Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stay or avoid dublin for all ireland final post match craic?

• 06-09-2021 4:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

Heading to croke park on Saturday, haven't been in Dublin for a night out since April.

I suppose it's wishful thinking but the GAA supporter in me thought Saturday night things might be loosened a bit as regards pubs opening, after the game is over.

Do all pubs in Dublin shut at 11:30 on the button? Vaccinated so none of that is any problem.

Just been talking between us as a group of friends, and we're thinking we might be better off driving back to Tyrone/Mayo for the night for the craic if Dublin is still very strict and everyone has to sit down in pubs etc. Things are a bit more loose in the rural pubs in our home county to say the least!!

Have to cancel the hotel before Thursday so will probably make a call on it then. With the Big Tree gone & Quinn's, it's actually hard to know where to go that's decent before and after the game. You've the red parrot, mcgrath's etc obviously in drumcondra, but they're not the best places and fill up very easily.

Would love to stay to be honest but if it's going to end up an early night because of how things are I'll give it a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

This is how Dubliners feel when people come up for matches. We avoid the culchie hangouts for sure but have to avoid pubs in general. Fans come up and act like 12 year olds.

Yes pubs close at 11:30pm

"Just been talking between us as a group of friends, and we're thinking we might be better off driving back to Tyrone/Mayo for the night for the craic if Dublin is still very strict and everyone has to sit down in pubs etc. Things are a bit more loose in the rural pubs in our home county to say the least!!"

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is why the case numbers in Northern Ireland are off the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Fiyatoe

Fantastic. Case closed. Responses have made our decision for us! :D :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Yeah, Dublin pubs don't seem to be very strict about checking vaccine certs or the 6 max per table (i.e. 7-8 ok). But do seem to be fairly strict on the seating (which is good) and close at 11.30 (which is bad). I had thought they would ignore the stupid 11.30 rule, but every pub I've been in has been very precise on closing time. I guess after the bullying of the Berlin bar last year etc, they are terrified of the mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭passatman86

Sure your more than welcome to go with them so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,507 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Offaly won the under 20's All Ireland a few weeks back, there was a massive street party in the main Square in Tullamore. (Even Roscommon apparently did too)

So you can imagine what Castlebar/Omoagh would be like, much better craic there I'd say. Not much craic in Dublin ATM the way things are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

I'm grand. I'm out in the suburbs, rarely have to go into the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

I was up in Dublin for the all ireland hurling the night before and the place was hopping, but yes places closed at 11.30 but I didnt think they were overly strict re table service etc and the rest

Id go up the saturday and make a night of it, Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Why is it on a Saturday?

🙈🙉🙊

• Works both ways, I'd say they'd be delighted that Dubliners like you avoid them, in fact I'd say most Dubliners wouldn't miss your type either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Actually it doesn't, and he's correct. I live in the area and actively avoid anywhere near croker on the day purely because of the behaviour of visiting fans.

• Of course it does, what GAA supporter from outside Dublin would want to share a pub with Ray Palmer types - read his post again. Also, never said anything about the behaviour of visiting fans and am not denying some can be rowdy, that wasn't my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭dobman88

You're better off going home after the game, not staying in Dublin.

My brother, his friend and my sister came up for the semi final to stay with us. They came up Friday night and were talking about this big night out in Dublin on Saturday night. I tried explaining to them that places will have massive Qs, will be closing early and Garda will be shutting pubs down if too packed and they didnt believe me. Every place I've been to has been strict on 11.30 closing.

They went in early before the game and already it was busy and I think they only ended up having 2 drinks before the game after Qing for ages to get into a pub. They just went home after, didnt even stay with me on Saturday.

I'm just back from the Ireland game in the Aviva myself. Nobody was allowed into pubs around the stadium, outdoor only and almost impossible to get a drink. We went to the off licence and they had it shut. They're really clamping down on the alcohol and craic around events. Luckily we txt a mate who was at the top of the Q for 1 pub and he got us 2 pints each. It's real nanny state stuff.

In my opinion, you're much better heading home after the game instead of paying for a hotel and over priced booze to just be finished by 11.30.

That’s desperate stuff dobman. Thanks for the detail, definitely confirms it for me anyway.

it’s sad to see as it’s usually one of the best weekends of the year.

What about before the game?

i was always a Quinn’s / Big Tree man but they’re obviously non runners.

never bothered with red parrot , Kennedy’s or McGrath’s. Fagans was always ok but small.

then as you get closer obviously Croke Park hotel isn’t open at present? Gills and Hogan stand wedged!!

a friend mentioned cusacks?

What did you end up doing pre/post match Fiyatoe?

I had to go into Dublin to collect the missus from a night out and it was complete carnage any place I passed by.

Stayed for the trophy presentation in Croker, then ran to the car and got straight up the road.

it was some craic at the toll bridge and coming through all the towns.

I saw a few social media videos of friends who stayed in Dublin, it looked to be very good right after the game but maybe died after that. They were all back in their hotels by 12 whereas….

let’s just say there was a few tired heads about today at the homecoming!!

I think you made the right decision judging by what I saw anyway. Enjoy celebrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

bit of a damp squid then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Unfortunately anything in the 26 will continue to be until things resume to normal in October , IF they do. I’ll believe it when I see it.

they need it badly, the amount of southern reg cars in the north this summer has been mad, great to see but I’ve never seen so many in my life. I’d say tourism down south lost a lot of money because a lot of ye were heading up here