Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sony EPG not working right... how to change country on Android TV ?

• 16-11-2021 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭

Jeez I can't feckin believe it.

I finally took the plunge, dumped my old LG tv and bought a be-all and end-all Sony Bravia television.. Android, WhatHifi award winner.. the works.

And now I find out... the stupid thing has a really crap EPG.. AND worst of all.. it can't pause live tv ??

Damn and blast. 

I had to replace the LG cos it got a bad case of the well know blue'itis... and cos it has a number of really irritating quirks...

(like sporadically restarting itself and corrupting the USB drive for recording)

And I thought .. to hell with it.. its covid times and we don't go out much ... so lets treat ourselves...

So I bought a Sony KD-55XH9005... which looked beautiful in the shop of course...

But I was worried they couldn't show me in-store what it looked like with live tv.. and my fears were obviously well founded.

I don't use sky or virgin .. I was relying on this tv having saorview tuner and satellite tuner...

And it does.. but boy does it look half done...

The saorview tuner works ok.. the EPG does appear to be functional...

But for free to air Satellite the EPG is only sporadically populated.. some channels show you now and next.. the rest.. nothing...

And no showing tomorrow or anything useful like that..

When I had the LG I was able to solve that problem by setting up a UK postcode in it.. but with this stupid thing there appears to be no way to change the location.. it registers the TV via your gmail account.. and thats your lot...

I got recording set up using an external USB drive and thats ok.. but not much use if I can't look forward to see what programmes are available to record ...doh.

With the LG, once I connected a recording drive I was able to pause the live TV .. but not with this yoke.. FFS

Sony me Arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭swoofer

Hang on be patient, takes ages to master that sony stuff. I have it as UK but how not sure yet. I think I went online and changed my location in google to UK. I have TV a few months now so as I dont use I have for gotten a lot. It was a bind to set up.

I got a 55 xj80 0r 90 but had to return it after 3 days. I then got the 43 " with only one sat tuner, the other one had 2 tuners but screen was " too big" its not mine. Anyway that SONY takes some setting up. First is update software. Then go though all the hoops. I skipped voice control. I have it hooked up to 2 enigma 2 boxes one is 4k. I have sat connected as well and I could not be bothered to take it back because of single tuner. I checked it now for you and EPG is slow. if you click on each channel it will populate. I have a usb stick hd attached and it does pause tv. Now I was going to get your one but it was not in stock.

That tv has a mind of its own, just now as I flick through channels it decides to record one and I cant stop it yet. Did you use UK post code? I stopped recording by pressing.... TV button.

I hate to tell you but over on avforums ... they recommended an LG instead of sony. Can you return it. I'll do a pic of epg in a moment

When you are in guide, there are loads of features along the top and you use red button to access. While on BBC1 say and you press guide you should see fressat at top, go there and guide should appear. You can combine saorview and freesat. I am not allowed near TV but on my own at the moment. I think the idea is you put your channels into favourites and then guide may more sense. I'll try it now but can do pics as smtp gmail com wont work on my phone for some reason.

Yes as expected if you put all you used channels into say favourites 1 then they are side by side. AND you are right it does not pause TV or I have forgotten how to.

Post edited by swoofer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭vidapura

Top marks for effort anyway swoofer!

Thanks for taking the time to try all that..

Yah I read somewhere (probably avforums) that Samsung is a lot better for people with saorview and freesat.. sigh.. of course I only read that after I bought this yoke...

I doubt I could return it somehow.. presumably you can't just change your mind after buying it...

it depends where you bought it. i have pics now but have to go got a call.

You have to change to UK and as of yet I cant remember how I did it, TV out of bounds. If I find answer I'll post back

Post edited by swoofer on

Interesting picture... I see it says Freesat... on mine it says Satellite... dunno if that is significant or not...

It is, you have to set it to UK and then enter a UK postcode and at the same time change the location to UK in the google account. I got the tv when I was on my own for a week and I can tell you it was a bugger to set up. It has zillions of settings. I got a sky epg set up and I have to admit it looks good.

I still cant remember how I did the location and I have to say after all my efforts you cant load BBC iplayer but after many attempts messing I found it cant be loaded unless you have freeview ie the UK DTT version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Dec4

Suggest you have a look at this thread for setting it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭JDxtra

As above, you need to get it into Freesat mode. Satellite mode is no good. There’s a trick to do it if you also want a Saorview EPG.

Ahh Brilliant !!

You guys are the best!

I followed the instructions from Page 3 of that thread: here

And it worked! Eventually.. took me three goes. But have the Saorview AND the FreeSat EPGs working properly now.

But that was only after I spent ages trying to find factory reset in the warren of menus.. its in a different place on this tv..

It looked like it wasn't workin at all initially.. then eventually that YouView thing popped up lookin for me to click on Lets Go...

So now I have both the YouView and the normal EPG .. it pops into YouView from time to time and I just hit the Home button and TV on home then to get back to the normal EPG.

I see Ads showing from FreeView every now and then.. whats up with that?

Anyway, lads, just wanted to say a big THANK YOU to all of you..

Enjoy TV it will keep you entertained for ages and the number of settings and tweaks are endless. To get freeview you must be on the fringes, you have have option to get bbc iplayer.