Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

1572573574575576578»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

There's no chance the U17 or U20 managements will even look for reappointment in my opinion. It made sense for Bergin and his crew to look to be reappointed with so many players from 24 eligible in 25 and I wasn't surprised the CB took the easy option there. Who they get is anyones guess though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Tipp far from unbeatable Galway had a lot of goal chances and scoring opportunities if they were sharp and had a few forwards they could of been a lot closer

Daragh maccrthy was held well today again if you can stop j morris you can stop a lot of the traction they get going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,251 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Senior Camogie 1/4 final Kilkenny Vs Tipp will be on before the Senior hurlers in Croker.

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭kksaints

Today's match was so flat that's it's hard enough to make out too much from it. Galway were so bad and yet with a little bit more quality they would have had at least six more goal chances. There was massive gaps in the Tipp backline at times but Galway weren't good enough to expose them. On the other hand Tipp scored 1-28 despite completely drifting out of the match at times and hitting over 13 wides. Morris and the Motm whose name i can't remember were in great form.

One Thing from the league match earlier in the year against Tipp that needs to be addressed is our defensive puckouts strategy. We were completely destroyed by clever puckouts even before we got the players sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭neverbet

Do you get any enjoyment from the game at all ?Dublin third team in Leinster put on a phenomenal display to beat one of the greatest teams ever in a game for the ages , and all you can do is come on here and bleat about how bad we are. Give it a rest and maybe get behind our team and management for what is sure to be a brilliant semi and save your admiration for those in the blue and gold until we are beaten. These are matches where supporters if able , don't even have to think about going. Some of us are there already . Up de CATS.

Yeah o donoughe I think it was got man of the match he got on a lot of ball from puckouts there was so much movement from there forwards when the puckouts were landing Galway were completely out foxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Andrew Ormonde was motm…. been brilliant for Tipp all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Great performance from Dublin, hungrier and more aggressive team and Limerick really looked a leggy, ageing side today. Lot of lads near 30 there with a lot of miles on the clock and it really told today. When some of our greats faded, it sometimes happened overnight. Limerick have been very average for a good while, with the exception of the Cork match. Their championship form over the past 14 months has been poor, and their league form was being downplayed, but clearly the cracks were showing. Dublin were absolutely heroic throughout, but particularly with 14 men. Huge shot in the arm for Dublin and Leinster hurling.

Jesus whatever we say about Kilkenny standards dropping, imagine being from Galway. They just let their supporters down over and over again. The space their defenders gave Tipp today was unforgivable, as was their shooting. Junior B stuff at times.
    Micheal O'Donoghue needs about a half dozen retirements there, rip up the script, and start from scratch.

In fairness to Tipp, Liam Cahill has them hopping off the ground. Super attitude, aggressive defending, and savage workrate. Nice bit of pace in the team too. They'll be a big test in 2 weeks time but they won't get it as easy as they got it today. Huge game for Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭deadybai

Couldn’t be happier with the draw. Can’t wait to play Tipp in a crunch game. If we aren’t up for this we may go home now.

A chance to bury Tipp and then Cork/Dublin in the final. It doesn’t get better than that!

Tommy walsh went from starting every game for kk for 10yrs having a bad year or 2 legs going benched and retired within 18 months you can see that happening to some of the Limerick players aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Don't know about burying tipp, we are in bonus territory now with a new team so they will be back either way. I would have Kilkenny as strong favorites however.

Tommys legs went overnight… I think he was only 29 when he lost his place.

Are you sure you’re not from Kerry newhouse 😁

I’ve never seen a player since have such a rapid decline in pace it was hard to believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭hogans heroes

Will need to improve dramatically on today's performance if they want to play a aemi final in Nowlan pk.really lacking up front with no goal threat.Hope kilkenny fans get in early to shout them on as they will need it.

Agreed… Cody tried him in the forwards in 2014 but ultimately his race was run. I was gutted at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭hogans heroes

Thats in reply to the camogiie game.forgot to quote greenspurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Village87

Ah Jaysus surely Mark Dowling and Bergin will walk themselves. Read the room lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭newhouse87

😁, yerra im not. I just think Kilkenny are that bit ahead of this current tipp team at the moment. Think Cahill needs to hook Darragh mac, i wouldn't be as optimistic as some people are about him. Not saying we wont win but i expect Kilkenny to. This place would go into meltdown if we beat ye judging by some comments ha.

Ye have had a bit of a run against us at all grades lately so I’m hoping we’re due a win over ye. Tipp hurling on the up for sure though so it’s a game that’s hard to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Huw lawlor versus jake Morris will be a battle royale if Jake plays at 14... I would expect huw to do a better job than daithi burke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭conor05

I would say that was Hannons last ever appearance in a Limerick jersey, he was targeted big time by Dublin when he came on today and was all at sea, especially for the Dublin goal, great hurler and captain when at his peak though it must be said.

Tipp will bring a huge crowd to the semi final, their first championship appearance in Croke Park since 2019 I heard today?

David Clifford from Kerry had to plea with the Kerry fans to travel to Croke Park next weekend v Armagh when collecting his match award today v Cavan, it was embarrassing for the chap. Kilkenny and Kerry are similar the fans just refuse to travel and support their teams, it’s absolutely crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭kilkenny34

There's nothing stopping Lymg or a prominent ex KK hurler come out and do the same. Likes of Tyrell,Eddie,Paul Murphy have had numerous chances to come out and and call our dismal support but just seem to have no interest in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭kilkenny34

In fairness Kerry have an excuse of having a massive distance to Dublin. We have no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Box to box

Course I was delighted to see Dublin win,it was a boost for leinster hurling. I'm not the only one to say it but as soon as the county board is criticised you're in like a flash defending them. You must be involved or have someone involved. It's not my fault that they didn't go after herity or Brian dowling,Tom mullally,Eddie brennan,Richie power, tpmmy walsh.Paul Murphy and Richie hogan are Good on off the ball it's surprising more of that golden crop aren't more involved. I know a good pundit doesn't guarantee anything.

There's not too many matches I miss club or county but the players have being let down by the county board. Training facilities are on par with Christy ring counties. Its hard to belive kk had to go to carlow to train in the window. Barry hickey giving out about the price of buses. I'd hate to see how he would manage if we had football aswell .Nolan park won't win awards for a long time it's very obvious the standard has slipped from overuse and reduced spending. It's well known they should be getting way more off glanbia but like the appointment if managers they don't rock the boat.

U20 player told me he wouldn't be surprised if Mark dowlin got another term. After the horror show the last 3 years nothing would surprise me

Well done to Ivan bolder who was called to the senior squad. Corner back has being a troublesome position so hopefully the next few years he can nail it down. Usually kk go off this wknd before the semi.