Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭cozar

209. Is he not capable of saying two thousand and nine.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭archfi

Well now there’s someone who fckd up royally!

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

A pre-death gift like that is taxable, too. A sliding scale, in that if you gift a huge amount to a relative or friend who would have benefitted from your death (in your will) they will pay less tax the more time elapsed before death. ie, six or seven years before nothing is due; but one year before, the full amount is due.

Not certain of the exact % and amounts, but it's there nonetheless. The bastards have it sewn up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭mountain

Surely revenue recognise “de facto” marriages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,971 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

I was not expecting a "…ya know wha I meen…" from this caller.

Your wan is wrong, there is relief if you have lived in the home for the previous 6/8? years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,417 ✭✭✭✭zell12

a telepole??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,078 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Aye…..she just assumed it goes to her gratis.

Could have just got dat marriage done on his deathbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭archfi

Nope he refuses to use normal words where he can mangle them to death

This particular affectation is an entirely up-his-own-arse choice

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,557 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ray talking about balls, again

Is that not just for the kids it's left to though ? as opposed to de person dey are living in sin ……..plus it doesn't count if the person has any interest in another property (de person who doyed and de lucky brat). Dey have to live in de house for a few years after as well IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,418 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

they have already paid vast amounts of tax on their house, and would rather give it to a child/relation, than give it to fund all the lads with no passports

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,652 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Shinner doesn’t like death threats! It’s not like anyone in the party issued death threats themselves in the past!

Sarah Harris now

Joe interrupting her speech!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,418 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

there will hardly be one green td left by the next election, thank fúck. labour won't be in a much better state. ignore them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Two -oh-nine... is that a new Peugeot?

Go get knocked up love……if it's not too late.

In my day SF/IRA made threats in person and ment them, not just words on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Missus - have you not been listening over the years??

If you want to leave the house to somebody, just marry them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

A cousin of mine who died of MND was trying to avoid Revenue getting greedy hand on her money. She herself had just inherited from her aunt, never got to enjoy it. A lot went to charities, but one way she was delighted to give a portion to me tax free was to book me a trip to Antarctica with business class flights shortly before she died. Sadly she didn’t get to see me go but was mighty pleased at “cheating”
    the taxman. Her cat inherited money for his keep tax free too. There are legit creative ways of avoiding tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,971 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Hyacinth the Younger

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭Deeec

It actually affects the poorer more. For expample If you qualify for Agricutural Relief it can reduce the tax bill to 0. One of the criteria to qualify is that 80% of the person inheriting assets after transfer must be agricultural. At the moment certain parts of the country have high land values so the people inheriting this land satisfy the criteria easily due to high valuations. The person with **** land in a low value area may not satisfy the criteria because of low values and faces a tax bill. So the rich get richer and the poor get poorer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

This one sounds like an extra from a Ross O'Carroll-Kelly sketch.

Loike, totes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

it’s worth anybody’s while getting married to avoid tax if it works out to everyone’s benefit. No need for wedding ritual, just the signing in register office. Like the two male heterosexual friends who were on Liveline.

The State recognises the Family as the natural primary and fundamental unit group of Society, and as a moral institution possessing inalienable and imprescriptible rights, antecedent and superior to all positive law

Our constitution says that, so yeah, singletons are discriminated against

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭johnbarrett35

God, he's such a rude cnut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Joe interrupting makes total car crash radio.

The caller was just about to explain and Joe jumped in with both feet, the bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭mountain

a knowledgeable person,

There’s a first for liveline