Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

your kilkenny , since the last semi final we have met in in 1999 , you have won 17 out of the last 24 all irealnd semis , form goes out the window for ye from here on , i wll admit that we were both over confidant and naïve in our approach last july , between poor tactical decisions and poor shooting on the day , if we change in that department then we can talk about limerick in a few weeks time but dont go on form it means nothing now , tipperary beat us by 6 points and scored 5 goals against us in ennis in round one , thats all ireland wining form , they were miles off against galway its all on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,452 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

getting worried when i see a few of the old brigade reappear with good claims and reasoning of how ye are going to beat us tomorrow , all i can say is best of luck tomorrow lads safe journey hopefully we have learned from our mistakes , if we hav'nt we wont win simple as

also fair play to both camps for keeping things so quiet over the last two weeks not a word from either side on injuries or tactics , both camps are tight ,this one will go close id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Comerman

The only thing I claimed was Brookville was one of the best posters here and wished best of luck to EVERYONE involved tomorrow 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭kk.man

Limerick were class this evening. Hard to see past them now. I think Henry in real trouble in Galway with a very poor return from two years work. I genuinely thought he was another Cody in the making.

It does make you wounder where we are at as a result of the Galway trouncing today.

We need to bring our A game with everyone firing tomorrow. Here's hoping for a good game in any event.

Go out and out-hurl Clare tomorrow. We've plenty in the forwards to make it a nightmare afternoon for them.

Unfortunately we'll have to resort to the cute-hoorism in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 AhBoyDelaney

What made you think Henry was another Cody in the making. FFS there is no way firstly that Cody would have gone to Galway. Henry’s legacy has been damaged in KK with this move and he has done nothing to improve Galway. Guarantee Galway would have at least won Leinster if Cody was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,086 ✭✭✭kk.man

A small matter of two club all Ireland from two attempts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

I could be wrong but this AI is far from over. That was an utter capitulation from Galway. No one, not even Shefflin, can rid Galway of that. The sheer lack of any fight in forwards form 25th min onwards was depressing. They won 4 minor AIs in a row 2017-2020 and not one of the marquee forwards from those teams have stepped up.

Shefflin would have gone up to Galway believing Sean Mc Donagh and Gavin Lee and Jack Canning etc could do serious damage at senior, but not even a sign of them. If these guys had come through, no disrepect, you wouldn't see Linnane, Fahy, Concannon, Kevin Cooney, Ronan Glennon?

Once Limerick pulled the keeper injured stunt to get Kinnerk to reorganise things, and supply line to Whelan got choked, it was game over.

It was madness to believe the 2017/2018 Galway team minus Canning and a host of others would roll back the clock. Clare or Kilkenny will provide a vastly less one dimensional test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 longcovid

very disappointed in Galway’s performance today. Henry did not seem able to react to the Limerick changes which essentially boiled down to pulling men back to deny the Galway forwards space. They continued to lump high balls down on the more crowded Limerick half back line but started to do it with a higher trajectory than the first half. Which gave Limerick more time to crowd. Limerick won pulling up and they deserved it today but when they pull this crowding lark a lot of their success depends on the short throw tactic which they get away with over and over. Are there rules to be observed or not? Hurling is supposed to be a stick game and football a foot game but we’re ending up with rugby with sticks in hurling and boring handball in football. Something needs to be done.

I think we’ll win tomorrow btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

No mature adults in Kilkenny believe Henrys legacy is tarnished. Rubbish.

And as he will manage Kilkenny at some stage in the next few years they may as well get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Galway’s performance was shocking beyond belief that they lost there shape after twenty five minutes,Limerick probably got five points without reply before the break in the second half I thought Nilands first miss of the day showed the white flag after that it was all Limerick. Jesus Tom Monaghan sent in a highball to the forwards there was absolutely no one there bar the Limerick goalkeeper and his three backs. One of there up and coming stars Liam Collins made no impact whatsoever when introduced replacing Brian Concannon a potential man of the match performer after 20 minutes.Limerick grew into the game but Galway let dictate the second half by not keeping pushing up on there backs. Anyway we have enough to worry about today and if we win we will worry about what to do with Limerick. Best of luck to our boys today.

I heard the development squads hurled well against Galway in the last two weeks. It’s a pity the results couldn’t be put up on GAA news. Can anyone elaborate.

Ageism catching up on me Nicky Quaid went down for no reason again and took the momentum out of the game something has to be done about this but I don’t think Donal og could comment seen as he did it against us in1999 he dropped his contact lens but no one saw him putting one back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

It's laughable at this stage, it's so obvious there's nothing wrong with him. From a Limerick perspective, it's a signal to reset and seems to work for them, so why wouldn't they keep doing it if there's no sanction......not sure what a ref can do about it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

With a cheat code of a team. I have no issue with Henry going to Galway but there were so many people going on about how Henry was a tactical genius the way he had Shamrocks playing when all they were doing was pumping ball into a full forward line of Cody, Colin and TJ versus a heap of club corner backs. He deserves credit for winning those 2 AIs but he was massively overrated off the back of them.

Fingers crossed for today. I think we'll win which in the last few years usually blows up in my face. A lot depends on the actual fitness of Adrian and Mossy on our side and Cleary on their side in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 AhBoyDelaney

With a team already established. Henry was a great player but not a great manager. He had to deliver a Leinster title this year but 2 years in a row Galway have flopped. He panics too much on the line and I don’t think this helps the players. As for his sidekick his behaviour is shocking on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

That’s it, you’d have to be worried about the fitness of Mossy and Adrian. I know Mossy was really struggling a couple of weeks ago and the hamstring is an injury you can’t really test properly without the risk of doing further damage so we’ll just have to see how it goes.

Mullen may be fit to line out but definitely isn’t match fit so he’s also a risk but he’s so important to us it’s a risk worth taking.

I don’t think we’ll line out as selected though and wouldn’t be surprised if Wally starts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

Henry is not the first manager to struggle with galway and won't be the last..he probably thought he would be able to bring in some of the big names from the multiple successful underage teams but ended up with the 2017 team minus Joe canning

On today's game my confidence is dwindling a little after seeing how poor galway were.. the 2 biggest things for me are how the lads coming back from injury are and have the team as a whole gone up a gear since the Leinster championship

There is more pressure on clare to perform though..which I think they will..

Overall I'm still hopeful but not as confident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Maybe the reason why these underage stars are nowhere to be seen is they’re burnt out. They may have grown tired of the regimented lifestyle and S&C bullshit that some on here would have you believe is the be all and all of hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Todd_UnctiousGael

Thunder and Lightning with heavy rain up here at the moment. Weather could have a big bearing on the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭kksaints

Have a player go right up into Quaid's face when he's getting "treatment" and have players disrupt the Limerick sideline team talk. Not sporting I know but it's happening every match at this stage. It was very clear yesterday that Quaid wasn't getting any treatment at all, looked more like he was getting something on his collar fixed.

Yeah, what was that with the collar? I wondered for a moment if he was wired up but then there would be no need for the whole routine that Quaid goes through when they need to slow things down and get instructions onto the pitch

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Mic gets loose and needs to be reattached? Still unlikely but it definitely didn't look like any treatment at all yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭MfMan

McDonagh hasn't pushed on, as yet, so not Henry's fault there. Canning did get a run earlier in the year, got injured I believe, and wasn't seen since. I would persevere another while with him though. Lee is a sub; only U-20 and a Fresher this year so plenty of time for him to come through. Glennon and probably Linnane not good enough certainly, Fahy is still breaking through, Kevin Cooney is fine and as this was his first real year as a starter, will be the better for the experience. Concannon is one of the reasons Galway are called inconsistent - mixes the good and ordinary during matches. Probably our best defender yesterday, Darren Morrissey, was captain of the 2017 team. I did say here I think earlier that the squad Henry inherited is in greater transition than maybe he had realised. A fair rebuild is now required. Given the power and focus of their second half performance yesterday, probably their best since the Munster campaign last year, it's unlikely either Clare or KK would have fared any better yesterday evening against Limerick.

Couldn’t judge Galway we’re so bad. Kilkenny would fight to the death in an AI semi Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Best of luck lads. Full belt now for the 70 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭me89

Savage workrate and unbelievable block from Fogarty. Keep running at the fullback line they are very shaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Senditinlow

Alot of KK forwards haven't felt the weight of the ball yet still 5pts up. TJ some freetaker, Clare fullback line under serious pressure. Amount of blocks and hooks savage from kk all over the pitch. Mossy, Donnelly and Mullen not at the pace of the game yer. Unless Clare up it big time, can't see us winning by 6pts at least

5 points up at halftime. Playing well so far, great workrate from TJ in particular. Clare have ran right through the centre of the pitch once or twice which is a concern but we're generally defending well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭usualstripes

Some savage blocks alright. Decent 1st half and if Cody gets any space he will do harm. I suppose Lyons doesn't view high tackles with the hurl around the neck dangerous. 3 times and no yellow card. But the lads need to get a good start to the 2nd half and keep popping over the scores.