Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks Again!!

• 14-09-2021 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,964 ✭✭✭✭

One of the best things that the lockdown brought us was the lack of these Aiken promotions ads. of aged has been coming to Ireland.

Now we have this Garth Brooks ‘controversy’ getting full publicity on Today with Clare Byrne.

Have we to listen to this crap for another six months while an artificial ‘storm’ is whipped up by the vested interests.

This thing should be ‘buried’ and treated for what it is in my opinion, a total kite flying exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Welcome Home Gareth

Would have had you down as a country and western fan, Brendan, if I’m being honest. A stout fella poured into a pair of Wranglers heading to a Mick Flavin gig in the West County for a spot of dancing and maybe the ride from an auld one who recently lost her husband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Sh1tstorm in a plastic novelty stetson, headgear of choice for his Irish fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,964 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Way off the mark there Dr. just braised off with these endless ads for ‘shows’ the end of next year.

Now I’m not a cynic ,but one could imagine a call like this to Brooks in his rest home in the States

”Garth how are ya, Ireland here”

”Ireland! That freakin swamp!

”Listen , G. Y’know Pat has been starved of live stuff for nearly two years-we could make a killing…They’ll take anything y’know…. Croke Park…the lot… thousands of cowboy hats still in the attic Garth”

”Keep goin buddy, my last concert drew 467 and a few dogs….how many nights?”

”A good few… like I said they’ll take anything even Noel Diamond would pack the place”

” jeez man… go set it up…I could do 10 nights next week…things a bit slow over here…and it’s Neil Diamond

maybe could do the ‘warm up’ Thanks a bunch, dude.

”Get back to you Garth”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭jluv

And with all that is going on in the world, this was the lead story on the news at 5.30 yesterday evening! Seriously..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Rawr

Oh FFS. As an Irish Ex-pat I *did not* enjoy having the truly special & embarrassing task of explaining to people aboard why there were protests on the streets of Dublin about Garth F**king Brooks.

I might have understood if they were protesting the very idea of his presence, but filling the joke columns of European news for the sake of an extra concert date was not cool. For the sake of Irish everywhere, pull it together you line-dancing cretins!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

if you like him, go see him, but can the media just eff off with what has been non stop sh1te about some 2 bit crooner that is past his best before date. Every feckin station has the same sh1te. Give over

Liveline has it now…ffs

Idiots payed 400 clams a head the last one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I would be surprised if they fill 3 Garth Brook concert nights now never mind 5. He lost a lot of fans through his greed last time out and I guess he and his team have not learned there lesson in that time either.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Patser

Has the Mexican Ambassador got involved yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,714 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

He's having a kebab with Christy Burke as we speak.

In all seriousness though, the reportage suggests 5 nights over 2 weekends, wtf part of Croke Park is limited to 3 concerts do people understand??!!

Of course they could well be playing on the pandemic damage to promote this as a huge boon for the industry. If that does prove to be their game, they should get a kick in the hole and no concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

haha Had to do the same. It was a tough time. Explaining Conor McGregor added to the burden.

The Govt plan is to get Brooks to play ten nights in each province and for the Mexicans to pay for all our tickets. Can't see Obrador going for it, but fingers crossed.

D’Arcy has it now…..first item on the programme.

Dont frikken tell me this isn’t a complete kite fly by the numerous vested interests who stand

to make tens of million from this.

They know how gullible Pat is and he is at his most gullible right now.

So far today this is the first item on the agenda on three main stream programmes.

Vested interest gone into overdrive……..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,235 ✭✭✭Patser

Don't think it's that cut and dry. I think they have an automatic right to 3 nights in their planning permission (providing it meets basic licencing requirements) but there's nothing to stop them applying for additional licences. And from what I can see that's what's happening here. They are activating the 3 night permission, and seperately applying for 2 more.

After that residents or others can raise concerns and it's up to the council whether to grant the licences or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,575 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

If it goes ahead and people want to go , fair play to them . Life (somewhat) going back to normal .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Can we just copy and paste the thread from last time?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Krakin show from Garth in Croker last time out...would easily fill Croker for a three gig weekend.

Living in New Mexico now is Garth....same as Mexico he says..only CLEAN.

Hotels booked out already.....RyanAir flights doubled for the anticipated time.

Pubs /Ticket Agents/Hotels/Airlines/Taximen getting ready to pluck poor Pat as clean as a young priests ar$e.

A lot o folks don't get the STETSON bit.....hint....there is a chronic shortage of toilets in the Croke Park surrounds....

Good observation there Nevin, poor Pat will be boned and rolled like a Christmas turkey as the prices have jumped up rapidly in an attempt to gut out Pat totally.

This needs to be buried rapidly otherwise it will go on for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

he was a great striker for Tottenham back in the day 😶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

I'd imagine Pub, Hotels, even private coach hire companies are praying for this. No doubt he has friends in high places too although I'd say the residents will make sure they have "Unanswered Prayers". In fairness let him do as many nights as it takes. It's not cup of tea at all, but jaysus haven't we been trough enough shite this past 18 months, let those who enjoy him have something to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭Xander10

Have we not suffered enough with the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

What are you talking about? A kite flying exercise? The GAA is allowed 3 concerts a year as part of their deal with DCC. They don't need to fly a kite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭BobHopeless

Come back Covid, all is forgiven.

Yep, all quiet down Garths way.

Garth Brooks's Annual Income / Salary:

Per Year: $49.08 Millions

Per Month: $4.09 Millions

Per Week: $943,910.26

Per Day: $134,474.89

Per Hour: $5,603.12

Per Minute: $93.39

Per Second:$1.56

"wtf part of Croke Park is limited to 3 concerts do people understand??!!" - I think its yourself with the lack of understanding. Croker isn't limited to three concerts a year. In 2018 they had 4, same in 2009. They are allowed have 3 without applying for planning permission. There is no limit to the amount they can apply for after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I'm no GB fan, but I'll never understand local residents who bought or rent properties in the literal shadow of a towering huge big hulking stadium, and then complain when said stadium is actually used.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

If I remember correctly, the main problem last time was 5 concerts in a row, including a Monday and Tuesday. I lived in Drumcondra for a bit and can understand residents being peeved about that, The crowds Croker brings can make the place a bit mental, having that 5 days in a row, 2 of them work days, wouldn't be pleasant.

Doing it over 2 weekends may get a bit more traction.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Croker is a business asset...can't survive on games alone...GAA do teriffic work in the communities all over the Island

Of course they are going to use their Stadium for additional revenue.

A lot o sneering from the dudes in the skinny black tees.

Cut it out and let's have a good hoedown

Yeeeeehaaa !

Rumours going on that ‘tickets’ were offered for sale in the Midlands

€238 a pop.

Would not believe those rumours but in this day and age, anything possible.

I emphasise that these are just rumours, but the rush is starting already.

Let’s not panic folk, I think this will never get off the ground.

Just don’t want to listen to the free publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

This is great news as it pretty much guarantees at least 3 Late Late Show country music specials between now and then featuring Nathan Carter.

A Late Late Show country special will literally whip the country into a frenzy!!!

I wonder are all the hats, flags and scarves from 2014 stored in a warehouse somewhere in Dublin, and the fella that decided to buy them all on the cheap is thanking his lucky stars that his long shot looks like it’s going to pay off…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭buried

238 euros for a ticket to a heavy hitter mainstream pop act is nothing. They were selling pitch standing tickets at the back for Elton John in Cork for 380 a pop recently and now those tickets are all sold out. If ABBA ever do a real comeback tour, I'd wager tickets could be up to 600 for basic standing. And the people will pay for it.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

This again, it Ain't going to happen and I've a feeling of groundhog day all over again.

The Croke Park residents have already spoken, maximum of 3 concerts, Brooks still looking for 5 .

There is really simple solution for Brooks , The Pope squeezed 1 million into the Phoenix Park or he could cut out this nonsense and split the concerts into two venue's, there's enough of a pot of gold to fund two venue's.

I'm not sure as many people will have an appetite for thus having been stung badly once before.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Is Mr Brooks a billionaire at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭dublin49

Someone tell that eegit that every year we play 2 matches in Croker that only a fraction of the fans that want tickets get them.We are ok with him disappointing some fans ,its in our DNA.I cannot believe Croker's first sentence to his agent isnt "3 or none"' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Tork

He'll sell out Croker with little trouble. Maybe not as many nights as they are aiming for but he'd sell out 3 with no trouble at all. There are a lot of people out there who like country music and keep mediocre acts like Nathan Carter and Mike Denver on the road. Ireland has always liked bad country music for some reason. Brooks might be more of a nostalgia act now (guessing here) but I know loads of people who bought his albums back in the day and loved his music. They're in their 40s and onwards now, so they can afford to go to these concerts. At a guess, a lot of these fans are women and there will be a lot of unhappy spouse's being dragged along to these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

I'm pretty sure the planning restriction on concerts at CP is an average of 3 per year. No concerts last year means they can go above 3 this year with exceeding the average. It hosted 4 concerts in 09 but only one in 10. It host 4 in 18 but only 2 in 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,015 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Has Leo wrote him a letter for VIP meet and greet, lobbying for Garth

He's already been writing (on letterhead paper) to you know who to see if she'll consider the warm up slot 🤣

Is it not 3 per year regardless if any took place previous year ( i am Open to correction)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,015 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

No it's not 3 per year, CP has held four concerts in a single year before.

Apologies, I wasn't sure, just vaguely remember the previous debacle and only 3 would be permitted in future 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

It's 3 but any additional require planning permission.