If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello All, This is just a friendly reminder to read the Forum Charter where you wish to post before posting in it. :)
Hi all, The AutoSave Draft feature is now disabled across the site. The decision to disable the feature was made via a poll last year. The delay in putting it in place was due to a bug/update issue. This should serve as a reminder to manually save your drafts if you wish to keep them. Thanks, The Boards Team.
Hello all! This is just a quick reminder to ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere.

what reason did coveney travel to kjiv

• 14-04-2022 5:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭ cute geoge

Is this just a mad attempt for more publicity ,Are ireland doing as much as we can to support Ukraine without losing our neutrality sure we could send some more minor arms but that surely would not need our minister to travel out there .A bit of a joke really

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭ brokenangel

Numerous TD have flown in and out of Ukraine since the war started

Timmy Dooley has been over at least twice

Not sure why it needs a new thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,035 ✭✭✭✭ Boggles

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭ Whatdoesitmatter

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭ Markus Antonius

• Registered Users Posts: 34,300 ✭✭✭✭ Gatling

Pretty much standard fare for vip politicians over seas just as usual most people haven't a clue about what goes on and when

Langley, Virginia

• Registered Users Posts: 5,838 ✭✭✭ Cluedo Monopoly

Coveneys reputation is in tatters so it was a completely selfish attention seeking trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,619 ✭✭✭✭ Donald Trump

I'd say you'd have walked over from Dublin to Ukraine yourself, 100% by foot (including on water) all on your own with just your lad in your hand and used it to batter any left-behind Ruskies you encountered along the way.

Security detail for any foreign dignitary is standard practice - even in countries in peacetime. If Coveney went to DC he'd be traveling around in a motorcade with regular cops on bikes stopping traffic ahead of his route of his car and Secret service lads following with machine guns hanging out the backs of those black jeeps they use.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,526 ✭✭✭✭ Dempo1

I care less if he travels, I'm questioning the need for the Entourage, utterly preposterous and over the Top

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• As already pointed out, he was invited. And as has also been printed out I am sure ye would have had no comment whatsoever to make if he had turned down the invite.

There is a world in which someone you don’t like or agree with can do the right thing you know

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭ Cal4567

Needs to get himself a higher profile on the world stage. Cannot see him just being a TD on the opposition benches unless he becomes FG leader.

For a week now, politicians from a lot of countries have traveled to Kiev. Not really sure why they all have to show up though. Seems as much as an ego thing.

Shame he didn't bring all the equipment going to waste in the Curragh with him.

Again preposterous and utterly pointless, seriously, do you think anyone even notices he's in DC apart from those he's meeting

And before you go off, I lived and worked in DC and was in attendance at 2 events at the Irish Embassy before Coveneys time, Motorcade my arse 🙄

If you donate $20m you get an escorted tour of a warzone, including a photo op with at least one burnt corpse.

Patreons who donate more than $50m get to meet Zelensky, and get a free green fleece of the type he has been wearing.

Donate more than $100m of lethal aid and Zelensky will appear at your event via video link and say that your country has been more helpful than the rival country of your choosing.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,619 ✭✭✭✭ Donald Trump

Imagine the fallout if they can't protect a visiting dignitary?

Someone wouldn't have to have it in for Coveney personally to attack him. He could be attacked either as an attack on Ireland, or else an attack on the US if he were visiting there.

Your own personal opinions about the individual are obscuring the practical realities.

Suppose Ireland invites the President of <insert random country here> and said President is left to his own devices and gets attacked in Dublin.....wouldn't be a great look for Ireland now would it?

As for Kyiv, it's not as if the oul' Russians are known to shy away from the oul' assassinations. If you were going to assassinate a representative from a relatively high-profile country that wasn't in NATO, you wouldn't find too many better choices.

• Registered Users Posts: 58,484 ✭✭✭✭ FrancieBrady

Indeed, both him an Leo looking a popular win. Leo putting Eamonn back in his playpen last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,838 ✭✭✭ Cluedo Monopoly

Look, he has you and others fooled so that's the main thing. Success for Simon. I personally think he should no longer be in cabinet. I hope bad people didn't hack his phone in Kyiv or that he wasn't telling porky pies again.

Coveney, he's utterly irrelevant to me, I've not personally attacked him, I've questioned correctly, the Ludicrous Entourage, I did however forget to mention the video footage released with him surrounded by armed Gardai and soldiers , all very convenient and clearly staged.

Screams Publicity Stunt

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭ KilOit

In the grand scheme of things Ireland is number 6 in the world for GDP per capita and 34 in GDP for a "farty little island" we're up there with the big players. Most countries can only dream to be like Ireland. maybe travel more to get a little more perspective on the world

• Registered Users Posts: 5,569 ✭✭✭ Allinall

I wonder do other countries have as many sad, bitter people with super inferiority complexes?