Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who can I report this Accountant to?

• 23-06-2021 3:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭

I used this Business back in 2016 to assess my Income Tax and see if I could get a refund from the Revenue.

I quickly learned through a friend that this procedure could be done by myself and no cost to me. I immediately logged onto my Account and removed him as my Agent and then edited the Bank details to my own.

For the following few year's including 2020 I done my own balancing statement and never heard of Irish Tax Rebates until last month I received 3 emails from Revenue telling me that they were dealing with my income tax refund. I was also bombarded with emails from Irish Tax Rebates which I has not received in year's.

I then received documentation from the Revenue that they were carrying out an Audit on me and they requested all my documents and receipts from 2018 on.

I was also put in contact with a lady from Revenue who was dealing with my case, I explained all of the above story to Her and that Irish Tax Rebates had somehow added themselves as my Agent again.

She then explained that they had claimed Flat rate expenses for me that I am not entitled to since 2017 so I now owe the Revenue this money along with fee's and penalties.

Irish Tax Rebates also edited the Bank details on My Account

Can this Company be reported for this and to whom?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

When you sign up with them they add themselves as an agent. All refunds go through them.

You are not the first one who felt into that trap.

That's the part they don't advertise in Facebook ads with photos of €1000+ cheques.

You probably signed something during the process allowing them to be your agent.

As for the flat rate expenses was that your fault or theirs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

You know, companies like taxback and the like will make sure the refund will be paid to them, they will take a cut of it and send it on to you. I'd be surprised if it isn't in their T&C's.
    I could be wrong, but with the exception of the Flat rate expenses (which they probably discussed with you) I doubt they've done anything wrong here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

wonski wrote: »
    When you sign up with them they add themselves as an agent. All refunds go through them.

You are not the first one who felt into that trap.

That's the part they don't advertise in Facebook ads with photos of €1000+ cheques.

You probably signed something during the process allowing them to be your agent.

As for the flat rate expenses was that your fault or theirs?

I removed them as the Agent and changed the Bank details to my own but they somehow got in a few weeks ago and changed it to their Bank Account and put in the claim for flat rate expenses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

You know, companies like taxback and the like will make sure the refund will be paid to them, they will take a cut of it and send it on to you. I'd be surprised if it isn't in their T&C's.
    I could be wrong, but with the exception of the Flat rate expenses (which they probably discussed with you) I doubt they've done anything wrong here.

Funny aside about tax back, one of their clients who"s name is the same as mine, somehow also gave tax back my actual email address, or so I think. Out of nowhere at the start of the Pandemic, I got an email with their clients entire personal details, mobile number, address and the amount they where lodging into his nominated bank account. I emailed them back immediately as they clearly were email the wrong person, of course ignored, followed by 2 more emails until I let rip, I even called the client explaining what happened, he was livid. Actually sent me a voucher in the post as a thank you, never found out how it ended, but I got a little something in Argos, Click and collect of course :)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭howardmarks

Truckermal wrote: »
    I removed them as the Agent and changed the Bank details to my own but they somehow got in a few weeks ago and changed it to their Bank Account and put in the claim for flat rate expenses.

Did you contact the company and advise that you no longer wished to avail of their services and that they should/are no longer your agent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Just curious OP, why would you want to report an accountant you appointed as agent and then didn't bother to inform, you'd removed? Seems a little odd

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Did you contact the company and advise that you no longer wished to avail of their services and that they should/are no longer your agent?

Yes I did but they ignored me I deleted them again on my account.

What is p1ssing me off is how did they add themselves as my Agent after 4 year's.

I did inform them I removed them but until they are still sending me emails.

I had heard nothing from them since 2016 and out of no where they add themselves again and change my bank details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

It seems unethical but did you tell them that they were no longer your agent?

If you have an agreement with them to be your agent and you tell a third party that they aren't your agents you aren't ending your association with them. You have to tell them they aren't your agents. Taxrebates still have a document that you signed saying they are your agent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,121 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I had heard nothing from them since 2016 and out of no where they add themselves again and change my bank details.

That sounds odd.

It seems unethical but did you tell them that they were no longer your agent?

If you have an agreement with them to be your agent and you tell a third party that they aren't your agents you aren't ending your association with them. You have to tell them they aren't your agents. Taxrebates still have a document that you signed saying they are your agent.

Yes and as I've said I removed them via my Account and changed the Bank details to my own back in 2016 and never heard from them again until 1 month ago when they added themselves again and changed the Bank details to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Screwed me over in 2018

I used them in 2016 and 2017 for previous year.

Did not ask them to do anything in 2018

Did my own returns in may 2018 for 2017.

Feckers went in the same day.
    Changed all details back to their account detail.

Claimed they also did my 2017 returns coincidentally on the exact same day as I did.

Took their cut. And had a serious attitude about it on the phone. The office manager was laughing down the phone at me.

Yes and as I've said I removed them via my Account and changed the Bank details to my own back in 2016 and never heard from them again until 1 month ago when they added themselves again and changed the Bank details to their own.

OK I'll restate the question.

Removing them on my account is telling revenue that tax rebates isn't your agent.

Did you tell taxrebates that they weren't your agent.

Tax rebates have a document from you in 2016 appointing you as agents and authorising them to act as agent. If they pull that document out and send it to revenue again revenue will reappoint them as agent. If they don't have a document telling them that they are no longer agent they see no problem using that document to reappoint themselves as agent.

When you remove your agent you need to tell your agent they are no longer agents as well as telling revenue.

I do think they are the scum of the earth but I do believe that you need to be very careful about dotting all the is and crossing all the ts when getting rid of these people.

I get it and it is frustrating, but removing them from your myaccount with revenue or changing bank details does not mean they are not your agents any more. They are your revenue agent until you specifically tell them to stop being your agent.

Unless you have a proof you asked them to be removed as your agent it can be tough.

Nothing to do with revenue. You must talk to them to remove them.

It sucks, but that's how they lure their customers in and get some handy profits in. You have to remove them as your agent with themselves.

Look forget it I'm after explaining myself enough of times FFS are ye thick stupid to keep asking the same thing.

So to sum up what you are posting

You told revenue that they aren't your agents.

You didn't tell tax rebates that they weren't your agents.

Tax rebates still had your permission to act as agents and to appoint themselves as agents. They did so.

Its not right it's not ethical but its what these people do and I haven't heard of anyone having success with challenging them.

I actually checked and apologies, because you are right.

According to the revenue you just have to remove them on myaccount and remove the bank account.

I was giving advice based on old experience on those leeches ;)

But I do remember it was a pain to get them removed hence my post initially.

No excuse, though for posting without double checking most recent facts.

Tax rebates still had your permission to act as agents and to appoint themselves as agents. They did so.

Its not right it's not ethical but its what these people do and I haven't heard of anyone having success with challenging them.

That's what I thought, but the below is taken from Revenue website:

Removing an agent and updating bank account details
    If you do not wish to have an agent act on your behalf, you must remove him or her from your Revenue record. If you do not do this he or she will continue to receive correspondence and have access to your records. You can remove an agent in ‘Manage My Record’ in myAccount.

Where you have previously authorised an agent to receive refunds on your behalf, you must update the bank account details saved in your Profile in myAccount. If you do not do this any future refunds will continue to be paid into your agent’s bank account.

YES I DID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

Am I missing the part of general customer service

Obviously this crowd would have noticed they were removed and rather than investigating and contacting their client/ex client and querying
    did he do this himself (and for what purpose)
    or
    is he using a different accountant going forward?

surely that should have been their first step rather than automatically re-adding themselves

Seems like a gap in customer service with thE intention of automatically doing it knowing they would be first to get the refund and take their cut and then use the :'tax agent' excuse (which I do understand but surely you'd contact your client)

They would have known they were removed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I suppose you could report them to Revenue and ask for them to be audited. Might set the cat amongst the pigeons - especially if this kind of sharp trading practice is a repeat occourance. I’d read your contract t’s and c’s first to be sure.

The competition authority might be interested - as might the CRO. Most other quangos have no teeth. Is there someone you specifically dealt with who is a registered member of an accounting body? They might be interested in whether a registered member is behaving unethically or in a manner that might bring the body into disrepute.

Check their complaints against a member t’s and c’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭pinkfloyd34

Yes its all to do with the power of attorney that was signed by you and the agent in the beginning, you would have to notify revenue in writing that they are not your agent and the date from which they ceased as agent and also notify the agent in writing. Removing them on my account might not work because they can pull a fast one and say we are still going by the power of attorney. And even revenue have to agree the last thing they have on their file is the signed power of attorney but a letter from you may make that void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Mail revenue with a mail along the following.

I authorized X on y date to act as my agent. On z date I removed them in line with your guidelines. You appear to have wrongly issued a refund to this agent. Please reissue the refund to myself as per the instructions you received on z date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Well you were stupid enough to employ them in the first place to do something you could have done yourself.
    Time to unfollow if your shouting with caps lock large font like the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

I saw the thread name and said to myself, "I bet that's Irish Tax Rebates"

Runs a tax farm in Athy and staff constantly changing.

Have yet to find someone that says positive things about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Ironic enough post tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Darc19 wrote: »
    I saw the thread name and said to myself, "I bet that's Irish Tax Rebates"

Runs a tax farm in Athy and staff constantly changing.

Have yet to find someone that says positive things about them

Ah now I know who they are, very swanky office in the middle of the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Phone Joe Duffy tomorrow. It’d be right up his street!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

There is 0 chance that you informed the company that you were removing them as your agent, removed them + they went ahead and linked themselves as your agent again.

If they were stupid enough to do that, you could probably pursue action imo as they would have fraudulently reused your original signature/agent link form.

However, I do not believe the OP tbh. Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

READ POST 8

wonski wrote: »
    That's what I thought, but the below is taken from Revenue website:

There's two things that are issues here

1. Revenue don't look at agent link forms. I know agents that have scribbled **** you revenue on a page and it's been accepted.

2. If a firm considers it acceptable to use an old agent link revenue don't care. I know people that have been told by similar firms that ros errors happen all the time and if the agent isnt told that they are the agent that they are allowed to read themselves as agent.

So the biggest practical constraint on an agent is if the agent considers it acceptable to readd themselves as agent.

If you look at the terms and conditions of the agreement with Irish taxrebates it says our contract will renew automatically for each year unless you cancel with us.

Irish taxrebates would see this as authorisation to readd themselves as agent. I'm not certain what Revenue would say about that but it may serve as justification for how they act. I'd need to consult legal advice to be certain.
    YES I DID
    Great. We have progress. This is the first time you have said this.

How did you tell Irish Tax Rebates?
    When did you tell Irish Taxrebates they weren't your agents?
    Did you follow the procedures set out in the terms and conditions of your agreement with Irishtaxrebates?
    LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    There is 0 chance that you informed the company that you were removing them as your agent, removed them + they went ahead and linked themselves as your agent again.
    I would tend to agree with this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭paul71

Tax back agents are not Accountants and are not members of any Registered accountancy body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Jerry Attrick

Great. We have progress. This is the first time you have said this.

How did you tell Irish Tax Rebates?
    When did you tell Irish Taxrebates they weren't your agents?
    Did you follow the procedures set out in the terms and conditions of your agreement with Irishtaxrebates?

Actually, it wasn't. He said it in post #8.

READ POST 8

Ah horrible English. Perhaps you would care to translate.

But until they are sending me emails makes no sense.

I'll admit I parsed that as missing a word because the grammer seemed to imply it.

I did inform them I removed them but not until they are still sending me emails

Perhaps the op didn't mean that and would care to correct his English. If he did mean that he didn't inform them until they serviced him wrongly in the years under discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

When you get older and lose your uppityness you'll be able to translate for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

But until they are sending me emails makes no sense.

I'll admit I parsed that as missing a word because the grammer seemed to imply it.

I did inform them I removed them but not until they are still sending me emails

Perhaps the op didn't mean that and would care to correct his English. If he did mean that he didn't inform them until they serviced him wrongly in the years under discussion.

Unless you're after ironically misspelling grammar there, you probably shouldn't be so condescending about the OP's grasp of things. Even more so since since you've been known to give surprisingly bad tax advice (for someone working in the area) on here at times yourself.

The OP was asked one question, "Did you....?", and in post 8 he answered that question at the outset, "Yes I did but they ignored me....".

Everything that comes after that must be read in the context where he's already clearly and unambiguously confirmed that he did tell them he wasn't using them any more.

Now, you can choose not to believe him if you want, but he answered the question, so you should probably brush up on your English comprehension skills before criticising his written English.

screamer wrote: »
    Ah now I know who they are, very swanky office in the middle of the town.

In fairness he got the premises for very small money at the height of the recession and refurbishment wasn't a huge expense as he knows many tradespeople - he specialises in tradesmen tax returns.

And yes he is a fully qualified accountant and has at least three fully qualified accountants working there.

Unless you're after ironically misspelling grammar there, you probably shouldn't be so condescending about the OP's grasp of things. Even more so since since you've been known to give surprisingly bad tax advice (for someone working in the area) on here at times yourself.

The OP was asked one question, "Did you....?", and in post 8 he answered that question at the outset, "Yes I did but they ignored me....".

Everything that comes after that must be read in the context where he's already clearly and unambiguously confirmed that he did tell them he wasn't using them any more.

Now, you can choose not to believe him if you want, but he answered the question, so you should probably brush up on your English comprehension skills before criticising his written English.

Thank you.

Now that's cleared up who can I report this to as I'm fairly p1ssed over the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

What is p1ssing me off is how did they add themselves as my Agent after 4 year's.

Reading Google reviews of Irish Tax Rebate this exact same situation has happened to a few people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭capefear

When you remove them as your agent they would have got a letter from revenue saying that they were no longer acting as your agents, surly for them to then re-submit the agent link after getting the removal letter is a breach of ethics or something. That’s just crazy that they can do that and get away with it regardless of what there t & c’s.

Best of luck with it OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭gudede

Thank you.

Now that's cleared up who can I report this to as I'm fairly p1ssed over the whole thing.

Local TD or the Tax Institute. But, probably get nowhere.

Accountants are regulated by their professional bodies but sadly they aren’t.

It’s cheap for a reason.

If you did cancel their service in line with T&C’s then contact a solicitor because it’s fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭gudede

Can you change the name of the forum?? Their not accountants and it’s unfair on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭GSBellew

In fairness he got the premises for very small money at the height of the recession and refurbishment wasn't a huge expense as he knows many tradespeople - he specialises in tradesmen tax returns.

And yes he is a fully qualified accountant and has at least three fully qualified accountants working there.

Strange the professional accreditations are not listed on the site, care to share which professional body?

@op, you didn't happen to share your login details for your revenue "my account" ? I'd be changing them anyway if I was you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

READ POST 8
    Actually, it wasn't. He said it in post #8.

Post 8 says the he contact them in 2020 after that re-added themselves and he removed them again.
    The other posters were asking if he contact them and informed them he didn't want there services in 2016/2017. It's a reasonable question as OP has not clearly started that he did.

A bit of reading comprehension is needed here tbh.

Mellor wrote: »
    Post 8 says the he contact them in 2020 after that re-added themselves and he removed them again.
    The other posters were asking if he contact them and informed them he didn't want there services in 2016/2017. It's a reasonable question as OP has not clearly started that he did.

A bit of reading comprehension is needed here tbh.

The issue I have there is that revenue actually inform an agent when they have been removed as an agent. If the events as detailed above are correct, then this agent submitted a new agent link form and forged the signature of the client.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

paul71 wrote: »
    The issue I have there is that revenue actually inform an agent when they have been removed as an agent. If the events as detailed above are correct, then this agent submitted a new agent link form and forged the signature of the client.

I would be off to the guards if he can prove they forged his signature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

THhat's kinda irrelevant to my post though.

I was referring to a simple question that the OP was asked, and instead of answering clearly, and saying when he told them. His attitude was "ye thick stupid".

I'm not suggesting that the Agent isn't being a sneak here. But I would imagine it's more likely that he has reused the old link form rather than forged a document and left a paper trail.

Might want to re-read what the OP said before pulling out the comprehension card. You actually deleted the relevant part from your quote.
    Reading that as written, he contact that informing them of that in 2020/2021 when he removed them from his account for the second time.

Maybe one half of the sentence refers to 2016, and the other 2020. Maybe there should have been a full stop. It certainly not clear when he contacted them, so not sure why he has the attitude instead of answering a simple question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ah boards, where instead of actual helpful answers (not that mines much help either!) it spirals in to a debate on grammar and punctuation.

GSBellew wrote: »
    Strange the professional accreditations are not listed on the site, care to share which professional body?

He operates accountancy services as well as tax back.

Separate entity, for very obvious reasons.

Revenue don't need a signed agent link form. A piece of paper with f*** you revenue is enough.

They should get one and if the taxrebates are pretending to be legitimate they will have one.

That said taxrebates will have no problem reusing an old agent link form.

They may claim that they weren't notified in accordance with their terms and conditions that they are allowed and obligated to do so under their contract with the op. I still don't know if the op told taxrebates in 2016 that they were no longer agents.

The op wants to know how to report these people. They don't seem to hodl themselves out as being part of a professional body so that won't help.

Revenue may or may not care about reusing an old agent link. I don't know. As I said above a piece of paper with *uck you revenue is acceptable to appoint an agent.

A court case is the easiest option. That becomes much simpler if Irish tax rebates were told before Irish tax rebates did work on the more recent years that they were no longer agents. Its much more complicated otherwise. Either way it's probably too complicated a case to be worth bringing to court.