Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone Else Miss the Pandemic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

You need to inform the guards about whoever it is that is forcing you to go to pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I don't miss the pandemic and all the hoopla and nonsense that surrounded it. Wasn't affected hugely by it.

Ignored the distance rules and all that rubbish, visited parents, siblings, nice walks on empty beaches, hills, forests etc.

The sea-change in working environment was certainly one good thing to come out of it.

I did quite enjoy the drinking in shebeens, houses, outdoors, back of offices, lock ins etc, drinking normally in pubs has seemed almost boring since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

The pandemic that is continuing has brought about many positives but we will be suffering from many negatives for a long time and don't know the extent of these issues.

I doubt I will ever be in a office full time ever again. The local community really came out and the whole area is much nicer as a result.

Unfortunately the divide in the work force is bad for others. Less need for coffee shops as less workers go into offices. Those that kept their jobs with little to no effect managed to save a lot of money. This has a huge effect on inequality and part of the reason for higher property prices.

It also helped identify those who were idiots and ignored health advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Come back Corona 19 we miss u. And we love u.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭MyLove4Satan

But it was an important one. Those of us who saw through this mass brainwashing scam from the start and feel for none of it are now proven to be the ones who you should be thanking for it ending by resisting the non stop propaganda.

I'll let the mods close this thread now and ban me. Bye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

It is not that I miss the pandemic but in some ways we are in much deeper sh1t now than when it was happening. There has been a huge uptick in Orwellianism, massive inflation, war on our doorstep, global warming, shortages of everything, economic uncertainty.

The early stage of lockdown does seem better compared to now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

I don't miss the lockdown etc. But I do miss the range of online things that were available. Lots of things like conferences, training etc that were really only open to people living close to the event (mainly in Dublin) went online and you could attend from your home. Most of those now seem to have gone back to in person events which makes it impossible for the majority of people to attend. It is a pity that some sort of a hybrid model could not have been maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

yes, seriously, the government did do a very good of job of protecting us over the last couple of years, yes there were mistakes made, and big ones to, but over all, they done a good job considering how much degradation has been done to our political institutions over the decades.

yes op, many forms of ptsd are occurring post covid, and we do not have the health system in place to appropriately deal with them, reach out if needs be, be be prepared to pay, if needs must, best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,315 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Lol. No one forcing me to go to any pub lol. I stay well clear unless it's a family event.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

You saw through nothing and likely to be a person who increased risks to others probably making the situation worse. All the people I know who thought they knew better caught covid and I know at least 1 person who spread it to 5 others and others were at least suspected of causing others to be infected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

I really miss vilifying the unvaccinated and blaming them for everything. I was right behind the media, celebs and political classes in making the unvaccinated feel guilty and to blame for prolonged lockdowns etc I felt really good about myself and my social media posts are still there to show how much of a good citizen I was.

I adored the jerusalema dance routines, and watched our very own heroes over and over dancing around the headlands, streets,beaches and parks. I used to get goosebumps watching it. The way they tapped their feet, ohhhh it really looked as if they should be on a music video. I'm sure there's a few already who got offers of being in pop videos etc from scouts.

And how much I love to see people masked up while alone driving their car's,every time I seen them I felt safe and knew that they were fine citizens.

Hopefully we'll continue to drive our cars alone wearing masks.

Look at him, he's just gotten out of his car and all masked up. Clean cut, nice jeans, a shirt and lovely shoe's, short back and sides and has mask on. He even shaved off his beard in order for the mask to be as safe as possible. He's safe from himself, and should be thanked for his powerful virtu signaling. And his uniform of obedience, Polo Ralph Lauren shirt, nice Tommy Hilfiger jeans, jock shoe's, and a mask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭HerrKapitan

Don't worry you won't have to wait too long. On two seperate occasions in a week Biden has stressed that there IS going to be another pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,525 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No. Fcuk all of it to hell.

I certainly don't miss misanthropes spouting how much they are 'enjoying' their pandemic. Fcuk right off and live in a cave and barricade yourselves in and leave the rest of us do what we want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭megaten

It's not actually over but no I don't.

The first year was alright bar the first few weeks and to a degree peaceful but year 2 in particular was super rough and stressful I found. The first Christmas in particular where you were expected to be simultaneously super sociable and also extremely careful was awful.

I'm not one bit funny Ray. I assure you of that.

What makes you think I'm funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,264 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

It's not 'judgement', it's common sense. Most people leave their misanthropy behind them when they leave their teens as part of 'growing up'.

Man, there's nothing more holy and virtuous than being obedient and not questioning anything.

There was something spiritual about the lockdowns, and every step of the way we were lead by our overlords. I had no problem turning on anyone who didn't obey, and on social media I gave them hell. Calling them out day and night.

It finally gave me meaning in my life, I felt responsibility's beyond my wildest dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,525 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,264 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

It gave society a united front, similar to one in wartime, but to say it actually gave your life some kind of meaning is a little bit bizarre.

If you can get a spiritual feeling from pandemic related lockdowns, then I think there might be something else less severe you could probably also extrapolate a bit of meaning from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,655 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Thread has now become stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

Don't worry, Government has signed mandatory mask wearing back into law again, just in case. Ironic really, only a few months ago people were calling for the apartheid system where only those with booster passports would be allowed to access hospitality, if you didn't get a booster you were a monstrous granny killing leper who should be shunned and chastised. Since then we've had well over 40,000 mostly unvaccinated people arrive and that's grand, no need for them to have vaccines, it's all good. Now there's a sharp rise in the numbers in the counties where the highest numbers of those people live, but shure it's all grand. We'll just go back to wearing masks again. I suppose RTE will be beating the drum for this, the constant Covid ads meant they made a profit for the first time in years, never mind that the money came out of the HSE budget.

NO, I don't miss the pandemic. I was disgusted at how easily people gave up their civil liberties and look where it's gotten us, the government don't give a crap anymore, they do as they please and Paddy and Mary bend over and grab their ankles and just pray they get some lube before they get shafted. It was a pointless disgrace. All the pigs that did best from the trough are all either in or on their way to obscenely paid jobs in the private sector. Ironically, our deputy CMO is now employed by the same company that was being considered for secret surveilance of the public during the pandemic. So if you used your bank card to pay for anything outside of your allotted 5 kilometers they'd know about it and fine you. Only the non entity Donnelly is still in the job and until he pops up you forget the guy even exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭Allinall

The government haven't signed anything back into law again.

The rest of your post is just incoherent ranting.

Long COVID, perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

Try reading a paper today. My post makes perfect sense, if you choose to ignore that, well..I really don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭Allinall

Any link to say the government have signed mandatory mask wearing back into law?

There should be a reference to the statute.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭asdfg87

This was Dub Airport, i don't think i should have being there either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Shoog

Its not virtuous, its just sensible. No one gets a gold star - but some people get to remain alive.

Some people don't think it was worth it - my message to them is grow up.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭asdfg87

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

The pandemic or the restrictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

You keep telling yourself that, while you continue to judge people for having an opinion different to yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

It meant a certain number of eighty five year olds might now make it to eight seven, runaway inflation ( amongst other things ) was definitely a price worth paying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭sporina

there are a lot of sad sad people on this platform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

There are a lot of sad sad people on this planet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,406 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I was feeling nostalgic about the other thread.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119108245#Comment_119108245

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,023 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Interesting Question but perhaps the question should be what people don't miss about the pandemic.

But I do honestly find myself wondering of late about the seemingly endless chaos, Bad news daily, problem after problem , social cohesion in melt down, constant negativity, gloom and doom since last Feb and as appalling as the Pandemic was and what people went through and the challenges everyone faced , Ireland seemed at one (despite some outlandish conspiracy theories) , we faced it would seem one, maybe too daily problems cropped up daily.

Now, mother of God there seems to be utter chaos, cost of living, housing crisis, worsening health service , social cohesion breaking down and some utterly bewildering government decisions.

The Pandemic was dreadful, but the two years almost seemed peaceful in comparison to what's been going on for the past 6 months.

Post edited by Dempo1 on

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

There's always another pandemic coming and has been for the last 50 years. COVID has been massively dented to the point that it's likely to be part of the annual flu' programme. We remain in a continued state of heightened awareness due to a fair level of overtesting and reporting, we are now indifferent to any daily numbers that are not equivalent to the size of a small city.

As to the thread question not missed at all, the pandemic is just one of those memories like a bad holiday you went on once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭yagan

I don't miss the lockdowns, but I do miss the personal space. I hate people leaning in to talk to me when I can hear them perfectly. Some people really have a problem with personal space so for a few years it was great to have people being observing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,823 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don’t miss it, why would you… but if tomorrow a new variant was announced and a lockdown was introduced I don’t think I’d blink…used to it and that lifestyle..adapt and overcome..

Entertainment…..great TV, Netflix, PS4.. loads of unused games, unread books,

clothes…. Bought lots online, spent about 1500 on clothes that would have cost twice that pre pandemic.

but the positives simply dwarf in terms of the carnage, heartbreak and suffering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I miss the quiet roads, lack of traffic, lack of tourists, now its back to normal, busy streets, more noise. I think alot of people are still working from home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I did like the quiet roads and half empty buses when going to work. I also enjoyed going for long walks along the coast line on my days off. Apart from that it was a pain in the hole. Long queues for supermarkets, no pubs or coffee shops open, and worst of all was not being able to travel back home to see my parents and family, and the constant worry for my parents, especially my mother who doesn't have a great immune system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭fits

My husband has lots of events for work now again and away a lot of the week. I miss when those weren't on. Was great to have him home more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

I miss the amount of money I saved every month and not having to go to stuff I couldn't be arsed with, from it being cancelled or me just playing the covid card "cases are through the roof!"....other than that, it was crap.

I'm not the most sociable guy but the period from Jan - June 2021 was **** grim, that was rough for me so I cant imagine how most "normal" people found it.

I actually have covid right now believe it or not and I'm still 100% against anymore lockdowns, I might wear my mask again on occasion and I'll def bring my wee hand sanitiser back out with me but no more lockdowns, no way.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭cezanne

I loved it living in the sticks so didnt have to keep any rules except going to work. i didnt have to do that it was great WFH with my dogs at my feet and sitting in the sun with the music on no nasty manager watching my every move and being a bollox ! Loved that bit a manager with no one to bully......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭sporina

do i miss a pandemic - hell no...

elements of the restrictions - yes.. ie: slower pace of life..

just a pity it took a pandemic to bring that about

trying to retain some of the quietness but its tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

That was the worst period for me too. The first year was grand, I had plenty of free time to pursue hobbies and get fit, but by March 2021 I was starting to lose the motivation to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Never say never again as you have no idea when the next pandemic will hit. As bad and all as COVID was it could've been a hell of a lot worse.

During the first few weeks it was an exceptionally worrying time, thinking and wondering what would become of us, our country and indeed our way of life. Aside from those major worries, the inanity of many aspects of modern life in suspension was nice, particularly the relegation of sport and entertainment to their level of actual importance was welcome.

The second year was the hardest to keep the line though. The vaccine was available and effective and most of us were just waiting to get it. It was disappointing to see how far crank theory has infiltrated Irish society though.

Lastly, the pandemic showed that a substantial minority have very little resilience - that is probably the big take away and that may be our undoing in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,703 ✭✭✭Feisar

No, it was a total pain in the hole.

Positives:

We were all in the house together when the young lad took his first steps.

My emergency supply of food was no longer was looked at as daft by my wife.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭yagan

If it weren't for the elderly inlaws I reckon we wouldn't have been as stressed. I hated all the things you cited and after the first lockdown we started looking at options for moving out of Dublin, partner got a transfer that allowed us escape to a much quieter easier pace of life. It was very much inspired by the thought of comfort during future pandemics. I chuckle when I hear the traffic reports about the M50 on the morning radio now.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭MyLove4Satan

'Luke O'Neill was just pourrrrred into that giant ball on Claire Byrne's Psychological Terrorism Broadcasts."