General Premier League Thread 2022-23 - mod note in OP 12/03/23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

Shaw was desperate for that goal. Desperate. At least Martinez would have halved the other player. On the penalty, it was a penalty. But the on field decision wasn’t a clear and obvious error? He initially tried to keep his hands in and maybe that was enough for the ref?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,135 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The ball never actually hot Kiwior's hand though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Nice thinly veiled personal abuse there 👍🏻

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,244 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I thought you were speaking on behalf of the other fella. I mean you were hardly being serious?

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

I was speaking on his behalf (unofficially obvs) yeah, but I’ve seen the narrative myself in various places.

So you were insulting him?

And this place isn’t much better than Twitter these days fwiw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,920 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Horrific looking head injuries.

Bruno more interested in trying to whine for a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

He isn’t wrong though. Hard to understand why it wouldn’t be a penalty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

He has no levels at all, could not give a care if his teammate has a serious injury.

No. He also didn't use twitter as evidence. He hasn't backed up what he was going on about and I don't expect him to either.

I don't think United fans are any different to any other supporters.

Soucek and Rice have been really outstanding today considering their mystery illness during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭eigrod

Totally deserved by West Ham. Could’ve been 3 or 4. They’ll be happy to be safe with theEuropean games upcoming. CL door a little open for Liverpool now and 2 from Everton, Forest, Leeds & Leicester to go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Careful or you’ll get called a moron for posting a tweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭eigrod

He’s become a parody at this stage. Trolling Liverpool about 4th place all week and now blaming the Glazers again when a couple of results go against them. He’s behaving like a 12 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭doc_17

It’s still very, very likely that Utd and GeordiArabia will not be top 4.

Post edited by doc_17 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

It's bizarre. He started off surprisingly well, I was shocked that I actually liked hearing what he had to say when he first joined Sky. Sometime over the past few years he turned into exactly the type of pundit I thought he would be when he first moved into the media. He's a complete clown now.

Sky have clearly abandoned any policy of impartiality with their pundits and appear to actually encourage bias so they can post up clips on YouTube of HEATED debates between various ex pros after each weekend. I suspect this is why Neville went off the deep end, he was told to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

You can't use Twitter as a source for anything. It's a very very weird space. I'm fairly sure half of the "fans" you see on Twitter are on the wind up.

There's definitely rival fans posing as fans of other clubs to fan the flames as well. Like I said, weird space. The tick used to help filter a lot of shite out but Elon rightly fecked that up

Post edited by IncognitoMan on

That defeat tonight comes as part of a whole host of issues at the club that are, yes! the fault of the Glazers

Look, we all know fine well why rival fans want to back the Glazers.

Post edited by IncognitoMan on

Nonsense from Jamie as usual - more interested in getting the quick sly dig in than actually making a decent point.

Weghorst was signed for the club because the Glazers have run things so astronomically bad for years that the club could not afford to sign a striker of better quality. When your striking options are Weghorst and Martial then no manager is going to turn that into gold.

We'd be worse off without Antony and Casemiro so not sure what point he is trying to make there. And Casemiro is on a 4 year deal from when he was 30.

Making up your own numbers there Jamie

But did utd really need Anthony when they already had spent massive money on Sancho. Surely that money could of been spent on a striker. Was it Ten Hag that pushed for Anthony? Surely targeting a striker last summer was more important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

Neville doesn't blame the Glazers for the loss. He doesn't blame anyone.

He says that games like that allows Eth to see a different side to some players, then in a separate issue he blames the Glazers for not making a decision on the future of the club and getting on with the sale of the club.

That's my take on it.

Not sure what Carragher and others are on about.

Utd's best performances this season have typically come when Athony has been on the pitch. Now that's not to say he's been amazing for every minute he has been on the pitch but when it is working, when you can see the team moving in the style that ETH will eventually want to play then Antony has been important to that translating to the pitch.

Sancho and Antony are very different player profiles. ETH wanted the latter profile to fit his long term plan. ETH was not involved in signing Sancho.

Do you remember what part of the transfer window Utd signed Antony in also? September 1st the deal was confirmed.

I would like to know which striker Utd should have signed at the end of August / start of September instead of Antony. Also remember - Ronaldo is currently on the books still at this time due to... reasons. So you have to account for that expense.

Truth is - Antony should have been signed weeks and weeks before he was. But ETH was let down by those negotiating the deal. It dragged on and Ajax sold off enough other players that they were happy with their summer business. Then we went back after much arsing around on other targets to Ajax who now do not need to sell Antony because they have money from other sales AND it at the end of the window with them unable to source a replacement. Hardly surprising his fee ended up far higher than it ever should have been. Not the fault of ETH or Antony - totally down to the incompetence from above.

That is the timeline of events from the summer. I don't know why we are trying to make this out like ETH had his pick of options and was like "No, no I do not need a striker, I need Antony but not a striker". He needed both and he knew that. He still knows he needs a striker, it should be priority no.1 this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Hardly surprising his fee ended up far higher than it ever should have been. Not the fault of ETH or Antony - totally down to the incompetence from above.

Ten Haag cannot absolve himself of all responsibility for that deal. Fact is that when the price reached the level it did then the club should have walked away, but Ten Haag wanted his old Ajax players and in the end that is what he got.

I'm happy with Ten Haags performance but one doubt I have concerns his transfers, very much a mixed bag there so far. He needs to have better ideas than just players he knew from Holland, you can get away with that in the first few months but a year later there needs to be better quality lined up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,952 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Would you be concerned about his results away from home against top 10 teams? He has a very poor record from those games this season.

He knew that the club and squad at United was toxic. Everyone knew that. Maybe he was looking at the big picture. The first thing any manager needs is to have the players on side. If he got a few players he knows that will run through walls for him then that's a good start. I'm just thinking that might have been his reason.

If this summer is like last summer absolutely.

They have had since September to assess the squad and come up with replacements.

My worry is the excuse this summer will be the sale of the club.

Sale or no sale there will be a minimum budget there to work with and players who need moving on. There's been a full season to work on this. No excuses this time.

(Provided the Glazers have not shut everything down)

If we spend all summer chasing Kane and neglect everything else we've learned nothing

It is a worry but I also think it is a bit of a byproduct of the squad changing styles long term.

Our away record under Ole was unbelievable because we would set up to counter very well but we had no control over a game at all and would often drop points to sides who sat in deep and defended well. We could not break down a side that didn't leave space for our player to run into.

Now I feel we are much better at controlling a game against lesser sides. If a side sits deeper we are better equipped to find an opening but we do struggle a bit more in transition. Especially when Varane, Martinez and Casemiro are not all on the pitch.

The hope would be to see a big improvement in the playing squad for the style ETH eventually wants and that should lead to less dropped points on the road. The drop off from 1st to 2nd choice in some areas of the squad is wild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Every manager wants to bring in a few old pals that he can rely on, the point was that you don't spend €95million on one player unless he is actually worth it, no matter how loyal he might be in the dressing room. So when the price got into crazy money United should have been clear headed and walked away from the deal because if the big picture requires spending galactico money on Ten Haags old players then somebody needs to think harder about the picture.

€150million on 2 Ajax players, wanted Timber as well but couldn't get him, Malacia from the Dutch league and Dutch superstar Wout Weghorst. Then add €70million for 30 year old Casemiro. Its a set of transfers that leaves me apprehensive because this summer is going to be absolutely critical in terms of who comes and goes, Ten Haag needs to be on top of it and needs to show that he has better ideas than just going with what he knows.