Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladbrokes -collecting winnings

• 22-10-2021 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

Just checking to see if this happened to others, did a €50 8 team accum on champions league matches during the week.

Got lucky and it came up and won €3,100, when I went to collect, the woman behind the desk said it was Ladbrokes policy to get proof of ID and a household bill before they can give out more than €2,500.

Does this seem strange to people or is this the norm with all bookies

That's a rule that has been in the pipeline (when it came into effect, I'm not sure) for quite a while - 2 or more years, I believe - ; the betting companies are allowed to ask for such details if your betting/or collecting amounts in a particular period come to E2,000, I think...

Rancid behaviour that - first case I've heard of it happen, and only when a punter wins 😣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭keng66

I'd understand if I was placing a bet of €2K in cash as could be proceeds of crime, but I was hardly laundering €50,

Unfortunately, I believe that a person being suspected of 'money laundering' is irrelevant; though it's probably the excuse they used to push this rule/law through 😒 Anybody may be subject to this invasion of privacy 😓 Pretty sure they had pamphlets to that effect (the new rules coming in) on the counters before the lockdown/planpandemic ..

Nice win all the same 😊

It's not like you had 3 grand on a 6/5 shot.... Pretty fkd up that they're allowed to get away with it.... It's one thing if you're regularly betting in 50s and hundreds (Anyone doing this, and losing, are probably not going to be 'asked for bank details' 😏) on a daily basis; but one bet of 50 euro is a sickener.... Doesn't matter how little or small you bet... If you're betting x amount in a month, then details can be asked for.. But worse - far far worse - if you win a significant amount for 'small money' , then you are also subject to being questioned/obliged to provide personal details... The bookies can do what they want, and, in these instances, I'd say the Govt are more than happy to 'comply' (both their interests are satisfied) .... Privacy is pretty much gone out the window at this stage, alas ☹️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

Ya its all to do with the anti money laundering legislation that came in in the last year or two. If you are worried about giving your details in future just split the bet up ....

To be honest, it took away a bit of the enjoyment of getting the bet up but maybe I'm just turning into a crank as I get older

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭chancer007

Did Ladbrokes make you aware before you put the bet on that ID is required for a win over €2.5k? Is it written down anywhere in their shop rules? If they didn't make you aware, and you wanted to try and prove a point, you could take them to the small claims court. Inexpensive , whats the worse that could happen?

I never go near Ladbrokes, their a joke when it comes to paying out on any sport, avoid at all costs!

If you have any issues I'll give you €50 for the docket and you can rest easy!

Well done though!

Probably have more joy trying to kill Goliath with a peashooter while pi55ing against the wind; than any such claim being successful.. I'd say they have more rules one nation, and every eventuality is most likely covered....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

Photo ID is mentioned in the terms, A household bill is not though.

I put in a query with the Data Protection Office just for my own curiosity, I'm sure she wouldn't be bothered but in theory the woman in the shop now knows my name, where I live and my phone number as it was my mobile bill I showed and could stalk me😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

They need to know who they are dealing with if you are going to win 2k on a bet, regardless of stake seemingly. Ridiculous. Fair play to chasing it up with the Data Protection Office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I won €1,400 off them about 8 years ago and it took me two weeks to get paid in full. I went in to the shop to collect only to be told they had no cash and to come back at the end of the week. This happened three times. Then I was told they could give me €300 cash and the rest by cheque which I refused. Went back another day to be told that I could visit 5 of their shops that there was money in each that they could give me. Again I refused.

I eventually got paid but only when I sat in the shop and refused to leave. Apparently it’s common (or was common) for them to open up for a trading day with less than €1,000 in cash in the shop. This is illegal as it violates their terms of trading. If they can’t pay they shouldn’t be allowed to trade and take bets. Ladbrokes are an absolute joke of a bookmakers and they always were.

This new carry on of not paying out until ID or household bills are produced is a new low and thankfully I don’t set foot in betting shops anymore. They’re not even betting shops in all honesty. They’re glorified arcades now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭costacorta

Actually I know 2 guys who were asked for bank account details in the last month in a PP shop . They refused and are now w barred from having any bets in that shop anyway. They were asked as they would be known to put 200 or 500 on a horse. I know two lads as do the shops and nothing dodgy about either of them but apparently it’s new rules after coming in to do with money laundering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Saladin Ane

I had Eu50 ew on a 66/1 shot (with BoyleSports, Manor, Tralee) in the Arc. The girl that took the bet made a call before accepting. Went in a few days later to collect, was asked for ID and then paid out within a minute. All very civilised!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 PooPooPooPoo

This is part of a new EU anti-money laundering directive

All gambling service providers are captured by the new Regulations other than lotteries, bingo, gaming and amusement machines and land-based poker, which were found to be low-risk following a risk assessment of the sector. The customer due diligence requirements only apply where the amount of money paid to the customer or paid by the customer is more than €2,000. 

https://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/PR18000365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Happened me in Powers recently - had a few decent wins - and had to do the money laundering process (ID and utility bill) - which I wasn't too bothered by. But then I got a letter handed to me asking for all sorts of crap - bank statements, proof of any inheritance, savings accounts, payslips etc.....All to be provided by a certain date or I couldn't bet in any Powers shop.

Not a hope are they getting any of that from me.

I don't bet online, exclusively bet in shops and I'd only be betting average sums and certainly not winning fortunes or anything. Bit of an annoyance as Powers are at least decent for getting paid, reasonable offers etc....I've been in Ladbrokes a few times since Powers barred me and they'd be scratching around trying to find money to pay you if you win anything over a hundred. Joke of a firm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

If it's money laundering they are concerned about then surely it's when you place the bet they should look for all this?

Got a reply only about 8 weeks ago, basically said they were within their rights, have not been in a Ladbrokes Shop since I collected the bet

Ok, happened me in Boyles recently, they scanned driving license & recent bill with address on it, waited about 20mins to collect.

Not sure by GDPR how long they can hold that data for, I'll contact GDPR office myself, I could be wrong but I think by law could be one month before they have to delete data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

6 or 7 years ago I had a sizeable 4 figure win at a local bookies. I went and got paid in full no problem. 2 weeks ago I had a win ,still sizeable but about one third of my precious win in the same bookies. I need ID he said ,a utility bill etc, it's to do with money laundering. But you didn't look for ID when I placed the bet or any previous losing bets says I. So says I if I go out to the car and bring in ID will you pay me in full straight away? I'm afraid we couldn't settle in full today says he. The upshot of it all is that it took 4 days before I got paid in full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭lmao10

They started asking for your name any time you put a bet more than 100 quid on in my local ladbrokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

I won 3 grand in a yankee with PP last summer. I had to produce ID and proof of address.

I spent it on a 7 day bender in Lisbon, via a trip to the York Ebor festival and a Black Leather jacket.... I ended up wasting the rest. I told absolutely no-one at the time.

The bet was an 50c ew yankee with 4 straight winners. i did the same bet online for around 13c ew - it actually paid just under € 1,700. The difference being that they will not GP in shops on cash bets which accumulate over € 1,000. The actual shop bet should have paid almost 8K but I stipulated my price in the docket - all selections drifted and still won.

I try to back GP were possible, PP have developed a huge habit in underpricing MP's, I got an email from Betfair, Ladbrokes, 355 and Boyles within a month of my win stipulating that my GP was being withdrawn for all bets placed before 10am on the day of racing. This proves that they share info. Interestingly PP have not made such a restriction. Why?