Summer transfer thread 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,452 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I suppose his wages aren't his fault, Juve were handing out crazy money.

I don't think he played overly great there. But remember watching him a few times, he looks a classy player ok but perhaps with an attitude problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

His wages don't seem that high.

€172,500 pw. Not small but not even in the top 7 at Juve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Fromvert

United will be thinking about trying to shift Rabiot in 18 months time if not sooner. They won't be as lucky as Juventus though and have some poorly run club bid millions and be willing to pay him decent wages and they'll be stuck with him for the duration of his contract. He may be better than what they have, but he's not good enough for where they want to go.

At worst United will finish 6th or 7th and at best 5th imo. Just wait if you can't get the guys you really want and concentrate on forcing the rubbish out and not continue adding more players that aren't good enough. Round in circles they continue to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,487 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I dunno, hell probably get 3/4 years, sure I mean Phil Jones is still there like

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Oh, he will see out every day of his contract but United will realise that he's not good enough before he even gets half way through it and be stuck with him.

High for Italy I guess I'm just going off what I read on the juve reddit tbf

It all depends on wages if we continue to over pay we will be in the same position we are now just about able to get lads out on loan with wages covered, but if things change we big if mind, we might be able to sell some players going forward.

Even still if rabiot comes in as possibly our best midfielder and in 2 years time is on the bench we would be moving in the right direction

But is it? He's 9th highest earner at Juve going by that list. Makes you wonder about the rest of the stuff posted about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,954 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

When he joined Juventus it was reported he became as the second highest earner in Seria A but they count the signing on fee he received which was massive as he was free agent

Exactly, so that wasn't his wages. It was wages and signing on fee.

So he wasn't on the 2nd higest wages in Seria A.

It's typical of the way things are reported in the PL with certain players and specific clubs, if he joins Utd, his wages Inc bonuses will most probably be reported as his wages.

Correct but on the flip side you could say he was the 2nd highest paid player in Seria A

You could once you don't need proof to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Two of the new signed could leave on a free is Barca can't register them before Saturday.

The players would have to do it so nothing will happen. Barca will still have to pay them and they knew what they where getting into so they won't be going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

How so? Wages is a specific term for your salary. Payment is just payment.

He is paid his signing on fee. He is paid his wages. So it's correct to say is paid more than most other players by his club (the majority of whom obviously don't receive a signing on fee).

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

That is true payment is a payment, but can you get proof that he is the 2nd highest paid player in Seria A.

And I don't mean an random newpaper article/tweet/link with no acual facts to back it, thats why I specifically said proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Not so sure it's that straightforward, Barcelona might be happy enough for them not to sign, another club might offer similar or better salaries and they might be happy to get away from the uncertainty, I am sure their agents are getting enquiries.

Ah gotcha, I misunderstood which bit you were referring to. Sure that's the case with nigh on all transfers, we rarely get the full figures. And even when we do in reality there's likely a million caveats of performance bonuses etc. Like, actual proof pretty much exclusively means the direct club accounts, and nothing else. But of course people will still talk about whatever info is out there though.

Also, does it really matter if he's the 2nd highest paid, or the 10th highest paid etc? I mean, we know he's making a lot of money. Much of which he'll likely continue to make (signing on fees don't just stop cause you leave).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

You mean they have broken the player. He was a talented kid Rashford, but a mixture of overplaying him, poor coaching, playing him with injuries, and general mismanagement, he's never kicked on. For his own sake, he needs a move.

Would be a good move for him, can have his time managed to hopefully finally move past that back injury problem, while also playing in the champions league beside some of the games greatest ever.

Would assume PSG will be eager to throw Icardi into the deal too, as they're trying hard to dump him - but you'd expect Utd would have the cop on to reject that outright. As well as a total disruption he's also just declined rapidly as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Esse85

Always felt Rashford was over hyped by the media, a player who relies on pace far too much.

Hope he lives up to the hype in France at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Didn't Ole play him with a fratured back now wonder the lad never kicked on having a manager like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,869 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Would it be a good move for Rashford? New country, culture etc but I guess he would get to rebuild his career and maybe actually get some good coaching.

Neymar, Mbappe & Messi would all be ahead of him in the pecking order, and PSG just bought the big new thing in France too, Ekitike. There are a few others knocking around like Sarabia, Icardi etc too, but I'm sure Rashford would be ahead of them given he would be the big new signing.

Unless Neymar is leaving? Man City bound perhaps, to replace Bernado Silva/Sterling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Can't picture Neymar playing for Guardiola, he just doesn't work hard enough and with Haaland's lack of pressing being carried already by his teammates, there's no chance they could even afford another player up front not pressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,753 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Barcelona selling off a stake in their production company to raise funds to register players tonight.

Its outright hilarious at this point. Even if they pull off enough stunts to get away with this year they will have fùck all assets left to sell off next year.

Adding to the fun supppsedly Braithwaite is now point blank refusing to leave or renegotiate his deal. He wants his final two years paid in full and thats it.

He was never that good to begin with totally over hyped because he was English & at United ,

He will end up at Villa or some where similar when his deal runs out

I also think the link to PSG is coming form his people looking for a new United deal ,

Think about it logically why would PSG want to pay mental transfers fee for Rashford & who would be looking for more than the 200grand a week he gets at United when they already have a front 3 of Mesis, Mbappe & Neymar , Its complete nonsense ,

Barcelona deserve everting that coming the club will fall apart in the next 5 years ,

Reports they thought they could short change Braithwaite even more than the rest as he doesn't really need the money because of his own personal wealth, Ye as if the fella isn't going to want what he is owed ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,869 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Barca cheated to get that Braithewaithe transfer in in the first place.

There seems to be a few Spanish clubs that are operating the same way as Barca this summer, selling off pieces of the club or future TV rights etc. Real Betis are too I think. Real Madrid sold off 100% of theirs years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

If the club was being run properly wealthy players might take the paycut to help out, as some have done, but when they see the shitshow that is going on they might as well go for the maximum.