Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there an addiction epidemic in Ireland?

• 02-05-2022 9:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Patsy167

It seems that there has been a huge increase in addictions since the pandemic whether it is substances or behaviors.

Is this anecdotal or have others also noticed this?

• I hadn't touched alcohol for 5 years before the Pandemic. Then I started drinking again, for no reason other than boredom.

I'm on the wagon again but the last year and a half has done some damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Cocaine addiction is rampant where i live in Munster. 3 deaths since the start of the year in our parish, 2 suicides ( one over drug debts and the other over general deterioration in mental health with all the cocaine) the third was a bloke in his 50s who got a brain aneryism after taking cocaine. All from middle of the road local families .

Its only getting worse as Drug gangs now control many rural towns who have no proper garda presence and politicians have their heads in the sand .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Not recognised as a real addiction, but as a behavioural one, my eating has shot out of all control. I've gained about 35lb since working at home 2 years ago. I'm almost 19 stone. It's sickening.l and I'm disgusted with myself.

Very difficult to just undo. Yes it's as easy as stop eating, but if it was that easy, I'd stop. Trying to make small changes now. It took 2 years to go on, it won't come off in a short time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

A huge amount of women aged 40+ are going to bed drunk at night and waking up hungover and over the limit to drive. Two of my colleagues (small group) had to get help to change their habits regarding alcohol at home.

There needs to be a campaign to highlight the dangers. It’s too easy to pour a glass of wine when you get in the front door to help cope with the everyday normal stresses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I was the same, try giving up sugar and snacks and red meat, a stone fell off me immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

masturbation addiction, people stuck in homes with nothing else to do - with an increase in blindness as a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

How many so far today? Just the one for me. But the day is young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i don't 'tommy tank' anymore grown out of it long time ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The lights are on, but you're not home OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Try Keto ,I was near 16 stone ,lost over two stone in less than three months ,you don't get hungry on it ,I walked four miles per day too and granted I was only ever sixteen stone for a relatively short period , i dont gain weight that easily so loosing it isnt that difficult for me

Post edited by Mad_maxx on

On the cocaine, apparently it's " possible to get you're hands on it within twenty minutes " in any rural village right now , now the guy who told me this is a bit of an oddball but he works for a living ( tradesman ) and doesn't go beyond the weed himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,069 ✭✭✭sporina

oh shucks - but glad to hear your back on the wagon

the damage you speak of - can it be undone/reversed?

• Nah, damage to the liver and intestines is fairly permanent. I'm not going to whinge, I did this to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

Any drug is available as freely as ordering a Just Eat now, if you know where to look you can have anything you want at the door in same time as a pizza.

this guy worked in Australia for years and claims that out in Western Australia , it was mostly irish and kiwi lads who were working and that the Kiwi lads smoked weed like there was no tomorrow and that while he rarely saw cocaine being used out in mining country , huge issue with crystal meth ? , he sampled a fair bit of stuff himself but would not be into the Coke thing but would be around enough to know who can get it , he claims its not at all unusual to go into the toilets of any rural pub and " see lines being done these days " ?

im a total square myself when it comes to drugs , never was tempted and nearly forty five so im past falling for peer pressure , as such I appear to be at least oblivious to people snorting in plain sight as many claim , obviously can tell if someone is hopping around the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ah, it’s not as simple as that. Yes, you can get most drugs but the one being “pushed” the most is the biggest earner, cocaine.

If you’re looking for pills, mdma, acid, DMT or, the elusive, mild hash you’ll find you have to know someone who knows someone. If you don’t the only “game” in town is coke.

Why would they want to sell someone €60 quids worth of mdma when they know that they can get them to take, at least, 2 grams of coke for, nearly, €200? Lines are going with pints like a social cigarette these days.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

It is as simple as that - I can have 4g of weed and a gram of coke at my door in 30 mins if I wanted. There's no tunnel vision when it comes to drug dealing and no negotiation or pushing like you describe, tell them what you want and you get it and if they don't have it then go to someone else. Pushy dealers trying to hawk 200e of coke to someone looking for a 50 bag of weed won't do much business at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

No, they wouldn’t be getting much out of the stoner but for people looking to have a good time with alternative uppers they’ll just say they don’t have any pills or mdma and it’ll be coke or nothing.

And if you’re going down the rickshaw, or deliveroo, type “setup” you know you’re going to be getting the lowest quality stuff so you’d be getting even less bang for your buck.

Weed is really sourced through mates, almost like a favour. The gangs have flooded the “market” with coke, getting anything else just isn’t easy.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis