Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kurt Zouma thinks it's funny to use a cat as a football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭maebee

Big brave famous footballer kicking a defenseless poor cat. I hope this ends his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,706 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I have a feeling you're not comparing like with like there.

Did Keane post a video of said incident on social media for the 'larfs'.

And I don't know what empathy you think anyone could feel for Zouma. It's hard to have empathy for someone having to pay a quarter of a million squids as a fine when that's only loose change to him. Most people can only dream of that amount of money in their bank accounts. Hard to have empathy for filthy rich people especially when they do eff all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

From the reactions I've seen it seems like what Zouma done is worse than what Greenwood was up to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Greenwood much worse but i don't think we are allowed a thread on him.

West Ham is my new team to hate. Man City have been knocked off top spot.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Despicable and vile thing to do a defenseless animal. Just shows you the calibre of the man.

That fact that he hasn’t even been dropped for the season shows just how rotten professional football is where money trumps morals every single time.

Where is the World Cup being held this year? Ah yes, Quatar...

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Meanwhile the Saudi Royal family owns Newcastle and they go on as normal. Kicking the cat is despicable but is small cheese when compared to what English football now represents

OT I know, but Sky killed football as I knew and loved it. The players are not relatable these days because of the money they are on. Successful footballers always did well financially, but few had untouchable levels of wealth. That untouchable aspect is what enables behaviors like Zouma's. And haircuts like Jack Grealish's.

Today football is just a form of global tv entertainment and lifestyle programming; all shiny and exciting on the surface, but really it has become something ugly, trivial, and stupid. Players roll around like they've been shot at any opportunity. And clubs that once represented their city/region/community are now just souless, dislocated global brands that represent feck all. It's insipid, overhyped, repetitive sh1t.

I rarely miss an Ireland match, no matter where I am, but football isn't what it could be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Exactly. What would happen to an unemployed scrote? Nothing.

I was very happy to see him named in the starting team and full respect to David Moyes for not caving to the utter nonsense of trial by social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I have a bit of sympathy for Moyes. No one is going to be outraged if he gets sacked at the end of the season for not getting the results. Him dropping this clown would be forgotten immediately but may effect the clubs form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,710 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I’d like to see him try to kick this cat.

https://www.instagram.com/reel/CZwEX_agGej/?utm_medium=copy_link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Zouma didn't post anything on the internet for the 'larfs' though

But at least you have the courage to admit it's jealousy that is driving you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭thefallingman

He'd have trained all week with Zouma in the team aswell, i wouldn't be surprised if he miss's the next match but i think he's learned his lesson now, and 250,000 is alot of money for animal charities, i just wonder will his cats be put down now they have been taken ? What is their future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

It's not a bloody competition ..........you might be more empathetic to one 'cause' than someone else and vice versa, so what .......there is no one right and no one wrong

Im amazed at your attitude to this, you seem annoyed at the thought of Zouma getting punished for kicking a defenceless animal across the room in front of his child?

Where are you coming from on this? Can you explain.

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Exactly how I've felt about it for a number of years now. Got into the game in the 90's when I was a lad and it's funny looking back how people used to think English football was so commercialized back then with the advent of Sky etc. It was positively amateurish to what we have today. It is now more akin to WWE or a movie franchise than a relatable, thrilling, all action...sport.

Between the insane wages which mean players and fans have a sort of lord and serf relationship where the lifestyles are so detached it's not funny, or the social media obsessed Gen Z footballers who put more stock in their online profiles than their ability to perform on the pitch, to the plutocrats who now own the clubs and would prefer to play in a joke European Super League with no promotion or relegation............... it's now just purely a business. The only people who want to delude themselves that there's a sport there are the fans who dutifully trapse to the stadium or pay the TV subscriptions.

Remember this old classic early in the pandemic, sums up modern footballers perfectly

Of course they won't be put down.

They will be rehomed

not all dogs and cats find homes bubbly, especially in England. They could easily be put down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭stellamere

Terrible carry on by Zouma, doesn't deserve to be let near an animal again. As Regards punishment, the fine, together with being the main news headlines for 3days and becoming the most hated man in England, until the next gobshite takes his place, is probably proportionate.

I think losing his career over this incident is disproportionate and more punishment and humiliation would almost be bullying, seeing as other footballers engaged in drink driving and assaults tend to get 2nd chances. I'd say the man has learnt his lesson and it wouldn't be good to be reading different headlines about the man in a few days, such is the level of ire going his way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,366 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

We need some context here.

Maybe the cat dragged a dead rat into the house in front of his three children. Maybe it clawed at one of the kids. Cats can be ****. Anyone who says they have never punished a pet for misbehaving is a liar (even if this is too extreme a punishment)

Can't believe I would ever victim blame a cat, but there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

I've no issue with him being punished. £500k is a huge punishment, but justified.

I've an issue with people jumping on the outraged bandwagon because this is a person that earns big money, as the post I originally replied to stated. He's been punished, but the mob want more, more, more!! I wonder will the poor cat be euthanised now that it's in a shelter, luckily might be saved due to the fact that he had a famous owner, other cats aren't so lucky. No outrage points in that though.

Yes as bad as it was, i think enough is enough the chap could top himself if this get's worse, he hasn't killed anyone and has deeply apologized and paid half a mill to charities i don't know what else he could do. I'm sure west ham will tell him anything like this again and he's gone, they might even put something in his contract.

They will not be put down.

The RSPCA do not put down healthy rehomeable animals.

I have never punished a pet. Who the **** would punish a pet?

Misbehaving? How would an animal misbehave? They're not people you know, they don't have the same brain as humans.

**** sake, punish a pet 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,643 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Why would they be put down?

The RSPCA will not put down a healthy rehomeable animal, there policy is clear.

this isn't neverland Bubbly, what do you think happens to the animals that can't be homed ? Cats and dogs homes can't keep and feed them forever.

They will not be put down.

Their policy is clear for everyone to read.

Some facilities do have to, but the RSPCA do not put down healthy animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,366 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Yeah they aren't people. Exactly. Not even in the same stratosphere.

So tell me this: a toddler, who is too young to understand they are misbehaving, accidentally pulls a dog's ear and the dog snaps at the toddler. You mean to tell me you wouldn't admonish the dog for snapping? Or if the dog shat on the rug despite being house-trained. By punish I mean tell the dog it was bad, or put it outside. You'd probably throw the toddler in the shed instead for upsetting the fur baby!

God we have grown awful soft as a society.

By the way, I am in no way condoning Zouma's actions, but there has been far, far worse done in the world. To humans.

Oh and another thing: I was taking the piss to begin with.