Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,624 Busi_Girl08
    ✭✭✭✭

OK it's kind of pissing me off the attack against Revolut that's happening here. They didn't steal your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,565 McDermotX
    ✭✭✭✭

'Savvy'

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 Patrick2010
    ✭✭✭

There should be backup funds available to refund my stupidity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 bottlebrush
    ✭✭✭

I'd love if I got a text telling me my power was going to be cut off on a day I'm working from home. I'd text back saying yippee an excuse to doss for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 One Who Waits...
    ✭✭✭

Very savvy, says she.

✭✭✭

Burp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 johnbarrett35
    ✭✭✭

Well the banks in the UK actually have that sort of fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,536 Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151
    ✭✭✭✭

If you had €10k in cash on your person walking back from the shop and bought with it 5 magic beans from a well spoken fella on the side of the road would you expect your money back?

✭✭✭✭

When you set up your account with revolut they send countless emails and push notifications saying they will never ring you directly. If they detect a potential scam they sent a notification, usually a text, and say if you don't recognise the transaction, freeze your card (very easy to do and reverse) and contact the help number on the app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,230 furiousox
    ✭✭✭

This is all very well but what about the graveyard story we were promised in the intro?

A nation waits impatiently, so to speak.

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

✭✭✭✭

Gowon Mandy

How much ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,698 archfi
    ✭✭✭

So savvy is she, she opened the golden gates to her 10k off a text saying her 'power' would be cut off if she didn't update her details!.

I mean, I think she meant savaloy.

Boards is in danger of being no more within 3 MONTHS unless subscription numbers increase drastically.
    Subscribe & Help Out If You Can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,037 2smiggy
    ✭✭✭✭

do they target woodbine users

• ✭✭✭✭

IMO the very best education is to teach people how various scams are done, to show how easy it is once you’re in practise so to speak. How to fake part of a website is a very easy start. I’ve shown people over a cup of coffee and they are stunned. “Sure anyone could do that!” Exactly!

GDY151
    ✭✭✭✭

Caller you forget the part where you downloaded AnyDesk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 cozar
    ✭✭✭

Omg why are all these people ringing in telling the nation they’re stupid.

✭✭✭✭

Oh my Lord !

Mandy!!

Are you not savvy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 Dan Jaman
    ✭✭✭✭

Several years ago the Irish banks were quietly re-imbursing scam victims just to keep the lid on it. Something like ten million per annum at the time, in total.

Can only be worse now.

✭✭✭✭

De biggest tick

Fair play though.....sounds like she got der in de end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 orourkeda1
    ✭✭✭

The banks are blue in the face telling people that they don;t contact people looking for their details.

When people get caught by this, they then blame the banks.

https://www.orourkeda.blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 dvcireland
    ✭✭✭✭

✭✭✭✭

Ah.....de dawter's savvy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 TinyMuffin
    ✭✭✭

Tech savvy again 😂

GDY151
    ✭✭✭✭

Once you click on a link and download something consider your phone compromised and only worth fooking directly in to the sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 LambshankRedemption
    ✭✭✭✭

I work for a security consulting firm. I was preparing for a phishing project for a client, and tested it out on the internal company. 3 people clicked the link and entered the details. I reported the 3 people to the CTO, and one of the guys, a sales director made a report to HR about me, because "he should have been made aware that it was a test so he would know not to click the link".

Life is one big phishing test.

✭✭✭✭

her dawter is a whizz on The TIK TOK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,037 2smiggy
    ✭✭✭✭

'tech savvy'

lol , thick savvy

✭✭✭✭

To be honest I appreciate this wan Mandy because she's completely honest about how thick she was, and she's clearly giving an itemised breakdown of what happened to help others.

The first one was too wishy washy and giving out about Revolut.

• ✭✭✭✭

I once scammed myself with a call, had set it up, got suddenly distracted by something else at home that completely absorbed my attention for the rest of the evening. Then my phone rang, saw USA number, “another fecking scammer”, then I remembered it was myself!

✭✭✭✭

howya Hyacinth... i mean Corina