Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crimes & Confessions [RTE1]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭cute geoge

O carroll proclaiming his life was treatened 3 times by the provo's you can be sure he did not use excess energy to track down these nut cases ,easyier to bully innocent girl into making a false confession .

• Registered Users Posts: 26,934 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

What's very telling is the then Garda commissioner (Wren) was the first person to raise serious questions about the investigating gardai. That Tribunal was a thundering disgrace and the actual Murder has never been solved .

But the O Carroll fella, my god what an horrendous P***K

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

Didn't Carroll say on the programme that Hayes told him her baby was buried on their farm but rest of Garda there didn't allow a follow up visit....he seemed to back her up with that statement

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Joane Hayes said she could 'show where the baby was buried' ,she even drew diagrams of location for O Carroll ,the guards searched and found nothing but where were they told to look by o Carroll .Only for finding Joane baby on the farm and her solicitor Pat Mann dogged defence ,Joane would easily have been convicted for the murder of baby John found in Caherciveen

Wasn't Hayes bought out herself by the gardai and that's when baby found, but you also have to remember you couldn't/shouldn't dispose of the body of a baby in the way it was done.. whatever the circumstances

Post edited by cap.in.hand. on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

The sad part of the three episodes was the hurt in the accused people’s eyes and having to still live with being abused by the state and these heavy handed guards. As for o Carroll it was good to let him show no remorse for their victims and show him up as a bully and what the cover up was all the way to the top with judges backing their forced evidence.

Drew Harris needs to look at these cases again and straight away cancel o Carroll’s pension and denounce him as a rouge Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,581 ✭✭✭deisemum

After that heavy gang were exposed unfortunately it didn't stop some gardai being very heavy handed with the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,388 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Great documentary series from RTE, finished it tonight, madness what was going on back then and not a single person held to account for it. Did the Gardai take their tactics from the Guildford 4 and Birmingham 6 British Police questioning guide books? So many lives destroyed, lost and worst is those guilty of the original crimes are still going around. Fair play to all those who fought for justice at the time and since then. How many people never saw justice, potentially there could be huge numbers in jail still or died in jail as a result of this policy for questioning, a big enquiry is needed in to every single case any Gardai associated with these cases convicted a person on. Gerry O'Carroll taking part in this show is pure gold, what was he thinking. Guards in Auschwitz are still be held to account for their crimes, the same should be done with Gardai in these cases. Lots of material here for Netflix for some documentaries.

RTE has a lot to answer for using Gardai linked to these cases as subject matter expert for news stories.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I hadn't heard from the bould Gerry in years. He used to be a regular on the rent-a-mouth circuit at one time so I thought he might be in poor health.

There he was though, large as life and putting his size dozen in it at every opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Who else apart from Gerry O'Carroll and PJ Browne and John Courtney made up the murder squad/heavy gang?

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

And there are still a few of them I wouldn’t trust as far as I would throw them . It’s only when you have a run in with them that you realise what they are capable of .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Radio5

A very worthwhile series, you would hope they do another. As has been said, there is plenty of material.