Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Kia Sportage to be revealed soon but here is a few teaser shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Something to get excited about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

cpoh1 wrote: »
    Something to get excited about?

Yes indeed.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    Yes indeed.

I was being sarcastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,861 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I was being sarcastic.

well aren't you just edgy af.

Ms

I was being sarcastic.

I was'nt.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

well aren't you just edgy af.

Whatever floats your boat, news of a new korean budget family car wouldnt be what your typical motors enthusiast salivates to i would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Whatever floats your boat, news of a new korean budget family car wouldnt be what your typical motors enthusiast salivates to i would imagine.

As far as I know, the current Sportage goes for about €37,000 so I don't think that would exactly qualify as a budget car.

Ms

There is nothing budget about the current Sportage and the next one will be even better and more upmarket too. The Koreans make cars just as good as anyone else now and even better than German and Japanese cars in some cases. Do they are not quiet as good as the French yet do.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭champchamp

OSI wrote: »
    Will be interesting to see how this turns out. While I like that the Koreans are putting effort into their cars of late and putting pressure on the Germans, the new Tucson is an assault on the eyes. If this looks well outside and is a good on the inside as the new Tucson it should be a good seller, and that can only be a good thing for pushing the other manufactures to pull the finger out.

I think the new Tucson looks class.

Anything from Kia is budget v more established rivals such as VW, Audi etc.

I would certainly consider the tucson, kia sportage and qashqai as budget "SUV", regardless of the entry cost. Cars like the tiguan, CX-5, karoq would be more midrange and upper market end would be the X3, Q5, XC60.

Thats not a dig at Sportage owners but the car is aimed at the lower end of the new SUV price scale, even if it is arguably better value than its pricier rivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Let us know what cars we can discuss on the motor forum because I am confused lately a bit on this motors forum tbh.

If I want to show photos of a new Dacia and be excited about it let it be.

It's motors forum. These are cars. People will discuss and even buy some of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Anything from Kia is budget v more established rivals such as VW, Audi etc.

I would certainly consider the tucson, kia sportage and qashqai as budget "SUV", regardless of the entry cost. Cars like the tiguan, CX-5, karoq would be more midrange and upper market end would be the X3, Q5, XC60.

Thats not a dig at Sportage owners but the car is aimed at the lower end of the new SUV price scale, even if it is arguably better value than its pricier rivals.

Cometely agree.

Get out of a new Tucson and into a new Tiguan and the fit and finish difference is night and day.

Not putting the Tucson down by any means, nor would i be saying the Tiguan isn't too dear but there are differences.

wonski wrote: »
    Let us know what cars we can discuss on the motor forum because I am confused lately a bit on this motors forum tbh.

If I want to show photos of a new Dacia and be excited about it let it be.

It's motors forum. These are cars. People will discuss and even buy some of them.

I never said you were not allowed to discuss them, but because this is a forum people are also allowed to discuss and judge these cars.

The kia sportage is a snore fest and awaiting a new model release is nothing to be excited about. You post on a public forum, expect a variety of opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Borzoi

Cometely agree.

Get out of a new Tucson and into a new Tiguan and the fit and finish difference is night and day.

Starting price of a Tiguan €32700
    Starting price if current Sportage €32350

Night and day cost €350, allegedly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

I never said you were not allowed to discuss them, but because this is a forum people are also allowed to discuss and judge these cars.

The kia sportage is a snore fest and awaiting a new model release is nothing to be excited about. You post on a public forum, expect a variety of opinions.

If I was to be rude the whole Irish car market is a snore fest tbh.

Judge away, but why not just go to the Ferrari, Porsche or whatever forum floats your boat and let others discuss without being told how ****e Korean, French or other non premium brands are. I would personally not put VW on premium list, though ;)

Ms

Cometely agree.

So the Hyundai is better then and the VW is not great. I agree. Remember been in an A6 last year and could not believe how bad it was.

Lol. Have you even looked at the current VW range. The whole VW range is a snore fest. There are Van's out there with more style than most VW cars.
    At least Kia actually design there cars and they get noticed be it like it or loath it. VW are too lazy to even bother designing there cars at all.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Borzoi wrote: »
    Starting price of a Tiguan €32700
    Starting price if current Sportage €32350

Night and day cost €350, allegedly

Cool, now do it again with the makes and models i suggested, in a spec that's actually available and that people actually buy including delivery & metallic.

Entry level trim, manual gearbox, diesel engine, allowing €1k for delivery and dealer fees.

The Tiguan is €36,300 the Tucson is €34,600, so €1700 or about 5 times your figure.

So the Hyundai is better then and the VW is not great. I agree. Remember been in an A6 last year and could not believe how bad it was.

I know you are only looking for a rise but i couldn't disagree more.

The Tucson is still a cheaply finished car. You can see it all over the place. Hyundai have gotten an ok looking steering wheel and pleasant enough dashboard finish for a change but lots of other areas let it down.

Biggest one for me is when you are in the front seats you can very clearly see under the bonnet to where the paintwork isn't brought to a finish and you can see flat paint and base coat.

The carpets are laughably thin and cheaply finished as are the factory mats.

Door rubbers are very slim and the door sill in general is very, very 90's looking, no detail to the sill/ scuff plate area, looks nasty and very prone to wear.

Most of the physical switch gear is flimsy as fook, the wiper stalk and lighting stalk are creaky cracky plastic, not very nice, the volume scroll wheel isn't smooth and honestly the touch screen responds like a cheap smart phone from 10 years ago.

Being really critical i think it's unpleasant how you can see through the grille straight to the rad and intercooler. I think that's very cheap looking and it's going to be a hoor for damage.

It only has partial wheel arch liners so if you get a light or bright coloured car, white or red etc in side profile you can see the body colour under the wheel arches which really cheapens the look of it.

The Tucson doesn't even have a foam pad behind the rear reg plate so when you shut the boot you hear the plate rattling off the bootlid.

It's an edgy design and has lots of nice tech on board but you could write an essay on places where the Korean-ness keeps seeping through. It's a cheaper car and you can see where costs have been paired back. The VW may be dull but the way every element of it's basic design is brought to a nice resolve is just nice and to an extent at least, worth it.

Ms

I know you are only looking for a rise but i couldn't disagree more.

The Tucson is still a cheaply finished car. You can see it all over the place. Hyundai have gotten an ok looking steering wheel and pleasant enough dashboard finish for a change but lots of other areas let it down.

Biggest one for me is when you are in the front seats you can very clearly see under the bonnet to where the paintwork isn't brought to a finish and you can see flat paint and base coat.

The carpets are laughably thin and cheaply finished as are the factory mats.

Door rubbers are very slim and the door sill in general is very, very 90's looking, no detail to the sill/ scuff plate area, looks nasty and very prone to wear.

Most of the physical switch gear is flimsy as fook, the wiper stalk and lighting stalk are creaky cracky plastic, not very nice, the volume scroll wheel isn't smooth and honestly the touch screen responds like a cheap smart phone from 10 years ago.

Being really critical i think it's unpleasant how you can see through the grille straight to the rad and intercooler. I think that's very cheap looking and it's going to be a hoor for damage.

It only has partial wheel arch liners so if you get a light or bright coloured car, white or red etc in side profile you can see the body colour under the wheel arches which really cheapens the look of it.

The Tucson doesn't even have a foam pad behind the rear reg plate so when you shut the boot you hear the plate rattling off the bootlid.

It's an edgy design and has lots of nice tech on board but you could write an essay on places where the Korean-ness keeps seeping through. It's a cheaper car and you can see where costs have been paired back. The VW may be dull but the way every element of it's basic design is brought to a nice resolve is just nice and to an extent at least, worth it.

So a Sportage should be cheaper than a Tucson but I have never seen any of them things that you talk about as issues on the Dads car and him either or he would not be on his third one in 7 years. The switch gear in it is all very good and nice and works perfectly. I certainly have never seen or heard the number plate rattle on the rear door like you say or anything wrong with the paint. I have an ant who had a VW Passat and she changed it for a Kia E-Soul so she obviously does not have a problem with them either.
    Also I have cousin who used to drive a 5 series BMW and now drives a Kia Sorento and says it's a great car. He also has never talked of any of them issues that you seem to have. Maybe it is you.
    That is on lots of cars from different makes not just the Koreans and sometimes it's not like that on a Korean car. I was just looking at a carens there and you can not see through its grill but beside it is parked a Mercedes E Class the one with the square lights and guess what yes you can see through it's big ugly Merc grill. This is a 2013 Mercedes by the way. So I would say it is more how each individual car is designed than just certain makes itself. The Peugeot 407 was the same you could see right through its massive grill untill they put the front chrome bars on the grill.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I have never seen any of them things that you talk about as issues on the Dads car and him either... Maybe it is you.

Maybe it's me? Sure you wouldn't be biased at all with one on the driveway.

Maybe you're in denial? Go out to the car with my list and you can clearly see any check any of the things i mentioned, it shouldn't be hard.

Dont want you feeling too bad now either, i never said it's a bad car or anything just that the fit and finishes compared to it's rivals isn't fantastic.

Lol. Have you even looked at the current VW range. The whole VW range is a snore fest. There are Van's out there with more style than most VW cars.
    At least Kia actually design there cars and they get noticed be it like it or loath it. VW are too lazy to even bother designing there cars at all.

This has to be a windup? Have you seen the arteon, ID3/4? The new golf, the tiguan allspace and the Tourag are all handsome well designed cars.

Theres not one memorable or noticeable Kia on the road - the sportage, optima, ceed, sorento etc. all come up short compared to rivals and blend into the background as cheap korean metal.

Im not trying to insult your car, heck my family dustbin is a nissan qashqai +2 for lugging the kids, dogs and beach gear. The budget SUV has a place out there. Im not sure why you think its unfair to critique the car on an open forum like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭sumo12

This thread perfectly explains human nature and the appeal of different things. In this case it is cars. I own a Sportage and have had 2 previous Kia's and have been very happy with them. To me, they are Ronseal cars - do everything it says on the tin. Nothing blows me away about the car, but it's well put together and well specced. Is it the same interior quality as a Tiguan? No. But I would bet the Tiguan with equivalent spec to my Sportage is a few grand dearer.

I would also consider the Sportage to be more reliable - have owned a Kia since 2015 and have yet to see any warning light come on (apart from tyre pressure light GRRR) Dealer is excellent too, collects and delivers the car when getting serviced, free courtesy car when needed etc.

There's no right or wrong answer with cars, lots wouldn't touch a Sportage or a Tucson, same for VW or Mazda, same for Toyota. Who would think that some people even buy brand new Suzuki's?? Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and in the wallet of the person paying for the car....

Ms

This has to be a windup? Have you seen the arteon, ID3/4? The new golf, the tiguan allspace and the Tourag are all handsome well designed cars.

Theres not one memorable or noticeable Kia on the road - the sportage, optima, ceed, sorento etc. all come up short compared to rivals and blend into the background as cheap korean metal.

Im not trying to insult your car, heck my family dustbin is a nissan qashqai +2 for lugging the kids, dogs and beach gear. The budget SUV has a place out there. Im not sure why you think its unfair to critique the car on an open forum like this.

Nope not a wind up and yes I have seen them. They are all boring bland VW boxs.

I disagree with you on that. You obviously have not seen the new Kia Pro-Ceed it's a stunner or the X-Ceed which also is a stunner the Optima while getting a bit old now still looks great and the Stinger is class and way more than anything VW have.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Have a look at that posters history. They have a horn for slagging VW but cheering on the likes of Suzuki and SsangYong.

Ms

sumo12 wrote: »
    This thread perfectly explains human nature and the appeal of different things. In this case it is cars. I own a Sportage and have had 2 previous Kia's and have been very happy with them. To me, they are Ronseal cars - do everything it says on the tin. Nothing blows me away about the car, but it's well put together and well specced. Is it the same interior quality as a Tiguan? No. But I would bet the Tiguan with equivalent spec to my Sportage is a few grand dearer.

I would also consider the Sportage to be more reliable - have owned a Kia since 2015 and have yet to see any warning light come on (apart from tyre pressure light GRRR) Dealer is excellent too, collects and delivers the car when getting serviced, free courtesy car when needed etc.

There's no right or wrong answer with cars, lots wouldn't touch a Sportage or a Tucson, same for VW or Mazda, same for Toyota. Who would think that some people even buy brand new Suzuki's?? Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and in the wallet of the person paying for the car....

Well said. Interestingly 2015 is also the year that the old man bought his first Sportage and is now on his third one.
    There is nothing wrong with Suzukis but I thought it strange that they made the Vitara smaller when the last one came out. Was a strange decision buts it's still as popular as ever.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Vitara ... it's still as popular as ever.

ie, not very.

Ms

ie, not very.
    Maybe not where you are but where I am they are very popular.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Maybe not where you are but where I am they are very popular.

How many do you think they are selling, compared to say a Tucson/Sportage/Tiguan/Captur/3008 etc

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How many do you think they are selling, compared to say a Tucson/Sportage/Tiguan/Captur/3008 etc

Suzuki have sold 533 units, YTD. I guess the Vitara is the top seller but even then, it's in very small numbers

Ms

colm_mcm wrote: »

Not as many alright but they were popular. I actually think the last model was more popular and Suzuki making the Vitara smaller has damaged it and made it less popular plus there sales people are never great. A new model is due in the next couple of years though.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Not as many alright but they were popular. I actually think the last model was more popular and Suzuki making the Vitara smaller has damaged it and made it less popular plus there sales people are never great. A new model is due in the next couple of years though.

I'm amazed you haven't acknowledged the popularity of MG since relaunch last year. Sales are up nearly 300% in the first 4 months this year over the total for last year. VW don't have that kind of increase.

sumo12 wrote: »
    Suzuki have sold 533 units, YTD. I guess the Vitara is the top seller but even then, it's in very small numbers

There's individual dealers for other brands will have done more new cars than that. Hard to imagine how those numbers justify sustaining a dealer network.

To be fair, Alfa are still going having sold 26 cars last year, Fiat 219, Jeep 18, Subaru 73.

I'm amazed these brands are still carrying on.

I'd love to know the breakeven point for them.

Ms

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I'm amazed you haven't acknowledged the popularity of MG since relaunch last year. Sales are up nearly 300% in the first 4 months this year over the total for last year. VW don't have that kind of increase.

I have not seen any of them anywhere yet so can't really say.
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    To be fair, Alfa are still going having sold 26 cars last year, Fiat 219, Jeep 18, Subaru 73.

I'm amazed these brands are still carrying on.

I'd love to know the breakeven point for them.
    Too be fair three of them makes are now owned by the same company so all they have to do is group all them cars together under one make and sales room and say they sold this many Subura on the other hand I too have no idea how they are still going. The XV had promise but not the right engines or spec to be a success.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I have not seen any of them anywhere yet so can't really say.

Too be fair three of them makes are now owned by the same company so all they have to do is group all them cars together under one make and sales room and say they sold this many Subura on the other hand I too have no idea how they are still going. The XV had promise but not the right engines or spec to be a success.

Group all the FCA cars together and they still sell less than Mitsubishi who are pulling out of RHD Euro markets. The mind boggles about how they keep going.

Suzuki TBH are just a step away from a sales turn down that wipes them out.

Ms

Here is a very good nice render of what the new Sportage could and might potentially look like,

https://www.motor1.com/news/511647/2022-kia-sportage-teaser-based-rendering/

I like it. I also like the way he compares it with other competitors and have to say the Sportage is the best looking of the lot of them at least untill the new Renault Kadjar comes out.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Id honestly prefer buy a new Dacia Duster than a Kia Sportage , they may be terribly uncool but at least they dont leave me completely cold when i look at them

Ms

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Id honestly prefer buy a new Dacia Duster than a Kia Sportage , they may be terribly uncool but at least they dont leave me completely cold when i look at them

That's your choice. I have a neighbour that has a Sportage and another two actually that have Duster one the run out first of the first generation model and the other has a 2and generation model but the Sportage just looks to be in a whole different class to either of them especially when you sit inside it and then sit in them there dashs are all hard plastics but the Sportage has soft plastics on its dash and doors and nicer seats too.
    The Duster is a good car for for the price and look decent in a decent spec the new ones anyway but the dash is such a dissapointment.
    The Sportage is going to go up in class I think it might even become more popular than the Hyundai Tucson.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

That's your choice. I have a neighbour that has a Sportage and another two actually that have Duster one the run out first of the first generation model and the other has a 2and generation model but the Sportage just looks to be in a whole different class to either of them especially when you sit inside it and then sit in them there dashs are all hard plastics but the Sportage has soft plastics on its dash and doors and nicer seats too.
    The Duster is a good car for for the price and look decent in a decent spec the new ones anyway but the dash is such a dissapointment.
    The Sportage is going to go up in class I think it might even become more popular than the Hyundai Tucson.

I would not buy a Duster but for the price , I think they have more character than the sportage , Id prefer get a Seat Ateca than a sportage , probably around the same money ?

Ms

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    I would not buy a Duster but for the price , I think they have more character than the sportage , Id prefer get a Seat Ateca than a sportage , probably around the same money ?

I think that is the main reason must people buy them that and the proven Renault mechanicals too Maybe you are right maybe they would but not as good on safety aids or technology
    The SEAT would certainly be a better car to drive but at this stage that is the last thing my 70 year old Dad cares about. He prefers the handyness of having a local dealer for servicing and not having to waste time driving half the country to do that as he has done before and finding something to do while waiting for his car.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Kia made the stinger and nobody bought it . Welcome to the new sanitised eco car culture of the 21st century, :(.

🙈🙉🙊

Ms

Kia made the stinger and nobody bought it . Welcome to the new sanitised eco car culture of the 21st century, :(.

Actually some people did buy it. Maybe not where you are but around where I an there is red one that I see regularly. There is another one as well think its blue but do not see it as much. It is actually a really good car and cruiser.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

I wouldn't say Kia are getting fat off of it though.

56 sold here ever.

None this year or last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The Stinger was discontinued in Europe last year. They didn't sell enough of them to invest in updating the engines to meet new Euro emission standards.

Ms

At last and it's a stunner,

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/all-new-kia-sportage-revealed-bold-ev6-inspired-design

I think this looks great. I think the interior design is very brave of KIA as a lot of old people by the Sportage but I see plenty of younger men and Women in them too.
    I think this looks much better than anything in its class.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-news/new-cars/all-new-kia-sportage-revealed-bold-ev6-inspired-design

I think this looks great. I think the interior design is very brave of KIA as a lot of old people by the Sportage but I see plenty of younger men and Women in them too.

I have to agree. Looks very fresh. Will sell by the bucket load.

Front end is hideous. Again.

At least the Tucson is bonkers from every angle.

This just looks like they went mental on the front end and ran out of time for the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Kia Sportage & Hyundai Tucson used to be the same car mechanically (just a few different body panels)... is that not still the case?

Hyundai Tucson has always been the better looking car IMO

The newest Tucson is actually a very handsome car...(at any budget) just love the front grill/lights