Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar Assaulted verbally while out jogging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,669 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I didn't find it any weirder than I find Oliver Callan having a go at Leo. Funnily enough some of the same crew get in a lather about Callan too, or basically anyone who doesn't genuflect before the cult of Leo. That is weird!

*Of course I have political leanins...I lean as far away from FG as I can get. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Fasano

in case you haven't worked it out, which you clearly haven't. standing up and telling people you are the best person to run the country and they should vote for you, isn't a job.

What this really shows, is how far up the arse of the two main parties the Irish press are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭joseywhales

This week on boards "who is the most obsessed?both claim the other is obsessed, could they both be right?" Gripping stuff lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

As with every f*cking thread tangentially related to him, it has descended into the usual two tribes, one firmly in the, 'have a go at Leo' camp, the other making vague insinuations of homophobia in response to any critique of him.

I don't know whether the baseless critique or the blind defense is worse, but they're both f*cking tedious.

The horseshoe hypothesis laid bare, and none of you seem to be able to see that you're doing the exact same thing as eachother except from the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Give over, read back over and see who turned what. We aren't allowed discuss anything relating to Leo without the usual shite off the usual heads. I was condemning the carry on ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Now wait for the other tribe to show up and complain that I'm being unfair to THEM, that it was your side that were totally responsible.

As I said, the horseshoe hypothesis laid bare, and none of you seem to be able to see that you're doing the exact same thing as eachother except from the other side.

I couldn't give a ****. I'm not responsible for trolls or how you perceive them.

I'm hardly going to accept your analysis am I?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,436 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Losers in life trying to get a few thanks on their social media account by posting themselves being "gas lads".

Leo going for a run, and not even giving them the time of day.

Not sure this was a worthy use of time for any of the "major contributors" to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,852 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't know. I do miss the old feature of boards where you could identify the most prolific poster in each thread - it showed the true obsessiveness of some.

Why would prolificacy on a thread equal 'obsessiveness' about a specific politician?

That only works if you want to warp the facts.

I'd judge it by who went off topic to have a rant not related to the thread.

We were all talking about the incident until that now banned poster and another showed up. Same crew won't let it lie.

Leo handled it well I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

only thing he can handle well

them durtbirds only shouted what 90 % of us think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I don't agree with Varadkar politically but abusing him on the street is obscene.

Anyone who supports these scumbags (the hecklers) are scumbags themselves. Plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭animalinside

Capture.JPG

Well, well, well look at Mr. FaNcY PaNtS here.

Pre-empting all criticisms by labelling them beforehand eh? And following it up with a "Thanks" and "#bekind" just so we know he's a nice kind of person and if he abuses someone they must deserve it.

Growth up please, are you 14. What a joke, I hope you know everyone is laughing at you for that sig.

I support those individuals 100%. I don't have anything against Varadkar that would cause me to do it myself, but am happy they expressed their opinion.

Disclaimer: blah blah blah, if you don't agree you're a moron.

#bevirtuous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

There should be some questions asked about what the 2 scumbags were doing in the vehicle while they were stuck waiting in traffic on the quays before they caught sight of Leo going past it while he went on his run.

Were they going around Dublin City Centre carrying out legitimate business or we're they taking part in doing criminal acts themselves while they were out that day while they recorded that incident on their phones.

There are a whole load of "What if's" involved when see this incident being played out on the internet. If the Guards know something significant about those two individuals who gave those comments to Varadkar; the public should be the 1st to know about it.

I do know that these types of incidents of giving frequent harassment to politicians are a very common trend in this country. I have seen stuff like that protest outside the home of Simon Harris when his wife and kid while he was trying to get into work for the day at the Dept of Health. And there was that other harassment incident in where Brian Cowen was being heckled by teenagers while he was heading into his car near Colin's Barracks some years ago.

So how does the level of abuse become less pronounced for politicians who are currently working in the Dáil or Séanad or who are working in local authority chambers all over the country. It really is a sick behaviour. I have never actually seen any verbal abuse given out in public to politicians who live & work in my constituency. But I know in my mind that it could happen when I don't see it.

And that could be a big worry later on if something much worse could happen to anyone of them. There are way too many scummy traits within a certain cohort of people these days. They exude a level of ignorance towards others that could have been your friend from a long time ago who then go out and continue this behaviour unimpeded on a day to day basis. What can we do to stop that level of sh1t from getting worse before it gets better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭plodder

There should be some questions asked about what the 2 scumbags were doing in the vehicle while they were stuck waiting in traffic on the quays before they caught sight of Leo going past it while he went on his run.

Were they going around Dublin City Centre carrying out legitimate business or we're they taking part in doing criminal acts themselves while they were out that day while they recorded that incident on their phones.

There are a whole load of "What if's" involved when see this incident being played out on the internet. If the Guards know something significant about those two individuals who gave those comments to Varadkar; the public should be the 1st to know about it.

I do know that these types of incidents of giving frequent harassment to politicians are a very common trend in this country. I have seen stuff like that protest outside the home of Simon Harris when his wife and kid while he was trying to get into work for the day at the Dept of Health. And there was that other harassment incident in where Brian Cowen was being heckled by teenagers while he was heading into his car near Colin's Barracks some years ago.

I was thinking of both of those incidents too, and they were much worse than this one. Targeting a politician at their home is way beyond the pale, and that incident with Brian Cowen where he actually tried to engage with them, but all they could do was scream abuse at him, was pretty bad as well. Also, I recall when the minister for social welfare Joan Burton was basically imprisoned in her car for hours by a mob. That incident revealed a shocking level of ineptitude by the gardai in how they deal with protests.

So, in comparison with those cases, this one is a complete non entity. Varadkar gave them the attention they deserved, which was basically nothing.

They weren't making any protest or point. It was opporunist drive by name calling. Followed by a 'fair play Leo'. Scummy but low level and everyday sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Your prejudice is yours not anyone else's so don't start that sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,030 ✭✭✭✭elperello

And meanwhile probably 99% of people out in the real world think shouting at someone in the street that you don't know is wrong.

Take a reality check posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭Greyfox

So what? Do we just forgive politicians for fecking up the country just because we have close to full employment?

In another conversation its all the don't want to work dole heads destroying the country. Answer for everything and nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭whydoibother

That’s wrong whatever your political ideas are but it only gives Leo more reason to feel superior as who did this were obviously behaving cowardly.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Do you seriously think Leo sits down of an evening ruminating over 2 assholes who thought they were funny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭whydoibother

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,752 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Well if it "gives Leo more reason to feel superior" he'd have to think about those reasons. That suggests he'd have to reflect on the incident, draw up conclusions and conclude he's superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey