needs to be lower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭gomamochi1

Sorry to hijack the thread but I have 2 x Pylontech 2000's on a solis inverter along with a recently added Pylontech 2000c that is load balancing as I had an issue with the 2 original batteries discharging during a power outage and not restarting. Just got them back online via connecting each one individually to the new one and balanced them out today on grid charging. My query is what is the max discharge rate of the 3 batteries as I Thought it would be over 2.5kw due to the extra battery? Do I need to change Solis Hybrid inverter settings? Thanks