Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Mick Wallace really that bad?

• 27-09-2021 4:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭

74% of MEPs voted, slaviishly, to increase, in fact fabricate, accusations against Russia.

Wallace.....call him a scruffy, floppy haired fool, refused to acquiesce.

The man would not vote in favour of this farce while all those around him did..

Perhaps this belongs on CA.IMHO, but my talk is about the man. I respect his motives. And that is not political.

Wallace:

“The U.S. does have a vested interest in driving a wedge between the EU and Russia – a financial one. And sadly right now, the EU lacks the courage to stand up to the Americans and follow their own best interests,” commented Wallace.

“The vote against Russia was no surprise,” he added. “The anti-Russia rhetoric has been growing for over two years now. It is primarily driven by the U.S. which has found it easy to persuade some EU members states to dance to their bidding. Obviously, the Baltic states are more than willing to comply, as is Poland, the Scandinavians and some Eastern European countries.”

However, Wallace contended that the majority vote is largely meaningless in practical reality.

He said: “It’s important to remember that while many of the German and French MEPs are voting with the Baltic states, Poland etcetera, it amounts to a bit of game-playing for them, rather than serious intent. Especially for the Germans who see the sense of having a good relationship with Russia, but with their own elections coming up, now is not the time to be making that argument.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Boards resident Putin cheerleader is a fan of Mick Wallace, well I'm shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

The answer to your question is yes.

Yes Mick Wallace is that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

The VAT man wouldn't be a fan of Wallace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Well I suppose given Russia don't need accusations thrown their way.. and the whole deliberately acting aggressively inside European borders means perhaps that Russia is an aggressive untrustworthy threat.

And Wallace doesn't have a clue. ...

How does our floppy haired Wexford man explain assassinations and the whole annexing of another country. Or is that stuff just grand ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

We are that bad... like we have eejits like him representing us... and there are a few others...

I need to edit because in this instance i agree with what he said below but i am not a fan of his...

“The U.S. does have a vested interest in driving a wedge between the EU and Russia – a financial one. And sadly right now, the EU lacks the courage to stand up to the Americans and follow their own best interests,” commented Wallace.

Post edited by maestroamado on

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Has he bothered to get a tax compliance cert like every other business man yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

he aint a business man .... just a labourer who rode the back of the celtic tiger .. squandered his cash on football and vineyards and forgot to pay the tax man. When the house of cards came tumbling down ... he managed to grab a branch to hold on to in the form of some protest votes and has been riding that gravy train ever since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ireallydontknow

Curious to know how OP came to so sympathise with Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Absolutely no idea about the man's politics but I once delivered to his house in a previous job and he, and his family, were really nice and friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,172 ✭✭✭blackwhite

"Forgot" to pay over pension contributions that he'd deducted from staff wages as well.

Champion of the working man and all that 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

Hahaha, thanks for that. I needed my morning lightened. Think ill go and start reading flat earth forums now 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

He did a lot of good the time of the Sgt Maurice McCabe scandal and taking a stand against AGS is never easy or popular with both power and the public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,169 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

He's no better or worse than most Irish politicians. He's no more or less trustworthy than FF, FG and the rest on the gravy train.

They're all mouth pieces for various lobbies and get paid one way or another to spout what they spout.

Would have just as little faith in him as I do Varadkar, Martin and the rest.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

one swallow does not make a summer.

the McCabe thing was a no brainier for him - taking on the AGS and at the time it would have been popular with the public as everyone would have supported McCabe .. not so much the establishment.

His recent jollies to the Middle East and his anti-American stance on everything seems very strange to me .. however .. I've no idea who he has aligned himself with in Brussels as I've very little interest in EU politics

Was he not a teacher? Born at Wellington Bridge in Wexford, one of a family of 12 children,[6] he graduated from University College Dublin with a teaching qualification. Not an easy thing to do in the 70s a time when very few went to university especially coming from a large family.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mick_Wallace

I read the OP different to you... Basically the EU let the US do whet it pleases and supports most US policies such as Afghanstan. Isreal is a kindof US colony on the edge of Europe and nothing is being said of what has being happening in Palestine for decades.

I am not a fan of Wallace but he is right on this one the EU needs to take a more leading role in the world in my opinion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ireallydontknow

Ah, okay, it's a 'my enemy's enemy' position. Good luck with that.

to be fair - I just assumed he was a labourer - as this is how most celtic tiger developers evolved. His wiki page seems to have a huge missing piece on what he actually did between UCD and the Dail.

For me the EU has become irrelevant on the world stage so i suppose we have to take a side...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

As a people we have always shown a willingness to tolerate very low standards in our police force so I don't agree at all , Wallace and Clare Daly both showed courage that time and both did the state some service

I am not denying that ... however his questionable financial actions and abusing his MEP status to go on jollies to the Middle East along with a constant anti US rhetoric have now superseded that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

No, he is worse than that.

classic outsider, who has gone a bit loopy and has now become a bit of a joke, at a guess, he has family/ brothers who are builders and that is how he got started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,825 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Was he not also collecting VAT from people and "forgetting" to actually send it in?

Some people voted for him. It's not a matter of "we" the Irish people.

Also it's very popular to be anti garda now. Or just anti anything.

It didn't take courage, when in opposition, to speak out against the corruption Sergeant McCabe raised, and the harassment he experienced. It was the right thing to do. The public backed him also. I don't see how the Irish tolerate a poor police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Him and Claire Daly have gone off the deep end since they landed in Brussels acting as fluffers for China, Putin and assorted Middle Eastern militias. I actually half wonder have they been 'got at' by intelligence agencies the way they're carrying on, although we have a history of sending political detritus as MEPs. Still, a bit of colour instead of party hacks acting as nodding dogs is a bit of a change. Daly had a bit of steel to her as TD which suited and booted orthodox parties despise.

At least Mick was honest about the fact he didn't bother his hoop with constituency work filling out passport forms and the like.

I see on the news we are now going to have "THANSGIVING DAY" we are becoming more Americian by the day.... Great....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Does Mick have a theory why Russia’s neighbors such as Poland are so scared of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

You'd have to have some respect for a man capable of...eh..."raising the flag" for Clare Daly.

Allegedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

"I actually half wonder have they been 'got at' by intelligence agencies they way they're carrying on".

I don't. It's obvious. I think in general people are naive about the operation of intelligence agencies.

A serious whiff of BO off the lad I’d imagine.