Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NI verdict & sentence - what would they get in Republic ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Is that Big Joe's (shite in a bucket) son ?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,863 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

“Brandishing a slash-hook in one hand and plastic bottle filled with ammonia”

And the other half roaring…

"My Joe didn't mean it.”

Be interesting to see what the actual tariff is…. I wouldn’t imagine a judge would be lenient even given probable provocation….the circumstances regarding hacking his victim to death really will do for him….

• Registered Users Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭kirk.

Isn't the UK life sentence shorter than here

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭inajock

Bare nuckle fighter.. brings slash hook and a bottle of ammonia to a scrap

• Registered Users Posts: 14,064 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

2 houses as well...suppose, you would need to travel between them

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Murder carries a mandatory life sentance in Ireland.

You're welcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭kirk.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Irish Times article from this year has the average life sentance served in Ireland as 20 years.

BBC article from 2019 has the average life sentance in England & Wales as 17 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭dontmindme

I don't know the full circumstances of the case but going from that newspaper article where 3 armed men approached his house with intent to do harm surely there must have been some level of self-defence?? Also, stabbing or slashing someone in the leg is seen as murderous intent?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,500 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

He would have got a life sentence here , which equates to about 8 years

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Juran

I'm no legal expert, but I think manslaughter would be applied in Ireland. It seems to be when its fighting within gangs, or strangers having a bust up after a night on the town (without the use of guns in both case examples).

• Registered Users Posts: 18,181 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

No way thats murder, no matter what his background.

3 lads came armed to his house looking for a fight, in the struggle one gets sliced on the leg and subsequently dies.

I've no time for their "culture" but call it like it is, thats manslaughter and not murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,705 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I would go with what the jury having heard all the evidence decided. Newspaper reports do not give the full story. The newspaper report does say that the court will decide the sentence tariff later. It could be anything up to a full life term, but in the absence of that information, it is not a good basis to compare this case to anything in Ireland.

Life means life in that anyone on early release (after average 18 years in Ireland) is out on parole for the rest of their life, and can go back in if they break the parole conditions.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

You're about 30 years out of date with that. Its been a minimum of 12 and usually 20+ on release in recent years. We're higher than the UK too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

He’s the fella that was posting youtube videos of his young son downing pints in a pub. Pure scumbag. As for the wife and her howling…..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

I was working in a bar one evening and some tit on the day shift had served two traveller women. One was trying to persuade the other to go out for the night. The other one was saying she couldn't as she's be beaten. To which the first replied, "shure take the baitin' tomorrow". Domestic abuse being the norm. So sad.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,500 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

12 sounds abit more like it alright. Plus another few on licence/ halfway house.

The thing is , in the uk there's a full life tariff which means they'll never be released.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭piplip87

Jaysus I don't know about this one tbh. No doubt Joyce is a scumbag and possibly deserved the beating he was in line for, he slashed a fella in the leg who was coming to threaten his family in his home.

Theres grounds for self defence here. I'd imagine it will be reduced to manslaughter on appeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Ah no. The poor Young Hulk.

I'll miss your videos Big Joe's Joe.