Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep the current pub opening hours?

• 09-10-2021 11:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭

Last few times I have been out I managed to get home to bed at a decent hour, doesn't seem to be much trouble on the town, the earlier shutting time defo suits me. Would love to know the A&E/assault numbers each weekend. Anyone else prefer the current times?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Lol..

You do know your are free to choose to go home at 11pm regardless of what the licensing laws state?

What would it matter to you if pubs were open to 6am.. you don't have to wait to be told to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,729 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

No, the taxis can't cope. The pubs could ring a bell at 11 for amateurs to go home to bed in their jimmyjams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Tec Diver

What's the real need for late opening hours? To feed people with alcohol addictions and give their money to pub owners? There's long been a serious issue with alcohol addiction in Ireland, I know having pubs close early won't cure it, but it might help prevent it getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Having the freedom of choice, something seriously undervalued in society of late.

No one is stopping you going home at 11, likewise no one is putting the drink to your lips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Housefree

If the pubs were open till 6am I'm staying out till then, after a few pints all sense is out the window, I'm sure that's the case for a lot of Irish people

Pre Covid, on a weekend 1/3 of A&E attendances were alcohol related

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/third-of-a-e-attendances-on-saturday-nights-are-alcohol-related-1.3511812

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The hospitals on a Friday night are less quiet. St James Hospital in particular. One nurse there I was chatting too believes it to be the result of pubs closing early. Guess there are benefits to pubs closing early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭CptMonkey

What happened to personal responsibility. Some nights I’d prefer and quiet few pints and home early but then sometimes you would like to be out longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Most cars can do 100 miles per hour but most people have the cop on to stick to the speed limits. most people dont want to live in a nanny state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,580 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

A sizeable number of little hitlers have realised that they can dictate to and restrict the lives of other people, because recently they have been allowed to do this with very little resistance. It would be entirely unsurprising for them to want to continue doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

You’re seriously underestimating how many people now go to house parties after the 11pm closing times to keep drinking. I’d say drink consumption has gone up over the last 18 months among some of the population on nights out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Do you really think people with alcohol addictions are going to let a pub closing stop them from finding their fix? Why does the few dictate what the many want. I like late bars because the craic gets flowing after midnight. I also don't want to go to a pub at 8pm and have to leave 3 hours later.

Nor do I want to go to a pub earlier in the day as I have things to do and I think that's the whole point of some bars staying open late, so they can catch that bracket of people (as well as others).

There are long term issues with alcohol in this country that have nothing to do with times you can get alcohol. It's a socially embedded device that has historically been used for solace, refuge and escapism. The root of the problem is behavioural. Off licences closing early being a prevalent example of how restricting alcohol serving times does sweet F/A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,203 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

No, because in 2021 Ireland not everyone has the luxury to work 9-5.

i used to work 14.00-22.00... used to put some pasta in the microwave at around 20.00 and have it at my desk finishing my end of day reports then home, park up and on a Thursday or Friday go around to the pub for 22.45... four pints, bit of craic with friends and home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

No, because from personal experience, from about 9pm to previously 2/3am on Fridays and Saturdays, as a Garda it was a horrible time, and a time you hoped that there wasn't a big incident happened elsewhere. Studies I believe have proven that later opening hours results in less public disorder because people are no longer trying to get in as much drink as possible before closing. Then you have hundreds of people coming out, langers, at the same time, all trying to get food at the same time and one of the few available taxis. Later opening hours will stagger all this and, imo and in the opinion of a good few studies, reduce the public order issues.

After that, if someone is going the route of an alcoholic, then that's their issue to sort, personal responsibility and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

If we had later opening hours as above poster said for all bars, then I think being Irish, we would stay on until the last minute.

Proper on the spot fines for trouble and wasting hospital time when you need to be brought to one for sobering up and enforcement of payment including property may be a better deterrent. It would be a nightmare for gardai to enforce though.

I’ve seen the uk system in action of cops in a transit van more like a gang pouncing on trouble. Not one poor soul on their own. In fairness, once seen in Cork a lad openly urinating on the street outside a chipper and a cop approached. He got lip but a van was there in 1 minute, and lifted him before his buddies could argue. instant defusing of potential issue. Court would be a waste but a fine would make sense.

So the government should legislate the rest of us to have less freedom because of your lack of responsibility, immaturity and stupidity?

Now I’m starting to see why covid restrictions were so popular in this country…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

I don’t go to pubs at all anymore and have no interest in it but in one way I think they should relax rules altogether and let pubs set their own hours. In my twenties I would have loved to be able to stay out dancing all night

however it’s no life for bar staff having to work until 6 am so there’s that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

No one is forcing the bar staff to work as bar staff. late hours is just part of the job. all jobs have pros and cons.

I shall point you towards cannabis legalisation! Or really, literally any law ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Nope

Think the early closing times can encourage binge drinking especially those who may work til say 8pm-9pm. We're brought up on these pubs hours and it's hard to snap out of it but what's scary is certain government people can try and eliminate that in a flash as seen with the covid lockdowns the last few years

As a single person in their early 30s life does not look inspiring in Ireland if there restrictions stay long term

Post edited by PTH2009 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

We're brought up on these pubs hours and it's hard to snap out of it

Except pub opening hours have changed at least 3 times in the last 20 years.

Well depends on age

I'm early 30s and would only know the hours from 2006-up

So you're already used to earlier closing times since from 2006-2008 places with a theatre license could serve till 3.30.

Early 2008 would of been my time and no attention would of been taken to the news and laws then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Snorlaxx

Before the original lockdown our group used to:

Head to the pub at 9:30, pub closed at 12:30, out by 1:00 and straight to late night bar till 2:30 and home by 3.

Today we:

Head to the pub at 8:00, pub closed at 11:00, out by 12:30(at the latest) and home by 12:30/1.

If I had the choice, I'd prob never go to a late night bar again.

Getting home at a decent hour, with not rouble on the streets as you said and up at 9am to go for a run is alot better IMO.

Which is it?

Pubs open later than 2000, nightclubs and offices close earlier than 2008, the country hasn't died off, times will change again, I'm sure you'll be able to snap out of the habit if the pubs are open later.

But will they actually or will our old Catholic ways interfere

Personally happy with the normal pre covid hours

You're just spouting random words now, that the same Catholic guilt that had us get rid of the holy hour?

Cannabis isn’t legal, therefore we should seriously curtail pub opening hours. Moronic post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Relaxing opening times and allowing a cafe to serve wine and breweries to serve alcohol on a tour are all Common sense things to occur in a society that needs to adjust its relationship with alcohol. Moving from a prohibition attitude which encourages misuse to a socially relaxed and open discussion about alcohol. The nature and large reduction in consumption over the last decade show that now is the time for that change to occur. The countries finally growing up.

I can have a wine with lunch and not lose my ****....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

There isn't a need for anything.

We could survive indefinitely with a 2km lockdown and everything except supermarkets closed. But wouldn't be much craic would it?

Yep send us a link that explains why it was rid ?

A lot of doctors in that area would always question are your out drinking too late etc. The early closing times makes there life's easier. There hero's and we all clapped for them while we all suffer in silence and be told "take these tablets and you'll be ok'

What? Pubs in Ireland used to close between 2 and 4 on a Sunday, we got rid of that, surely if your claim of Catholic guilt had any legs, We'd still have it?

If we're going to start throwing names, then you sir are the moron. Your comment:

"So the government should legislate the rest of us to have less freedom because of your lack of responsibility, immaturity and stupidity?"

That is literally every law ever invented. Cannabis is illegal because some people can't behave themselves on it (for one reason), so the rest of us have to get it illegally if we want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

ITT people who have no self control who would like to go home earlier, but need legislation to make them do it.

Not a good analogy because we have speed limits.

Id agree, it's all about personal choice.

Some nights I would go out for 20:00 and head home at 22:30 or so, as it might be to watch a match or catch up with the lads.

Other nights, yes its more fun to be out a bit longer.

Its all choice, and people taking the responsibility for that choice with them. If you go out, skull 10 pints and 15 shots and end up falling down drunk and busting your lip open, you only have yourself to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

if they would open back up at 10.30am again that would be a start