Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Suspicious activity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I heard that a ship leaves from the southeast once a month with any amount of stolen machinery...

Could this be true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Don't know about machinery but a car belonging to a friend of my daughter was stolen.

A very alert off duty guard spotted 2 similar cars with 1 person in each heading south east. He informed his base and the cars were intercepted entering the port.

Both were on 'legal' number plates but on inspection it was found that both were stolen and on false plates.

If they had travelled individually and spaced out a bit they might have got away with it. Both were expensive Audi.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Goodtimesroll

Had a visit during the week from the lurcher gang out with two drones would you believe. Very hard to spot at night but a faint flashing red and blue light is on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭enricoh

There's a big Lithuanian outfit robbing BMWs and Audis n straight onto the ferry with them. They have the yokes are on the boat before the owner opens the curtains in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,776 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I got this setup off a recommendation on here. Great job ,you just need a socket to plug it into. I have a 50w led spotlight that comes on at night. Any movement at night records on the phone.

Outdoor wifi camera

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tapo-Security-Weatherproof-Definition-C310/dp/B08K3KKNBY/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=B08K3KKNBY&qid=1619305872&sr=8-1

4g unlocked mifi

https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-M7200-Portable-Unlocked-management/dp/B0797VW7FG/ref=sr_1_42?dchild=1&keywords=4g+router&qid=1619306049&sr=8-42

a 4G sim with 24gb data usable over 2 years, if you don't want a monthly bill.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Three-Mobile-Pay-Broadband-Data-Black/dp/B01M3VJ2B2/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?crid=39PF0HEHCF9EM&dchild=1&keywords=three%2Bbroadband%2Bsim&qid=1619306381&sprefix=three%2Bbroadband%2Caps%2C174&sr=8-1-spons&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUEyNTNJU1g4RlNTV0NLJmVuY3J5cHRlZElkPUEwNzM4ODUzWFBUWlk3UEtPODlUJmVuY3J5cHRlZEFkSWQ9QTAwNDk4MjcyTDY1UU9PMTVXM0NLJndpZGdldE5hbWU9c3BfYXRmJmFjdGlvbj1jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ&th=1

all about £40 each

add a micro sd card and you have the lot, recording to card, remote access to card, motion alarm alert.

If you only watch remotely when you get a motion alert alarm, the 24gb data should last for ages.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,488 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do they go out in containers or what? Surely it should be fairly obvious to Garda / Revenue when shipments like these are going through the port?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,260 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Wouldn't be too difficult to drive them onto a regular car ferry (perhaps with false plates)

Maybe, but you'd think it would be fairly easy to check this - make sure the plate matches the car, make sure the car address matches the passenger address, with a particular focus on late bookings.

You'd think the UK and France would be fairly careful about what is coming off the ferries into their territories too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,260 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

They'd have to check every car (which isn't their responsibility) and even then it would hardly be foolproof. They could buy one Audi, register it in their name, and just keep using those plates to get on the Ferry with the stolen models of that type

No test is foolproof, but some system related tests could be zipped through on computer so easily. They'd have to have one Audi of every colour, which might be a bit of a giveaway!

A local fella had his land cruiser lifted one night, he got a phone call from a trucker mate of his that he'd meet him for a fryup in the ferries restaurant in 10 minutes.

He thought yer man was locked, then he looked for his Jeep! Stolen during the night, new plates n straight up to larne ferry. Only problem was the jeep had a load of road racing stickers etc on the boot which the trucker recognized. Scottish cops were waiting at stranrar!