If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Is classism/snobbery alive in Ireland?

• 03-06-2021 11:46PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

Is classism/snobbery alive and well in Ireland? I rented a place in a well off part of Dublin for a few years. I'm a plumber by trade and had my Hiace van parked outside. One of my neighbours, I think she and her husband were retired civil servants, she used to complain about me bringing down the tone of the place with the van. She and her husband would have been in their sixties and on first meeting them you would think they were quite timid, but they were obnoxious snobs. They were both originally from the country though, I have to say I've never met a real dub who was a snob. Does anyone have similar stories or do you think in general that classism or snobbery still exists in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Yep still around without a doubt. It was always there and probably always will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Yep still around without a doubt. It was always there and probably always will be

A lot of them are Beggars on horseback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I have to say I've never met a real dub who was a snob.
    You mustn't have met many Dubliners then. The place is riddled with snobbery. From what school you went to, to your feckin post code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,502 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Never went away. Not for a single second.

The biggest ism anyone will ever face these days is classism. You'll be judged (wholly unfairly) faster for your perceived "class" than anything else and it's still very much alive and well in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,929 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

You mustn't have met many Dubliners then. The place is riddled with snobbery. From what school you went to, to your feckin post code.

you a posh cricket fan? :pac:

a lot of people are snobby for some reason. anything people dont like, they look down upon.

could be the sport you follow.
    where you live.
    what school.
    anything.

the biggest culchie in the world will still laugh at cricket with a snobby attitude.

utd/liverpool fans have a great attitude towards city fans. look at the football thread for the snobbery there cos they dont have as many fans.

snobs are in every part of society.

to answer your question, yes it is still alive and kicking. and your neighbors are snobs as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,897 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

It's always been there. Come to think of it back in my school days we used to take the absolute p!ss out of the country lads slagging them for being farmers and stinking of cow sh!te. Little did we know they were slagging us off for having no land and for living on top of one another in council houses. Everyone stereotypes and judges one another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭the immortals

Depends on what part of the city you're in, mostly I'd say no but there are a lot of peasants around certain area's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

What’s the fun of living anywhere if you can’t partake in, or bear the brunt of a little snobbery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Purple is a Fruit

Nowhere near as bad as England but people here do feel they have to put someone else's address on job applications and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Always has been, probably Always will be. Then there is the look at them who do they think are if people are looking to better themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,142 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I dont know why this comes as a surprise to anyone. Did you think we were some sort of egalitarian workers' paradise comrade?

You would think that after we went through the various booms and busts and as Ireland becomes more of a meritocracy that people would be 'over' the old petty snobbishness. The GAA thriving in South Dublin is for me the new classless vision I would want for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Fils

There is a lot of fur coat around also. People with their pcp suv, not a pot to p1ss in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,142 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You would think that after we went through the various booms and busts and as Ireland becomes more of a meritocracy that people would be 'over' the old petty snobbishness. The GAA thriving in South Dublin is for me the new classless vision I would want for Ireland.

That might be true if everyone suffered equally in the busts, which plainly is never the case.

Yes, OP. Yes it is. And so is inverted classism/snobbery, which is just as stupid and pompous as any prejudice, but has one thing going for it --it's kicking up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,115 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Would that be in anyway related to the money that has been pumped into Dublin GAA, resulting in their record-breaking run of All-Ireland wins? It may be classless in one sense but it's definitely not egalitarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

The GAA thriving in South Dublin is for me the new classless vision I would want for Ireland.

god id hope not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Dubmany

Is classism/snobbery alive and well in Ireland? I rented a place in a well off part of Dublin for a few years. I'm a plumber by trade and had my Hiace van parked outside. One of my neighbours, I think she and her husband were retired civil servants, she used to complain about me bringing down the tone of the place with the van. She and her husband would have been in their sixties and on first meeting them you would think they were quite timid, but they were obnoxious snobs.
    Of course snobbery and classism is alive in Ireland and always will be; it's an unpleasant aspect of human nature, and some people are better at hiding it than others.
    They were both originally from the country though, I have to say I've never met a real dub who was a snob. Does anyone have similar stories or do you think in general that classism or snobbery still exists in Ireland?

Ironically, there's always something a bit snobby about the generalisation "from the country" when applied to someone from another smaller town or city, or to someone of unknown origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Good jobs got through the GAA. Nepotism if yer brave enough to say it. Which I am :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭beerguts

I don't think you will find any nation 9n earth where there isn't classism or snobbery. Whether you are old money in new england USA or a Parisian looking down on French men from the provinces it's part and parcel of life.
    I for one would never associate with the common muck in the next parish over from me as most of the farmers have Zetors and I am a Massey ferguson man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

It’s definitely a part of human nature and some places it’s more obvious then others.
    I also don’t think it’s always the better offs looking down at the less well off because I think sometimes they have a ‘who do they think they are’ attitude towards people they perceive to have more then them.

Way I see it is so much of life is luck. Where you were born and what kind of family you were born to massively shapes your life and your outlook.

You only have to open any thread that mentions social housing on this forum, to see that classism and snobbery is alive and well in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

It's a lot worse in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

There 8s a lot of snobbery around from what I call the bucket class (as in hyacenth bucket).
    They are from normal every day families but are trying to be the class above them but they dont have the wealth, land, businesses etc.

You especially see this working in the trades. A lot of people look down on people working with their hands for a living.
    I had one woman tell me that they should have another queue in shops and banks etc for people with important jobs that have better things to be doing
    She was a receptionist in a school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

There 8s a lot of snobbery around from what I call the bucket class (as in hyacenth bucket).
    They are from normal every day families but are trying to be the class above them but they dont have the wealth, land, businesses etc.

You especially see this working in the trades. A lot of people look down on people working with their hands for a living.
    I had one woman tell me that they should have another queue in shops and banks etc for people with important jobs that have better things to be doing

She sounds mentally unwell TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Sounds like someone trying to better herself by putting others down.
    I don’t get this whole looking down on people in trades at all. Trades are not a back up incase college doesn’t work out they are a serious career choice.
    Seriously I was very grateful to the plumber when the heating broke one winter. I certainly couldn’t fix it and hadn’t a notion what exactly went wrong but I got the heating back thanks to someone else knowledge and experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 LMC7

It's way worse in the UK.

Worked with a man who had the blood drained from his face when I "assumed" he was working class.

I suppose they have always been a wealthier country with royal lineages,aristocratic families etc so it means more than it could ever mean to us if that makes sense.

I think the Irish are more partial to notions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,371 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Why do people have this want to pidgeonhole themselves or others into some 'class'... whats all that about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,502 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Strumms wrote: »
    Why do people have this want to pidgeonhole themselves or others into some 'class'... whats all that about ?

Privilege.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Strumms wrote: »

I presume it make us feel better about ourselves if we can think we are better than others, be that morally or financially or having a fancy job